Alarm bells are ringing...again?
So, it's about time I made an entry.

First things first: I HAVE NET ACCESS IN MY ROOM. At long last. It was last Friday that I had the joy of discovering I had it.

I had just gotten back to my Uni room after spending the night at home when I text Alan, asking him who exactly had told him that Internet access would be installed. He said that he had got a letter saying the Uni would be installing it the next day but that it was for his accommodation only, not mine. Though technically we share the same address, we live in two seperate buildings. The Internet was only being installed in his building.

The next day, he text me, saying that he now Internet access. I was very jealous, but hopeful that I'd be able to pick it up with my USB wireless adapter. I took it out of its box (for the third time since being here) carefully, praying that I'd be able to pick up the signal. I gently eased the cable into the back of the PC and attached the adapater and the refreshed the box to see if I could pick up signals.

It searched. It searched. It found!

You cannot believe how happy I was at that moment. I actually burst out with joy, shouting "YES!".

I text Alan once more, asking him for the connection password and I was so happy that it connected. For the first time in over a month, I was able to get online in my room! It was better than Christmas.

The night was spent catching up with various web-related things and talking to people on MSN lots. It was great.

Aside from net access, the weekend was fairly boring. I had already told myself that I wasn't going to go out and spend money on alcohol and I managed to keep to that even though I was invited out once or twice by Kerry.

Monday was fairly boring. My Type as Expression lesson always makes my head feel stuffy. There's always a lot to take in. Thankfully, I'm not the only one who feels like this. After that lesson, I had my History of Design seminar, which has me trying my best not to laugh at my tutor when he swears. It's hilarious to me.

One thing that he's really good/bad (however you want to see it) is metaphors. He uses them so damn much that you end up being really confused about what he's on about and although we have to write an essay, none of us are quite sure what it's supposed to be about.

Also of note in History of Design is a girl who I quite fancy. There's only eight or nine of us in the room and it's quite a small room so it's hard not to look at each other around the small tables. She's lovely, though. Nice eyes. Of course, as with all of my other modules, I don't even know the names of these eight people because everyone's so damn afraid to talk to each other including me. It's so sad and pathetic.

So, as I left after she did, I made a split decision to walk up to her and start talking to her. She was a fair way in front of me, but she stopped to cross the road at the same place I was going to cross. Just as I caught up to her and just as I was going to say hello, she decided she didn't want to wait for the cars to stop and walked on further. Bah. Opportunity lost. I crossed over the road and ended up in the library for a bit, where I had trouble printing out a simple A3 sheet of paper. Apparantly the printer is not set up for A3 and no one has the authority to set it up. That's just stupid.

I ended up printing an A4 copy of my document and then having it photocopied to A3, but it didn't really come out at the right size. Still, it did the job. All it was was 100 thumbnail squares in which I have to put 100 different memories of a memory. For example, I'm going to choose my bedroom and think of all the things I can remember about it. It's tough!

Tuesday was...eventful. Well, Wednesday morning. Early morning.

I woke up around 4am and got out of bed to open my window and get a drink from my sink when I heard the infamous fire alarm.

I sigh, but was thankful that I was actually already awake (even though it was only by a few seconds). I hurriedly got dressed, panicing that I wouldn't make it out in three minutes again. I knocked on Amit's door and made sure he was getting out.

Upon exiting the building (once again wearing nothing on my feet!) there were no security guards to be seen. Confused, I walked to next door and they all started piling out. Alan emerged soon after and I heard him say that Jesse had set it off. Intentionally.

Why the fuck would someone do such a thing?

So, while I had no actual proof he had done so, I kept looking at him, very angrily. Alan was being a bit of a psycho and kept banging on Jesse's window from outside, even though Jesse was outside with him. Or maybe I remember it wrong. It was afterall, 4am in the fucking morning.

Everyone just stood about looking lost and tired. I attempted to try and take the initiative and telling whoever would listen that they needed to call the Porter's lodge, but no one was listening. Eventually, I took it upon myself to go grab my phone and call myself, but no one answered.

Luckily, a security guard turned up five minutes later. This was after a good 15 minutes of the fire alarm going on and on and more and more people piling out of the building all because someone had intentionally set the alarm off.

He took another 10 minutes to turn it off.

After he did, he asked everyone what had happened. He asked who had pushed it and if it was an accident. Everyone was silent, even though everyone had a good idea of who it was.

No one owned up in the end and eventually, we were all allowed to go back inside and finally go back to sleep.

Not the best way to spend the middle of the night.

There's more stuff to write, but I'm tired, so I'll leave it for another entry, which I'll write tomorrow.

comment