All dressed up and nowhere to go
(Originally written 30th September 1:49am)

Today was the shortest time I've spent in University so far, as all I had to do was go and fill in a questionnaire, some contact details and speak to Debra if I had any problems with anything. I ended up being 20 minutes late, however because I fell back asleep at 8:30am. It didn't really matter too much, though. I spotted Danielle in the class again, at the back on her own. After filling in my forms, I went over to once more try my best to make conversation with her since no one else was trying to. I know that if I was her, I'd probably be thinking things along the lines of "I hate it here, I don't know anyone and no one is talking to me". I know that I'd very much like it if someone came over and talked to me like Ash did on Tuesday.

It was a much more successful attempt at conversing with her than on Tuesday. She talked a little more. I was happy that maybe I was not only making a new friend but maybe she would think of me as one too. When she got called to speak to Debra for a few moments, I decided to wait about for her so I could walk her out and carry on talking some more. When we did, she revealed she had a boyfriend. Not in a direct way, but just in passing. This didn't actually bother me, though. I still wanted to be friends with her. She has the same timetable as me, too, which means that I'll be seeing her throughout the week and maybe I can get to know her more that way. I said goodbye to her and told her I'd see her next week.

After University, I walked back into town. Thankfully, my feet are now almost completely blister-free meaning I can finally explore the town a little more and get my bearings. I bought some towels, oven gloves and some cleaning products for the kitchen and then I found an Apple store which was nice to browse in. Of course everything Apple related is always far too expensive to actually buy, including the sexy 30-inch iMac.

I also found a nice little Japanese shop selling lots of different trinkets. The two staff were very friendly in there, saying hello/goodbye to anyone who happened to pass through their doors. They also handed out these strange dry peas. I didn't really want one but felt that I'd offend if I said no. I tried one, but ugh, they were nasty. I tried my best to keep a straight face until she turned her back and then I couldn't help but cringe a little. I ended up swallowing it, though.

In there, I found a huge Buddha which I thought would make a nice gift for my Mum/Gary. A way of saying thank you for helping me move, as it was Gary in particular who had sorted out the van that took me to Chester. I was going to buy him a bottle of Whiskey, but I get the feeling that everyone buys him that and once drink is gone, it's gone. At least this will stick around.

It's incredibly heavy. I was surprised at its weight. I'm glad I bought it, regardless of the fact that I still have not forgiven my Mum for not being there for me when I needed her when Oogee died. I guess I just have to learn to forget about that and carry on.

They'll be visiting me tomorrow at some point. I'm not sure when but they said that they'll call me when they leave Liverpool so I'll give it to them then.

After I'd looked in the Japanese shop I went home and then ended up going to bed for a few hours. I text Cat/Kerry to see if they were going out as I was in the mood to as well now that I could walk. They said they were going to the Bouverie, the place we went to on Monday. I was glad that I'd be getting out of my room.

When I woke up, it was about 7:30pm. I went downstairs to get something to eat before I went out and in the kitchen, asleep in the dark was Ahmed. He had fallen asleep after putting his shopping away. I startled him after I'd turned the kitchen light on.

We talked for a while about various things and I'm trying my best to understand him. I think that out of the three people I'm living with, I talk to him the most. I see him the most. He's also very inquisitive, as I've said in the past, about pretty much every aspect of British culture from asking girls out to the price of a few onions.

After he'd woken up, he started to prepare some food for himself. He said that he'd let me try some of what he was making and used some extra ingredients. I tried to stop him, telling him that I had to go out soon and didn't want him wasting his food on me but he insisted. He ended up making some sort of scrambled egg with onions, two seasonings, salt and I can't remember what else. Regardless, after he'd cooked it and shared some of it with me, I have to admit that it was pretty damn good! Me eating onions and enjoying it is a first!

After I'd finished the portion he'd given me, he put more on my plate and I said no, but again, he insisted. I felt so guilty! But he said it was fine and that I should eat. I think he thinks that I don't eat much because neither he nor the other two have yet to really see me cook anything. They must think I starve!

We talked about various things while eating, including how Gulu, one of the other guys I'm living with, makes such a mess and doesn't bother to clean it up and also, how apparantly, he ended up being drunk on the kitchen floor, passed out! I must have been out/upstairs when that happened. Ahmed explained that he too doesn't look too kindly on that kind of stuff and that everyone should have common sense especially when it comes to simply cleaning up after yourself. I asked him if he saw Gulu before me to tell him about the state that he'd left the cooker in but he said that I should tell him because it'd sink in more, what with me being British.

