Build them up, knock them down
I seem to have been neglecting to write.

Friday was a nice day last week. It started with me going into college, but after waiting for 20 minutes for Carl, our sound tutor to turn up, I decided that I didn't want to wait any longer and headed home. I was supposed to meet my Mum later on that day and so I called her as I was walking out of college to see if she'd meet me now, as I had a bunch of mail to give her. She said no, but to come to the apartment instead so I did.

On the way, I decided to check the cinema times of The DaVinci Code, which was premiering that day. I've not read the book and I doubt I ever will, but I wanted to see the film at least. I checked it at FACT first, which is a cinema nearby the station and then I checked the time of it by where my Mum is and decided to go to the 12pm showing of it.

I got to Gary's apartment and gave my Mum the mail and sat down for a bit. By then it was about 10am. We talked for a bit and I told her that I planned on going to see The DaVinci Code. I asked her if she wanted to come with me and surprisingly she said yes. It was surprising because my Mum hasn't been to a cinema in literally years. Maybe even a decade. But, the cinema is right by her and she was tired of being inside the apartment all of the time due to currently being unwell so she decided to come with me.

12pm came and we walked across the road to the cinema. Since it was the premiere, I was expecting it to be pretty busy, but the guy at the desk said that they were showing it on three screens so it should be ok. My Mum paid for both of us, even though I said I was happy to pay for myself.

It was really weird going the cinema with my Mum. I've never done it before.

The film itself was...scattered. I'm sure the book itself is a great read, but the film was just all over the place. It was a little confusing at times and it felt as if the director was trying too hard to put too many things in your face at once. I got the gist of what the story was about though and it's quite an interesting theory.

After the film, my Mum wanted me to come shopping with her so I could carry the bags. While out, I got a text from Patrick asking me what I was doing later. I said nothing and asked why and he said that everyone was meeting up in the AJ's later on and invited me to come. I replied saying I'd be there. It's been ages since everyone's been out.

After I had been shopping with my Mum, we then went back the apartment to put it all away and then went out once more for a meal at The Tavern. By now it was 5:30pm and since I had been awake since 6:45am, I was pretty tired like I usually am. If I wasn't still out, I would have already been in bed. I didn't even feel like eating all of my meal, which I felt guilty about because I left a fair amount, but I had a really nice time just being out with my Mum all day.

I still find it weird, now that she's got a fair amount of money that she can just walk into anywhere, buy anything and pay for it without even thinking of how much it costs. The meal cost �32 altogether, with drinks, but she only knew how much it cost after she asked me once we'd left at 6pm.

Since I had an hour to kill before I went to meet my friends in the pub, we went back to the apartment once more and I waited there. I was so tired though and really, all I wanted to do was sleep.

My Mum said that she had had a lovely day with me, which made me feel good.

At about 7pm, I caught a cab to the pub. Dave and Patrick were waiting in there and it was really really full. Soon after, Jamie and Mike arrived and then soon after that, so did Danielle. Amazingly, someone had even managed to get Stan out who I haven't seen in weeks and possibly months. Very weird seeing him out.

Since I had been walking around all day, my feet were killing me and all I wanted to do was sit down but since the pub was really full, I had to wait an hour until I could do so and it wasn't for long as at about 10pm, everyone headed to a place called Roadkill which is an emo bar. I didn't stay for long though, as I was tired. Dave bought me a Jagermeister, but I certainly didn't feel like drinking that stuff. He ushered me to have it anyway a few times, but I just that I didn't feel like it so I think he had his one and my one as well.

After about 20 minutes of being in there, Jamie, Mike and Danielle started to leave so I decided to go with them and then I went home and shortly after, I went to bed.

That was Friday. All in all a good day.

The weekend was boring in general, though I'm trying to get my final major project (FMP) done and it's not going well. I went through countless pages of design and it just didn't look right. It was frustrating.

On Monday, I ended up not going into college because I felt that I could work on it better here. However, at 2pm, Abigail messaged me from college.

[13:55:37] < I can't seem to focus on anything [in colleeege] >: Brian wants to know why you're not here
[13:55:53] < I can't seem to focus on anything [in colleeege] >: And why he's having to do all this key skills stuff without you
[13:57:34] Neil: I woke up late (like now) and key skills? I've done all of my key skills stuff.
[14:03:37] < I can't seem to focus on anything [in colleeege] >: Brian says your pathetic and he hopes you sleep through the last year of your degree course

That made me feel pretty shit really although I guess he's got every right to say it to me really, what with the amount of times I've been absent. But even at that very moment, I was working on my FMP. Infact, I didn't stop working on it until 3am. I went through so much paper printing stuff off that what I've ended up with for my CD cover just looks horrible to me now, now that I've looked at it for so long. I'm pleased that I've finished at least one part of my project. I've just got to finish the rest now by the end of next week.

