All dressed up and somewhere to go
(Originally written 1st October @ 3:23am)

I've just got back from a night out with Kerry, Cat, Peter and a guy named Chris. I had fun, but I spent about �30 altogether!

My Mum came to visit me today with Gary. They were on their way to Wales to go and stay at my auntie's place. My Mum wanted to see what my room was like so she came to Chester to have a look.

For most of the morning, I spent my time just walking around town, trying to get to know my new city. I tried to walk places that I had not been before and explored different streets while waiting for my Mum to arrive. It took them a while because they couldn't find anywhere to park. Once they did though, Gary stayed with the van and my Mum came to see where I live. She agreed it was tiny but as I've said to her, I like living in the middle of town and I don't really need that much room anyway.

After she'd seen my room, I gave her the wrapped up buddha. She said I had no need to buy it for her/Gary but I wanted to. Once back on the road, the three of us went into a local pub to have a drink and my Mum opened it up in there. She said it was lovely and thanked me for it.

I spent about two hours with them altogether and although I only had two drinks of cider and blackcurrant, I was feeling quite drunk after it. I don't know why!

My Mum offered me the chance to go to Wales with her and Gary, but I said no because I might be going out later that night with a few friends and it's in this first week that making friends is the most important.

Once I'd said goodbye to her and Gary, I went back home and decided to sleep for a few hours. I woke up around 8pm and then spent the next two hours or so talking to my housemates while I cooked some food.

Cat called me at 10pm saying they were in Brannigans. So, I got ready and headed there to meet them. A little more warning would have been nice instead of them telling me when they're actually in there but regardless, I got into the bar around 10:40pm and met up with them.

The night seemed to pass fairly quickly and although I bought a few drinks, didn't really get that drunk. Being sober in such a place isn't really that much fun, especially when you're like me and you don't really know how to loosen up and dance. Having said that, I did manage to relax a little and by midnight, I felt good.

Throughout the night, Peter and Kerry were quite close with each other and as I said in a previous entry, seeing them two together makes me want to do that kind of stuff with Cat. As I've also said, I doubt she's either interested in me or indeed interested in anyone currently. She seemed happy dancing.

We left Brannigans around 1:30am and then went into Burger King for some food before they had to walk home. Luckily of course, since I live in town, it was only a five minute walk for me while they had a 20-25 minute walk ahead of them.

Before we parted, I asked if I could get a groupshot of all of them and they refused. "It's tradition!", I said, referring to the fact that any time I end up going out with all of my friends in Liverpool, we always take a groupshot at the end of it. In the end though, instead of me taking it, Kerry said she would so she didn't have to be in the photo. After she'd taken it, she gave me a hug and I said goodbye to the rest of them before going home. Here concludes the first night out with them and the first set of pictures with my new friends!

Tomorrow, if I manage to actually wake up, I might go shopping for a few new clothes. There's so many clothes shops in Chester. Many more than Liverpool has. In fact, there's a good one directly opposite me which I've seen some nice stuff in. The only problem, however, is that everything including the clothes is expensive. �15-�25 for a t-shirt! I'm used to paying �10.

It's time for bed now. It's 3:20am and I'm quite tired. Hopefully I'll be able to actually upload all of these entries on Monday on one of computers in the University library and you can read through them all.

My first week of University has been a successful one.

comment