Didn't see that one coming
Q: What's worse than fancying two of your female friends?
A: When they fancy each other.

Below is a conversation I had with Zoe and a conversation I had with Kerry at the same time around two hours ago when I woke up at 6am and couldn't sleep anymore. Zoe's in red, Kerry's in green. Keep an eye on the time stamps for reference. The first part is just so you get an overview. This is going to be a logistical nightmare copying all of this. I could write it in my own words, but this is easier.

This is going to be a long read.

[06:06:05] Cupid Stunt: Wow, why are you awake?
[06:06:17] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: cnt sleep
[06:06:22] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: need a subway
[06:06:27] Cupid Stunt: haha
[06:08:38] Cupid Stunt: Cat's awake too?
[06:08:49] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: ye i jst woke her cz of my craving
[06:08:55] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: 2 c if she had 1 2
[06:08:56] Cupid Stunt: lol
[06:08:57] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: she dz nw :P
[06:09:24] Cupid Stunt: Aww, why did you wake her! And weren't you in bed? Did you fall asleep in the living room together or something?
[06:10:29] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: ye we fell asleep on each other in the lounge afta r showers!

[06:10:57] Cupid Stunt: Hey :)
[06:11:28] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: heya.
[06:11:36] Cupid Stunt: How be you?
[06:12:00] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: i want a subway!....omg i'm zoe....how sad is that>?!
[06:12:51] Cupid Stunt: Are you in Cat's with her?
[06:13:42] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: no am upstairs...i think they r sleepin downstairs
[06:14:03] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: =
[06:14:41] Cupid Stunt: lol no they're not. They're awake and they want Subways too
[06:16:04] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: omg.....its a disease in the 69 house!! lol....how u kno they r up?? they text you??
[06:16:26] Cupid Stunt: Zoe's online and chatting to me. :)
[06:16:37] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: shes not :S
[06:17:26] Cupid Stunt: She is lol
[06:17:42] Cupid Stunt: Maybe she's blocked you. Oooh, shocking. lol...no really, she is
[06:18:41] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: no she actually isnt....ur my only contact online....brb gonna go see

[06:19:09] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: shit dnt im me 4 a min brb!

[06:20:17] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: what u on with ther still asleep ^o)

[06:20:29] Cupid Stunt: :-O You've so just ignored Kerry haven't you? lol why!
[06:21:13] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: me n cat r avn sum private time
[06:21:25] Cupid Stunt: Private Subway time...interesting
[06:21:59] Cupid Stunt: Cos I'm talking to her on MSN and she said she wants a subway too so I said that's funny because Zoe and Cat want one and she said she can't see you on MSN and was confused that I can.
[06:22:30] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: omg u dint tell her we were on dint u?!
[06:22:48] Cupid Stunt: Of course I did. You're in the same bloody house and friends with each other lol.
[06:24:59] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: ye bt sometimes ppl jst want sum alone time

[06:24:34] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: an now i'm stuk cos i cnt stop thinkin of subways
[06:25:11] Cupid Stunt: Well apparantly they open at 7:30am and I doubt I'll be doing back to sleep any time soon so if you want to do something crazy, why don't you, Zoe and Cat come and get one and I'll meet you there.
[06:25:45] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: but i cnt wake them up.....theyl kill me

[06:24:59] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: ye bt sometimes ppl jst want sum alone time
[06:25:42] Cupid Stunt: Fair enough. But you could always just say it outright. Cos now she's a bit confused and thinks I was messing with her or something.
[06:26:06] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: she wdnt understand
[06:26:17] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: she gets really protective ovr cat
[06:26:31] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: she gets annoyed if me n her do stuff wivout her
[06:27:18] Cupid Stunt: Hm. This is not fair. I'm talking to you and her and yet you're not talking to each other and yet you're in the same house! That's pretty weird. But I do understand what you mean.
[06:28:10] Cupid Stunt: She says she wants a Subway too. Why don't the three of you come and get one in an hour and a bit? :)

[06:30:19] Cupid Stunt: But to go so far as to pretend you're asleep and not on MSN...I think that's kind of sly.
[06:30:38] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: it was cats idea
[06:30:45] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: she wntd us 2 b alone
[06:36:43] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: brb cats just called me
[06:36:47] Cupid Stunt: ok
[06:44:05] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: hey its cat! zoes jus popper upstairs 4 a mo!

