A holiday without moving
So, back to college I went yesterday. I went to bed at 2:30am and woke up at 5:30am so I didn't get much sleep. Still, I managed to get up and go and it was a productive day. I still have a few more things left to do for my project by Friday but I'm confident that I'm now ready to present everything.

I met one of Laura's friends, Jackie on the train home. "Laura's going away tomorrow isn't she?", she asked me. "I don't know", I said. "I don't know a thing about what she does".

I had known that she was going on holiday at some point or another, but didn't know when. It's not like she'd tell me.

My Mum called me once I was at home, saying she was coming round later on. I decided to go to bed for a little while around 7pm and at about 8:30pm, my Mum had arrived so I got up and said hi to her. She was in her room at the time when she noticed that there was talc on the floor.

"Who's been in my bed?", she asked.
"Laura", I replied.
"Why?"
"Because Laura sleeps in your bed and Tracy sleeps in her bed. That's what she does now."
"Is it?", she said, obviously annoyed.
"Yeah"
"Right, I'm gonna have this out with her now"

She said that she had already talked to Laura before I had woken up but she was going to go back downstairs and talk to her some more. I also told my Mum about the fact that Laura eats my food, doesn't buy anything like washing powder or toilet roll and leaves a mess everywhere.

My Mum went downstairs and I did too. She asked if I wanted to come round to my Nan's. Not for anything in particular, just to talk but I said that there was something on at 9pm that I wanted to watch.

"She (Laura)", she said, "Has a fella around here at 9pm"
"Oh"
"So what do you do if she's in the living room?"
"Why can't she go in her room with him?", I said, but my Mum misheard and thought I said that I'd go in Laura's room.
"No, I'll sort it now", she said.

So both of us went into the living room. Tracy was there too. I only went in the living room to get my Mum's new mobile number and then went back up to my room, but stopped at the top of the stairs to listen to what my Mum was saying to Laura. It wasn't long before both of them were shouting at each other.

My Mum was saying that I wanted to watch something at 9pm and Laura was saying that I could go in her room. My Mum said that I shouldn't have to and that I live here too and if I want to watch something, then I can and she can go in her own room with whoever.

They also argued over the fact that Laura hasn't paid my Mum any rent for 10 months which annoys my Mum and pisses Gary off even more because that's a lot of money and Laura certainly has it.

I went into my room after a minute or two because I didn't really want to listen to the rest of what was being said. I just heard my Mum open the living room door after a while, slam it shut, open the front door, say "Neil, I'll call you", and slam the front door shut too and out she went to my Nan's.

She was pretty angry at Laura.

It was about 8:50pm at this point and a few minutes after hearing my Mum leave, I heard Laura go out and I thought Tracy went with her. I wasn't sure if they would be back in a few minutes or not and since Laura was going to be in the living room apparantly, even though my Mum had just sorted it so that I could go watch TV in the living room instead, I didn't want to say anything to Laura so I called my Nan and asked if she could record whatever for me and she said yes. But, she then said that I was free to come and watch whatever at her house so I accepted and got ready to go out.

In the living room, I found Tracy. Maybe I'm wrong, but it looked as if she had been crying because of what my Mum had been saying to her/Laura in the living room when I went up to my room. I wasn't quite sure where Laura had gone at that point, but the phone rang and it was my Nan, saying that Laura was at hers and that I could watch whatever in the living room.

Tracy left about ten mintues after that. She got picked up by someone. I was confused about stuff at that point, but finally had the living room to myself and happily watched TV. Laura came home at about 11pm and went to bed.

This morning, I was awoken by Tracy and her loud mouth at 9:30am. She and Laura were getting ready to leave for their holiday in Spain for the next two weeks and in a way, that meant that I get a holiday too. Two weeks of her not being here.

Once they'd left after about two hours, I decided to get up and get a shower, only to find that Laura had left the bathroom a mess. There was talc everywhere. Why the FUCK can she not clean it up after she'd spilt it everywhere!

I sigh and turned the shower on, contemplating the fact that I now had to clear up after her mess once more and as I did so, I heard a strange buzzing sound. I looked up at the power cord for the shower and saw a few electric sparks, before the shower switched itself off and the cord started smoking. Great, the shower had broke.

I called my Mum to tell her. She said to come round to my Nan's because she was there and I could get a shower there so that's what I did.

In my Nana's was my Mum, Paul and his friend Freddy who does nothing but swear. He doesn't mean anything by it, but my god he can swear. He had been wanting me to help him with an mp3 player or something.

"I called you!", he said to me. I was still feeling groggy at this point having not had a shower.
"No you never"
"Yeah I did! And you put the fucking phone down on me you prick!"
"Wasn't me"
"It fucking was you, you prick! You answered and I said is that Neil and you put the fucking phone down!"

Anyway that went on for a few minutes and I just said that it wasn't me because it wasn't. Like I say, he wasn't trying to be nasty, it's just the way he is. He swears terribly.

After talking to whoever was there for a bit, I then got a shower, while my Mum, Paul and Freddy went to mine. Freddy had sold my Mum his old video recorder because we don't have one currently and he was going to set it up.

After I had had a shower, I thanked my Nan for letting me and talked to her for a bit. I asked her what my Mum had said to Laura last night.

"She", my Nan said "is such a bitch", referring to Laura. "The way she spoke to your Mum last night was awful. Your Mum told her that she wants her out of that house. Wants her to start looking for a place when she gets home from Spain. She said to Laura you're supposed to be a carer (Laura works in a care home) and yet look how you treat Neil. I'm not asking you to love him, but just give him a bit of respect she said."

My Nan also said my Mum said lots of other things, but that was the gist of it. My Mum has told Laura she wants her out of this house.

After that, I went back round to mine where I found Paul fiddling with the video, Freddy shouting at him and my Mum shouting at the both of them. I was too tired to join in so I went to sit in the kitchen and eat.

The video got sorted in the end and those two left, leaving me and my Mum. When Laura had left this morning, I had decided that I was going to clean everywhere in this house while Laura was away. It would at least mean that I have a clean house to live in for at least the next two weeks. My Mum helped me in the end too.

After that, we talked about stuff like me not having enough money for college and she offered to buy me a travel pass which I was appreciative of. After that, she went back to my Nan's, leaving me here, with an empty house for the next two weeks. That will do me nicely.

I also heard my Mum on the phone to Gary. She said that she had told Laura that she wants her out of this house by September. I still don't quite believe it'll happen though. My Mum is all words a lot of the time but maybe she means it this time.

Laura thinks she's being treated unfairly and that my Mum is being too harsh on her but this time, she isn't. I don't ask for much, just a bit of respect, but she doesn't even give me that. She constantly shows that she thinks she owns this house and it's a horrible place to live while she's here. I hate to say this, but if Laura does leave, I'll be glad of it.

comment