Here comes the sun
My Final Major Project is officially complete.

From the weekend onwards, I had four things to complete by this coming Friday, I've managed to complete three of them all in one day, which I'm very happy about. Well, I say 'day', but it's actually been all night.

The first thing I had to complete were my five stickers for my FMP. This took me a few hours to do, but I'm happy with them. That meant that my FMP was finally completely finished. It's been a long time coming, but the work that I've produced for it has been great and I'm really happy with it.

Then I needed to write an evaluation for it which took another hour or so.

Then, for the past two hours or so, I've been writing my evaluation for my sound module. I've been dreading writing it because I know nothing about sound, even though I've been doing it for the past year. It's not been very...informative. The fact that our sound tutor, Carl, LEFT doesn't help things either. He left and didn't bother to tell anyone. That pretty much screwed everyone over. However, the brief that we had to do for his lesson was fairly straight forward: A 1,000 word evaluation on the project that we completed, i.e. a radio interview task. We did this before the last half term. It was basically me, Rob and Dylan going into reception of college and asking a few people what they thought about reality TV, then editing it, adding a script and some music. That's about it.

The brief says that the evaluation has to be 1,000 words. Originally, it was 2,000 words, but there's a line through that and in it's place, 1,000. It also has to be in chronological/journal form and include screenshots of the processes used. However, none of us used anything that technical within any of the programs.

I found it rather difficult to get up to the 1,000 word mark, even when I was trying to flesh it out as much as possible. I haven't succeeded either. I've managed to get 810 and I'm hoping that's enough. Brian's going to be the one marking it which means that even though it says 1,000 words on the brief, he'll be more than happy to just mark it and pass it. If there was ever a time for Brian to be far too leniant/careless about the work we do, it's definitely now. If I didn't/don't pass the sound module, it means that I don't go to University, basically. I know I'll pass it though.

I had planned to write this evaluation towards the end of the week, but I'm really glad I've gotten it out of the way already. It means that all I have left to do now is design a website. While that may sound like a big job, I'm hoping it's nothing more than four hours work as I already had a good idea of how I'm going to design it. I'm probably going to do it in the style of my FMP, which means that all of the design elements have already been designed. If I get that out of the way by Friday, it means that I'll have completed every part of my work and I'll be home free.

I've been talking to Abigail online over the past few days and asking her about her progress on the things she has left to do for college. It sounds like a hell of a lot more than I had/have to do. She hasn't even completed a piece of work that was supposed to be handed in in June of last year! She also hasn't completed her FMP work, the evaluation for it, evaluation for the sound module and god knows what else. It's pretty worrying that she hasn't when there's less than a week of college left and if she doesn't complete everything, she doesn't go to University and has to do this course again. I'd have to have to do that.

I get the feeling she doesn't even care that much though.

[00:18:45] Neil: Did you ever do your report?
[00:19:09] < Oh how I love photos! >: I have about 600 words left to do on that
[00:19:18] Neil: ...bloody hell...
[00:19:21] < Oh how I love photos! >: Every time I try I get about 100 words done
[00:19:22] Neil: Come on, go go go
[00:19:25] < Oh how I love photos! >: I hate it
[00:19:35] < Oh how I love photos! >: I just can't push myself to do it
[00:19:55] < Oh how I love photos! >: My wording is crap and I just don't like it
[00:20:09] Neil: How's this for a push: NO UNI FOR YOU IF YOU DON'T (Y)
[00:20:25] < Oh how I love photos! >: I know
[00:20:35] < Oh how I love photos! >: It's not done anything really
[00:20:40] < Oh how I love photos! >: I'm a stubborn cow
[00:21:33] Neil: You really are going to have to repeat the second year if you keep procrastinating about the work you have to do...And from the sounds of it, you have a lot.
[00:21:42] < Oh how I love photos! >: Yeah
[00:21:46] < Oh how I love photos! >: Well
[00:21:48] < Oh how I love photos! >: Whatever

In addition, there are some people in my class who haven't got a clue about webdesign and they too need to design a website to pass. There is less than a week to go and yet Brian hasn't taught these people how to make one. That's pretty worrying and wrong. Personally, I don't feel as if Brian organises things enough and leaves things until the last minute. It's our fault too, but he doesn't help. I'm just glad that I know how to do things without his help.

Hannah was supposed to come to mine today (Tuesday), but I explained to her that I have work to do and I know that if she was here, it's not like I'm going to be sitting in front of the computer when there's a hot, sexy girl to be kissed. As I say, I only need around four hours to complete the work, but it's four hours I wouldn't allow myself to have if Hannah was here so unfortunately, it means that she isn't coming. However, I'm going to go to hers because I promised that I'd fix her computer. She needs it formatting.

I hate formatting. A lot. It's such a horrible, long process and I'm a little worried that if I try to fix it and it goes wrong, then I'm going to be the one responsible for her not having a computer. However, she doesn't know anyone else who can fix it. I guess I'm going to have to try.

I'm really looking forward to finishing college. It means that I'll have time to work on some of my own projects including redesigning my portfolio site and working on a few other little things too. I just wish that I had a way of making a little bit of money at the same time. A part time job might be nice, but I'll be quite honest and say that this summer, I think I'd just like to laze about since it'll be the last one I get to enjoy here in this house for at least three years.

I am always appreciative of the fact that for the last few months now, I've had this house to myself. It's been great. Really great. I can have music on loud at 4am, I can walk around naked whenever I want, I can leave the door open when I go for a pee, I can have Hannah stay whenever I like and make as much noise with her as I want. It's just perfect. I'm going to miss it when University comes around. I'm going to miss living here. This is home. My home will no longer be mine to live in come October when my Mum begins renting it.

But, as I said, I'm looking forward to finishing college and working on some new stuff. I want to redesign my portfolio site, get some new stuff on there and then make some stickers and put them around town to advertise it and maybe I could make some money that way. I thought about perhaps appealing to local bands who need the odd flyer doing or maybe a logo. Obviously I couldn't charge that much to do it, but �50 there and �100 there would be rather nice. It's an idea anyway.

"Here comes the sun..."

comment