[06:39:26] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: omg
[06:40:25] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: i think zoe an cat are in the toilet 2gether...u sed zoe was tlkin 2 u, she say she felt ill or owt??
[06:44:03] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: o shit i jus heard sum1 comin upstairs...brb gonna spy
[06:44:57] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: omg....this is like twilight zone or summat! zoe jus came up in a towel....seriously WTF were they doin!!!

[06:44:15] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Ok :) You're being sly you know
[06:44:27] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: wot r u tlkin bout?
[06:44:43] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: By pretending you're both asleep when Kerry came to check.
[06:45:09] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: oo yer i no, we wunt usually but its jus bin 1 o them nites
[06:45:42] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Kerry is feeling really really confused
[06:46:01] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: y she thinks wer asleep?
[06:47:07] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I told her that you were both awake a while ago so she went to check and you pretended you were both asleep and came back and couldn't understand why Zoe was online and I was talking to her but Kerry couldnt
[06:48:00] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: well its complicated. im not tryin 2 b mean 2 her
[06:49:00] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I'd call that mean really. I'd feel pretty hurt if someone did that to me. I don't like lying to my friends. :S She's just confused about why she keeps hearing movement and stuff but she thinks you're both asleep.
[06:50:21] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: we'll tell her wen the times rite. i think shed b r8 angry cosa d protectiveness

[06:44:57] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: omg....this is like twilight zone or summat! zoe jus came up in a towel....seriously WTF were they doin!!!
[06:45:05] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Sexy
[06:45:11] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: thats not sexy
[06:45:14] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: thats wrong
[06:45:17] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: That's fucking awesome. :D
[06:45:53] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: i hope ur jokin.....i feel sick! these are my friends....i share a bed with cat sumtimes!!!
[06:46:14] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Stop filling my head with all these nice thoughts ;)
[06:46:52] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: ok,ur not getting the serious wrongness of this situation
[06:51:28] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: i'm nrly cryin, iv known cat for years, y is she doin this to me
[06:51:48] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I'm sorry, I was only joking. You know I was lol. Why are you nearly crying?
[06:53:59] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: cos theyr blokin me out....an i realy am confused about the whole bathroom thing....i mean, i kno what the obv answer is....but thats not my friends!!

[06:53:31] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: hey itz zo agn!
[06:55:05] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Hey. I'm worried about Kerry. She thinks you're blocking her out. Which in a way, you kind of are, but I haven't said anything else. Just that she's feeling that way. Just thought you should know. Don't let her get too upset, please.
[06:55:43] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: she wdnt understand
[06:56:26] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: were not blockin her out at all, she just gets in the way of our friendship if uno wt i mean
[06:56:45] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I don't like being in the middle of this. Feels very wrong.
[06:57:54] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: r u sayin kerry shud join in? wat bout hanna, then she'd feel alone...she dz haf a bf thou so she may get it
[06:59:12] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: No, I'm not saying Kerry should just suddenly come down and be with you and Cat. I'm just saying that it feels wrong that you are blocking each other out.
[06:59:38] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: i think she is jst upset cz every1 is pairing up, hanna n mitch, mitch n alley, chris n bex, n me n cat
[07:00:42] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I guess I can understand why she would be upset. I'm sure in her eyes, you're taking Cat away from her.
[07:01:45] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: me n cat want 2 do smfn this fri, n no1 else is goin out, cd u take kerry out sumwer so she dznt feel alone

It was at this point that I started to hear alarm bells ringing in my head.


[07:03:22] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I'm sorry, but I'm totally not, getting involved in this. This is up to you guys to sort out. I'm there for you, Cat and all of my friends, but not to do this. If you need time alone with one friend instead of many, then you need to make that clear to each other. I can't be there to make it easier. You just need to sort it between yourself I'm afraid.
[07:04:55] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: bt i REALLY dnt think she'd understand
[07:07:50] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Regardless, please don't ask me to do that. I think that's really unfair on me if no one else. I just can't do things like that. I'm very open and very honest with all of my friends. Like if I wanted to spend time alone with you, but Cat was there or something, I'd probably just try and explain that or something. But yeah, I think you just need to try more with Kerry and perhaps she'll begin to realise that Cat is still her friend. Still her best friend. Just that even best friends need time apart. I can't be a part of what you're doing, though. It's wrong. And you need to sort it sooner rather than later, otherwise there'll be a big rift between thethree of you and I'd hate that to happen.
[07:09:09] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: u havent told her ave u?
[07:09:28] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I haven't said anything other than you were both awake, but that was an hour ago.
[07:09:40] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: But she's really upset right now.

