The beginning of the end
This year is not getting off to a good start.

It's looking pretty likely that this house is going to be reposessed by Mortgages PLC, the company who gave my Mum her second mortgage. This is because she is four months behind in paying. However, on top of this, she also has a loan to pay off as well and they're itching to get their hands on the house as well.

And all of this is Gary's fault.

See, it was his idea to remortgage the house to come up with capital for the business. The plan was that the money would be invested in stuff like buying more furniture and selling it and the mortgage would be paid every month, on time with plenty to spare. However, my Mum has not seen any return on the money.

Add to that the loan that she signed up for. Again, this was Gary's idea. She thought the loan was for �20,000, but it's actually spiralled up to �60,000 and she didn't know. She trusted Gary when he was asking her to sign things.

So now, my Mum has a �60,000 mortgage to pay off at �550 a month, plus monthly payments on a loan. Needless to say, she cannot do this, hence why the creditors now want to see my Mum in court on Monday and essentially take this house from her. I can't believe this is happening.

Now you would think that after someone has done you over for �60,000 and put your house at risk of being reposessed, you'd want nothing more to do with them. You'd feel conned, used. But no. My Mum is still with him.

Gladys, my auntie came here last night to talk to my Mum about it all and I went downstairs to say hello to her and talk about this fucked up situation. Gladys says in her opinion, my Mum should go to the police and tell them she's been had by Gary. As she put it, he is an embezzler and he is.

I agree with Gladys. I think my Mum should just go to the police and tell them Gary's just done her for �60,000 or more and let the police deal with it. At least maybe she'd have a chance at keeping her home if the court realises that even though it's her signatures on the mortgage and loan papers, it's his doing. He promised her all of these wonderful things so she signed whatever he asked, foolish as it may sound.

But, as much as Gladys has asked her to go and talk to someone at the station, she won't. She loves him. She doesn't want to go down that route. I don't understand. How you can possibly love someone after they're going to help you lose your home and they're doing pretty much fuck all about it.

My Mum only found out recently just how much Gary is in debt. All of these little secrets keep surfacing, causing more problems.

And by debt, I don't just mean owing a few banks or creditors, I mean people who want to literally want to kill him. His name has gotten around Kirkby and now there's so many people out looking for him and they want to do a lot more than talk to him. My Mum keeps recieving calls from one of them, asking where he is. She says she doesn't know when he's sitting right next to her. These are not the sort of people you should be screwing around with and owing money to.

So, on Monday, there is a possibility that this house is going to be reposessed and if it is, that's it. The house would then no longer be my Mum's and she would have to move out of it. She has nowhere to go. This is fucking fucked up and it's all Gary's fault.

There are two ways out of this currently. One is the reposession, which I hope to god does not happen. The other is the only lifeline that's currently on the table.

Currently, my Mum/Gary have a shop in town. It's in an old part of town that is due to be redeveloped. In order to do so, they have to knock down all of the shops and in order to do that, the redevelopers have to get the likes of my Mum and Gary out of theirs. This means they have to pay them. It's been suggested that the payoff would be �500,000. Needless to say, that would help a lot right now.

But there's complications. The building itself is owned by a company called Dams. They first have to buy it from Dams and then sell it. My Mum and Gary don't have the money to buy it, but a third person has �130,000 to buy it and in return, they'd get a share of the �500,000 when my Mum and Gary sell it. The third person can't do the deal without my Mum and Gary, since it's their names on the property.

According to my Mum, this third person went to see Dams yesterday and it went "better than expected". I just hope that that means a deal can be reached and maybe we can pay off this fucking loan and fucking mortgage and keep the house.

My Mum and Gladys went to the Citizen's Advice Bureau to see what the hell my Mum can do to get out of this mess. Gladys has also spoken to a lawyer on my Mum's behalf for advice.

The lawyer told Gladys that it is illegal for the mortgage/loan to be signed without having someone legally independant with you at the time. It is illegal for them not to inform you of the consequences of non-payment too. Howver, when my Mum signed these forms, all that was there was guy giving her the loan. No one independant. She wasn't fully aware of the consequences of non-payment either. While these facts might not get the mortgage company and loan company off her back, it may at least give her more time to try and sort something out.

As I said, she's in court on Monday. Gary has said he'll go with her but so what if he does. Over the past few months, he's been saying "Don't worry, I'll sort everything" and has he? No. Even now, that's what he's saying to my Mum, "I'll sort it". My Mum is in court on MONDAY and you haven't sorted a fucking thing out.

I wish she's just go to the police and have a talk with someone there, but she's not going to do that. Instead, she's going to essentially let him get away with taking �60,000, blowing it on god knows what and in the process, lose this house as well. I just don't understand how you can want to be with someone like that. Someone who is going to make you homeless.

I'm definitely going to see if I can get a job once I'm back in Chester, although by then, it may well be too late to save this house. It's not like I'm about to find a job that pays �60,000 in a month and that's pretty much the only way this is going to get sorted. Someone needs to come up with a huge sum of money and the only person capable of doing it is Gary, but he's fucking useless. I have lost all respect for him for what he has done to my Mum. I mean he even owes my Nan �2,000 as well. It's fucking pathetic.

I can't believe that there's a very good chance that in a month's time, I may well not have a home to come back to ever again. It's so wrong.

comment