Waits, mates & dates
(Originally written 13th October @ 2:25am)

Thursdays are perhaps my favourite day of the four days I'm at University. I only have one lesson and it only lasts for an hour and then I have the rest of Thursday off and Friday and the weekend.

However, upon arriving at the "History of Design" lecture today, we found no tutor. There were lots of students sitting/standing outside the room. I managed to find Leanne and talk to her while waiting and she asked me if anyone had attempted to go in so I randomly asked someone by the door. "It's locked", he said.

Tom arrived a little while later, as did a few other familiar faces and we just stood outside the room waiting. Then, the door opened from the inside and out walked two students. It wasn't locked afterall!

"Is anyone in there?", I asked them.
"Yeah"
"I mean a tutor though?"
"No, no tutor"

Still, we all went in and felt a bit of a fool for standing outside when the door wasn't even locked and there was half the class sitting inside. It was 1:05pm at this point. The lecture starts at 1pm. By 1:20pm, we had decided no one was going to show and the majority of people were getting up and leaving. We all did too.

Last week we got told the lecture was cancelled, but to still attend this weeks for more information. This week, we didn't even get so much as a "Sorry, it's been cancelled again", but simply left to sit there for twenty minutes feeling like fools.

After a few more games of pool with Tom in the Student Union (I'm up to 6 to his 12!), I went the library and wrote an email to Brian Griffiths, head of the art department. This was the guy who had told us to be there this week. I said it was unacceptable that he had just left us sitting there, all very confused and to please sort it out.

It was about 3pm when I went the library. I did not leave it until 8pm. For good reason, however.

The first hour or so was spent speaking to Kerry about my lack of confidence when talking to girls and how I think it sucks that I'm single. She said that within two weeks, she's going to make me talk to a random girl in a club and offer to buy her a drink.

The thought of that makes my stomach get tied up in knots.

Then I talked to Cat who seemed incredibly interested in why my last relationship didn't really work out with Hannah. I don't particularly know why I told her, but she was asking so I did. Of course like everyone else, she has told me to forget about her.

For the last hour or so, I spent my time talking to a girl named Claire. No, not that Claire, or that Claire either. Another Claire. A new Claire.

I had added her to MSN a few weeks ago just before moving to Uni and I had not yet had a chance to talk to her. I had found her on OKCupid and she seemed nice enough. She was apparantly from Liverpool so it was a bonus. Tonight, while I was in the library, she came online.

I found out that not only is she from Liverpool, but she is from Kirkby and not only is she from Kirkby but almost literally round the corner from my house. It was very weird!

I said it felt nice talking to a fellow Scouser because since I've been here, the only Scouse accent I've heard has been my own or bits of a girl named Danielle's on my course. I certainly have not met anyone from Kirkby!

We talked and got on fairly well. I asked if she was single and said yes. I said I didn't want to sound too forward, considering I'd only just started talking to her, but would she like to meet up some time. To my surprise and happiness, she said yes. After asking when, she said she was free most days and suddenly, I now have a date on Saturday in Liverpool!

Awesome.

We exchanged phone numbers and I left the library feeling quite happy that I'd arranged this nice girl in a day or two. It all felt quite rushed of course, considering I'd been talking to her for less than a day, but since I don't get online as much as I used to, I didn't want to miss the oppurtunity. And, she said yes!

Once back home, I text her while I was making something to eat, along with many other people.

She text back.

"It's a small world afterall", she said, "My big sister Lucy knows your sister Laura!"

And then I realised exactly who she was on about. Lucy is the ex of Laura's friend, Tony. It's still a few degrees of seperation, thankfully, but it still incredibly weird that even though I found this girl on a website, she lives right by me and has a connection all the way back to me. How strange.

Claire > Sister > Tony > Sister > Me

Weird, but not a problem. I told her that now she knew I was nice, unless Lucy had told her that I wasn't in which case I was screwed. Thankfully, she said Lucy had said I was nice so I'm still good to go on Saturday!

Of the other people I text, in particular, I text Jamie and asked if he was going out tomorrow night.

I was thinking that if he and the rest of the group go out and I have a date on Saturday, I could make a weekend of it and actually spend the weekend at home in Kirkby. There is absolutely nothing there of course. There won't even be a PC there (and thus, unfortunately, no Internet, since my PC is here!). Still, It seems like a better idea to stay there the weekend instead of arriving back at home in Chester at 12:30am after my date with Claire.

Why so late? Because she said she is busy in the day but she could meet me later on in the night and we could go see a film together at 8:15pm. The film is just over two hours long, but of course, you have to add a good 20 minutes of adverts to that 8:15pm start time so by the time the film finishes, it's going to be at least 10:45pm or later and my last train is at 11:30pm.

So, it makes more sense to just go and stay in Liverpool for the weekend and it means I can go out with my friends tomorrow. Good times.

Cat is going home tomorrow too for the weekend apparantly. I'm sure Kerry will feel quite left out when I tell her I'm going home too! I was thinking of inviting her to come back to Liverpool with me and she could come out with me and my friends, but I doubt she'd like staying at mine and I guess it'd be a little awkward if she did come anyway, since I'd be going out the night after. She could always come back to Chester without me though? I'll ask her.

This weekend may turn out to be exactly what I need to boost my energy levels. To make me feel a little more alive. A night with my mates, a night with a date. Perfect.

comment