I got up and cleaned my plate after I'd finished and cleaned a few of the things that Ahmed had used to cook. He said I didn't have to do that, but I said it was the least I could do. He cooks for me, I clean for him. He said it wasn't neccessary, though.

Gulu and Prague came home around 8:45pm. Gulu always stinks. I don't think he wears any deodourant. Of course, you can't tell someone they stink so I just end up holding my breath while he's about.

I went out about 9:10pm as Kerry had text me saying they would be in the Bouverie at 9:30pm and it takes me at least 20 minutes to walk down there. However, once outside, I decided that I'd get a cab and waited about a little to eat up time before getting one. While waiting, I got some money out of my account and noticed that my loan had gone through. I now have just over �2,300 in my bank. That's the first time my account has ever been above �1,500! Of course technically, it's not really my money but for the next three years at least, it is.

I returned to waiting by the cab office before going in but I ended up going back home and getting changed into something more suitable for a bar. I didn't feel dressed up enough. So, I put some black jeans on, along with a shirt and some black shoes and then went back out. However, I got another text off Kerry saying that they were now not going to be there until 10pm. This meant that I might as well walk. I will no doubt be doing a lot of this new found walking! I'm hoping that 20 minutes there and 20 minutes back from University four days a week will help me get fit.

Before I went to the Bouverie, I had hoped that there might be a shop open selling chewing gum because my breath smelled of onions. Unfortunately, when I got to the shop, it was closed so then I had to continue my search for the Bouverie. I didn't actually know where it was and had trouble finding it. I was walking in circles. However, I ended up finding it 10 minutes later right next to the fucking shop I'd been by to begin with!

My excuse is that everything looks different in the dark!

I called Cat before I went in to see if they were in there. She said she wasn't and that she and Kerry were actually in Peters, the guy who Kerry had kissed a few nights ago. She told me where the house was and I continued my walking. I felt a little annoyed, considering it takes me x amount of time to walk to the bar and then they just decide to not go out at the last minute. I also felt like a fool, since I tried to make an effort and dress up and now I'd be sitting about in a house.

When I got there, Kerry, Peter and a few of his housemates were watching Shaft. Kerry was laying on Peter's chest. I guess they must be close now. Cat was sitting by me on the floor (all the seats were taken). You could tell she was kind of bored. I get the feeling that maybe she just goes with whatever Kerry suggests. Not that that's always a bad thing, just that I think maybe sometimes Cat would like to be in the limelight instead of Kerry. But, what do I know. I've only known them since Sunday. I might be completely wrong.

Because Kerry was laying on Peter, I guess it made me like Cat even more. You know, just someone to cuddle up to. It was so tempting just to put my arm around her or something but obviously I didn't. I doubt she likes me anyway and as I've said, I'm trying hard not to act on any feelings I may have because at only five days into my University experience, I need friends, nothing more than that. And yet, at the same time, it would so nice to have that someone special.

While watching the film, she said that she thought we (as in everyone) should have gone the cinema. I asked if there was anything she'd like to see as I quite liked the idea of going. She said she didn't really know what was on but that she'd like to go.

After the film finished, it was midnight and I decided to go home. I had hoped that maybe Cat would be going home too so I could walk her home but she stayed with Kerry and Peter. However, she said that they may be going shopping tomorrow and that she'd text me tomorrow if I wanted to join them. I said goodbye to the three of them (the rest had gone to bed shortly before) and then headed home.

On the way, I thought hard about perhaps asking Cat if she'd like to go the cinema some time with me. So much for trying not to ask her on a date. I thought about perhaps sending her a text simply saying something like "Hey, would you like to go the cinema some time?" and maybe I could then leave it up to her to decide what I mean by that. Do I mean "With you and you only" or do I mean "With you and anyone else you want to bring"? Of course, I mean the first thing but at least by leaving it a bit ambiguous, it's up to her to decide in what way she wants to take it. Having said that, she'd probably text back with something like "What do you mean? Just me?" and then I'd have to give a yes or no answer.

And yes, I realise maybe I'm overthinking this stuff but I always do because working out plan a, b, c and d is important! By the time you read this, it may be too late and/or I may have already acted on my thoughts, but what would you do? I need advice!

So, tomorrow I'll be meeting up with my Mum and Gary for a bit. I don't know when exactly. Depending on the time, I'll also be meeting up with Cat/Kerry and whoever else they're with.

I've never been so socialable!

comment