Alarm bells are ringing
(Originally written 25th October @ 7:57am)

Forget yesterday's events, I'll tell you about them further down.

Craziest shit ever has just happened. It's now 7am.

At 6:20am, I heard what sounded like a fire alarm going off. It sounded like it was coming from a shop nearby or something. I just assumed it was someone entering a shop and attempting to turn it off as part of their usual day.

At 6:25am, it was still ringing and now I could hear voices from next door and movement.

At 6:27am, I heard Ahmid exiting his room and at that point, I got out of bed and started getting dressed.

"What the fuck?", I was thinking, "You have to be joking. This can't be real."

At 6:30am, someone was banging on my door. I opened it, expecting Ahmid. Instead, I got this guy in a fluorescent jacket saying "Security" shouting at me. "Get out NOW!", he shouted at me.

"Ok", I said just a little scared!

I rushed to put some jeans on and a tshirt and hurried down. "What the fuck is going on?", I was still thinking. Outside, everyone from next door was also outside in their dressing gowns and and slippers, all looking equally as blurry-eyed as I was. In addition to the security guy who had just ordered me out of the building, there were two others outside with everyone else.

"Right", the guy said, "Because you didn't get out in three minutes, we now have to come back"
"Another day?", I asked.
"Yeah. Out of the whole University, you (meaning everyone at Bridge Street Row) are the only ones who didn't get out in time. If you don't get out after three minutes, we have to come in and get you out ourselves. So now we have to come back"

It almost sounded like a threat!

I stood there like everyone else, wondering what the fuck had just happened as the guy said we could go back in and back to bed.

"We're required by law to do this twice a year", he said as he was leaving.

Absolutely the most craziest thing I've experienced in a long time.

I really thought we'd escaped such fire drills by living so far from the Uni. I thought maybe the Uni had just decided to leave everyone alone. I was wrong!

I was scared!

I know it must sound stupid as you read this, but as I said, I didn't even realise it was our fire alarm, let alone something I had to jump out of bed for in three minutes. It doesn't even sound like a fire alarm. It sounds more like one of those bells used in schools and colleges just going on repeatedly and remember, this is not only the first time I've heard this fire alarm, but no instructions were given to us prior to moving here to tell us what to do if the fire alarm does go off. I know it might sound obvious what to do, but it'd be nice to know that in three minutes, I'm going to get ordered out of my room before it happens. You know, maybe in the welcome pack I recieved.

"Welcome to Chester University. Fire drills: Get the fuck out in three minutes else you'll get chucked out. Enjoy your time here."

I'm used to the more ear deafening sound of the alarms used in my college and since it's been five weeks since I've been here, like I said, I thought I'd escaped such drills!

Crazy.

Of course, since we all didn't make it out in three minutes, I'm sure most of us would be burning alive right now if it was a real fire. But with a real fire, I know that I'd have Ahmid knocking at my door within 30 seconds of setting the fire alarm off (or Aneil) rather than having a big meaty security guy banging on my door after three minutes. It'd be different if it was real.

After going back inside, I decided to stay awake. Luckily, I had to be up at 7am anyway to get ready for my classes. That is my one consollation.

So now everyone is going to be sleeping with one eye open, listening out for the fire alarm.

And now for the rest of the news. Whew.

Yesterday was quite a boring day (especially compared to above!) really, sitting in front of a Mac for nearly three hours not actually doing that much. I had my work reviewed by a 'group', though in reality, it was actually just one person looking at what I'd written about it, agreeing with what I've written and writing that they agreed.

They're called Reflection Action sheets. They're useless. Debra and Kevin say they're important, but none of us actually read them once they've been put into our folders. They're useless to all students and I'm not the only one who thinks so.

After my class, I headed to the library to spend the rest of the evening online talking to various people including Cat and Kerry. I talked to Kerry about how though she says she wants a nice guy, what she actually wants is a wanker because then she has an excuse to dump him when things go wrong and it's her way of not getting close to anyone. She agreed with me to an extent.

