Panic over
I will have the Internet in my Uni room afterall it seems.

I've been panicing all weekend that I'd accepted a room with no Internet access and that come today when I called the accommodation office, they'd tell me there was nothing they could do about it and that I wouldn't be able to go back into shared accommodation.

After calling however, it seems that there will be Internet access in my hall, but that it may take a few weeks to be put in.

Phew.

I spoke to a guy named Mark Shone. I also spoke to him a few weeks ago when I went to the house hunting day. He's a really nice guy, but he speaks to me like I've known him for years. It's weird. Not that I'm complaining, just that it's freaky. When he answered the phone he said "Hi Neil", instead of "Hello?" (after someone had went to get him of course, not straight away - that really would be freaky).

Anyway, I feel so much less worried now. I was preparing myself for a year in University halls without any Internet access. All weekend, I've been posting on forums asking for urgent advice on alternatives to Uni Internet access.

I did actually find an interesting solution too. I'm glad that I don't have to use it though. It's called Web 'n' Walk Professional from T-Mobile. For �20 a month, they could give me wireless broadband Internet. I would be happy with that, though there is a catch. There's a download limit of 2GB per month.

To see how I'd cope with such a small restriction, I installed a bandwidth monitor. In the space of less than 24 hours, I've already used 556mb!

I was preparing myself for no more YouTube and other such high-end browsing.

I worked out that if I wanted to share 2GB equally over one month, I would have to use less than 63mb per day. This would mean essential browsing only and MSN.

In addition, I'd need to buy a card adapter, T-Mobile 3G card and a 12 month contract. The card adapter costs �120, the 3G card costs �60 and a 12 month contract would cost me �240 in total, making the grand total �420. And yet, I would rather do this than have no Internet in my room.

Thankfully, I do not have to consider this option now.

Disaster averted.

comment