I still have to do the following:

4 A3 posters
2 Flyers
5 Stickers
1 World tour map

That might not sound like a lot, but when you consider that I also have to produce rough work for all of those, it amounts to much more than simply those few items. However, now that I have a general theme, I'm hoping that they'll come along much much quicker than the CD cover. I plan on uploading everything of this project to my DeviantART account once I've completed everything.

Also yesterday and all of the weekend, I was excited about the fact that Hannah had said that she'd be coming to mine tonight and would stay here until Thursday. Two nights with her, lovely. Last night, I asked her if she was definitely coming and she said yes so I was very happy and looking forward to seeing her, as I've not for three weeks.

This morning, I talked to her some more and although she is currently unwell apparantly with aches and pains of some nature, she said that she'd be coming. I had told her all weekend though that if she felt so bad then maybe it's best if she doesn't come, but she said that she'd definitely be coming anyway because she really wanted to see me. This afternoon around 1pm, we arranged to meet at 5pm. Around 2pm, I needed to go and get some shopping so I said goodbye to her and told her that I'd be back online in about an hour or so.

When I did go shopping, I decided to get some celery and some sour cream and chive dip. It's Hannah's favourite food apparantly and I wanted to make her smile when she came here and show her that I'd bought it for her. After I got the rest of my shopping, I went home and came back online, but Hannah wasn't on. It was about 3:30pm at this point so I text her, asking where she was and for her to come online if she wasn't busy. I waited until 4pm and then text her again asking her to come online and still nothing. I needed her to tell me where we'd be meeting; either me going to her to pay for her train ticket or her meeting me in town if she could afford to do so. I needed to know right now if I was to meet her at 5pm because it takes me an hour to get to hers.

At 4:15pm, I called her. No answer. At 4:30pm, I called again and she answered.

I asked her why she wasn't online and she said that she had been asleep. I told her that I'd been waiting for her to come online to tell me what was happening. From the sound of her voice, you could tell she had just woken up. I asked her if she really felt that bad (since as I said, she is ill) and she said yes.

I really (and obviously) don't mind the fact that she is ill and if you're ill then you need all of the rest you can get, but if four hours before I called her, she says that she is definitely coming to mine and for her to let me know by 3:30pm where I'm meeting her, then surely the best thing for both her and me is to at least *let me know* she isn't coming afterall? No phonecall, no MSN message, nothing. Once again, it was left up to me to chase after her to find out what was happening. I could have probably not called at all and I would have only found out x amount of hours later when she finally did come online.

As I say, I don't mind the fact that she's ill, but if she tell me she is definitely coming all weekend, yesterday and she says that even four hours beforehand then low and behold, I believe that she is coming and therefore, make sure that I'm ready to go and meet her. Tell me if I'm overreacting here, but it is surely not hard to just leave me a message simply saying that either she is going to bed and so call her or she's too ill to come and so had gone to bed. Just...something. Something to let me know what the hell is happening instead of me sitting here until 4:30pm waiting for her to come online to tell me.

When I did finally get her on the phone, our conversation was very stunted because I was just really disappointed. If you raise my hopes up so high and they take it away, it hurts. There were many long silences. She asked me if I was annoyed with her and I said no, but that I was just really looking forward to seeing her and she told me just a few hours before that she was coming. I told her that I had been waiting for her to come online. She said she was sorry for being ill but I know that's not her fault and that's not what I want her to be sorry for. I just want her to be...proactive? I think that's the word I'm looking for. I am patient. I can wait weeks, even months for something, but please, don't tell me you're coming to see me right up until four hours beforehand and then make me call you four hours later to find out that you're not afterall. It hurts.

And so while I have been looking forward to spending my first night with her since my houseparty, I was instead sitting on my couch watching TV on my own.

Tomorrow, I'll be going into college where I will undoubtedly be talked to by Brian and I'll have to somehow explain why I was off. I'm hoping that if he sees the amount of work I've produced for my CD and the artwork itself, 'pathetic' is something which won't apply to me.

I'm not feeling good right now.

comment