Cat thanked me for leaving a nice comment on one of her pictures. I had said she looked beautiful in her prom dress photo and that her eyes sparkled. I told her that even normally, her eyes sparkle.

I also told her that I thought all Myspace profile pages were the work of the devil but that if the girl was hot, then I'd overlook the profile design so she was ok.

"I think you drink in the library", she said, joking.

We also talked about how I am not outgoing and how she and Kerry are. I told her I am a geek, but she says I'm not and that if I was a geek, I'd be hanging around with people like "Peter's housemates". Peter's housemates do look incredibly geeky, actually. More than me.

"One of them is a Doctor Who fanatic!", she told me.

I asked her to define what a geek was, but I didn't really fall into any of the things she listed. She listed really out-there stuff though. I'd consider a geek to be someone who loves sci-fi, is interested in technology and is a bit of a social outcast in general.

I stayed in the library until 8pm, before walking to Tesco to buy some much needed toilet rolls! I met Ahmid in there and then we walked back home and both cooked.

We started talking (or rather, he did) about me and girls.

"What about that girl from Liverpool man?", he asked me, referring to Claire, but at the time, Hannah was on my mind.
"Meh, who knows", I replied.
"Don't worry man", he said, "I think it will work out"

No longer than five seconds after he had said this, Hannah text me. Freaky.

"Hey I have got Friday off if you still want to do something. x"

Awesome.

That may be the first time she has ever asked me if I want to see her. This "Don't talk to her unless she talks to you" method really works!

I sent her a message back, saying I'd love to see her and just name a time and place. I suggested the cinema, she said that was fine. She asked what cinema, I suggested the one round the corner from me and that she could also visit my room if she wanted. She said ok.

I'm not actually used to her agreeing to things so easilly. Usually it's "Oh but I might be too busy", or "But what if x happens to y and z happens?" etc.

Danielle sent me a text in the middle of replying to one from Hannah.

"My head is fucked, my life is fucked, I'm fucked lol. All is good. Don't know if I'm doing the right thing being there for Jamie."

And then as I was replying to it, another:

"Sorry for the last text, just need someone to talk to"

So of course I was happy to be there for her and called her and talked things out. She told me how upset Jamie is and how he has apparantly threatened to kill himself a few times because of it and how no matter what she does to be there for him, he will still be upset. I suggested that maybe she give him some time on his own, but she said she's tried that too, and then he accuses her of not caring anymore. So I guess she's in a hard place right now.

I asked why she'd broken up with him and she said he wanted more than she could offer. They have been together for four years now and she said she wanted to see what else life had to offer. I guess I can understand that. Four years is a long time to be with the same person. But I know that Jamie must be feeling like shit right now.

That was the reason she'd text me. She had just come from his and he was crying and she just didn't know what to do and she feels that everyone else in the group doesn't really want to help her because they're all Jamie's friends first. I don't think it's a question of that though. Danielle is just as much a friend as Jamie is to everyone and I have and will try to do my best to be there for both of them. I've text Jamie several times in the last few weeks, but he hasn't really replyed to them so I've just assumed he either has no credit or wants to be left alone.

I spoke to Danielle on the phone for half an hour before getting cut off because I'd just used �11 in credit on the call and had drained it all. She sent me a text saying thanks for being there for her and that when I'm back home, she'll get everyone out.

I resumed texting Hannah after that. It was very lighthearted and fun. I told her that I was ashamed to bring her back to this room, but she's free to come and that she has to remember, my Mum's bed isn't here! She thinks my Mum's bed is very comfortable. I also told her that she can't hog the covers here because it's only a single and besides, she's not staying over anyway, she's only visiting.

I guess I'll have to wait for Friday to arrive to see if she does actually meet me. I'm not getting my hopes up too much because she's already said that she's going the job centre and going shopping with her cousin and that she'll text me when she can meet. So, that may mean I recieve a text from her at 8pm saying "sorry, spent too long shopping" or something and won't meet me. I'm ready for that. But, if by some miracle she does actually meet me, I'll be very happy.

I went to sleep after saying goodnight to her, unaware that in six hours time, I'd be rudely awakened by the events above.

comment