[06:56:08] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I personally don't feel that time alone is a bad thing. Like if you wanted time alone with Cat or something and I was there, all you'd have to do is hint or something and I'd be understanding. And what is the obvious answer with 'the whole bathroom thing'?
[06:58:04] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: they were in the bathroom 2gether.....zoe had a shower....while cat was ther....i mean wtf!! but they dnt indicate they want time alone....they jus went to sleep....obv they jus wanted me 2 go
[06:59:54] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I don't know what to say. But I don't think you've got anything to worry about.
[07:01:47] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: but i feel like i'm losing my best friend....she'd rather spend time with zoe than me
[07:04:56] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I honestly don't know what to say. I'm sure that's not the case.
[07:06:35] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: u dnt understand.....what me and cat had was special.....i feel like i'm losing more than a friend
[07:08:45] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Just because Cat may be spending time with someone rather than you does not make her any less of a best friend to you. It really doesn't. Sometimes, even best friends need time apart.
[07:09:40] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: yes, but cat was always ther for me wen i needed her....now she pretends to be asleep
[07:11:53] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: She will always still be there for you. As I said, time apart is healthy and I guess if she is pretending to be sleeping then she does need that time apart. I'm sure she would rather pretend to be sleeping because telling you outright that she wanted a little time away from you would/does sound much more nasty when it's not meant like that.
[07:16:01] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: no, we tell eachother wen we need time apart.....we have before anyway....shes changed since moved here
[07:16:32] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Maybe it's because she's living with three other people now and everyone is bound to get closer.
[07:18:12] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: but zo an cat seem to be getting stupidly close.....cat always falls asleep on zoe durin films....they look like propa lesbians....thats y am so para bout the bathroom thing
[07:18:36] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: *shrug* So what if they were? Would it matter anyway?
[07:19:17] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: YES! anywqay i best go
[07:19:25] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Meh, it shouldn't matter
[07:19:29] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: You're friends.
[07:19:34] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: Sexuality has nothing to do with it
[07:20:06] Rectal bleeding.....another first for Jackass! lol...water-based lubricants, friend or foe? You be the judge :P: bye xxx

[07:18:29] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: me n cat dt no wat 2 do
[07:19:08] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: I feel very awkward sitting here with your message box open and Kerry's.
[07:21:41] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: She's said goodbye to me now. Maybe not now, but later on in the day, *please*, talk to her about this. BOTH of you. Don't leave it being awkward because it'll get worse. Just sit down together and try and talk about whatever.
[07:22:44] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: bt how much shud we tel her?

When she said that, the alarm bells got a little louder. Was Zoe and Cat trying to tell me they were more than just friends? I honestly couldn't tell and I didn't want to say anything in case I was wrong so I chose my words carefully.

[07:25:10] Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.: If you and especially Cat consider her a good friend, then I think you should tell her everything. Everything is gonna take a while to understand though. More than a few days. All I'm saying is that you need to just be a little more open about it with her otherwise this is not going to be a happy ending. Start with trying to make her understand that you and Cat just wanted to have some time together and that there's nothing wrong in that. You both live with each other afterall so you're bound to get closer now.
[07:26:23] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: n on tht note im goin 2 bed
[07:31:49] .x.Zo�.x.-U'll always be my favourite Fag ;) lol: niteeee xXx

Whew. Mindblowing. What the hell is going on?

Obviously, I don't care who is what. I don't care if people are lesbians, gay, bi, whatever. But Zoe and Cat? I didn't see that coming. But maybe I'm just looking into things too much and it's a good job I did choose my words wisely so as not to suggest anything other than friends. It's just some of the things that Zoe said. "Pairing up", "Me and Cat", "time together", "me and Cat want to do something this Friday". These could just be the beginnings of a great friendship between the two of course and nothing else. I'm not bothered even if they are more than friends, just that they need to at least let me know so I can somehow talk to Kerry about it. Better yet, they need to tell her. So weird. These three people were in the same damn house and are supposed to be friends with each other! And to top it off, this is Cat's display name on MSN currently:

"big words, recycled phrases, and the bittersweet taste of other girls lips on your lips"

Coincidence or a measure of truth? We'll see where this goes.

I have more to write about too about my weekend because I went back to Liverpool on Friday for a night out with my friends. I'll write about it in the next entry, though.

comment