Give a man a fish...
On Monday, I didn't go into college until 1pm but I still got some work done. After that, I met my Mum because she was giving me some needle and thread to sew a button back on my coat. She asked if I wanted to go for something to eat but I said I wasn't hungry. Instead, we went to Waterstones. She got a sandwich and bought me a hot chocolate.

She gave me �10 to go get it with and when I came back with what I had bought and her change, she told me to keep it. It was like �6 or something. That's a fair amount of money to me and I hate taking money off anyone. I declined, but she said keep it so I said thank you to her.

We were in there about 30 minutes. We talked about the house mostly and how it's a mess and also how Laura has basically taken over and turned it into her house. Her stuff is in every room. My Mum said that that would change.

Also, she said that Alison would be coming to the house in the week to give it a huge cleaning. After that, it would then be up to me and Laura to keep it clean. I'm happy with that and I think I can keep it clean.

On Tuesday, I went to bed around 6am and woke up at 10am because I thought I'd need to go to college to see Student Services. I needed to find out why they hadn't sent me the cheque they said they were going to to help me out with travel expenses. Instead though, I called up and she talked to me over the phone. It saved travelling into town for literally 15 minutes.

My Mum arrived here around 12pm and she and I cleared the shed out. She was here until about 6pm and then she and I went round to my Nan's because I haven't a clue how to sew a button onto a coat.

My Nan is funny. She gets things mixed up. She calls her new DVD player a VD player. She also was saying how someone she knew went to Turkey and how there was Turkey flu over there. Then she corrected herself and said she meant chicken flu. "...what?", I said, completely confused. "Bird flu!", my Mum said. lol, she meant bird flu!

We had a chinese meal which was nice. I guess it got a little crap after that though, as I tried to explain to my Mum that if she and Gary move into this house, that I'd really not like it if Gary smoked in the house. She said that she can't ask him that. I asked why not. She said that she just can't. I told her how it comes up to my room and it makes me feel ill but she didn't really listen. She just got annoyed and it felt like she wasn't bothered about my health.

I left a while after that, but still in a good mood. It was just a setback. It will be overcome.

I was pretty damn tired and even though I had four hours of good TV to watch, I ended up falling asleep at 9pm on the couch watching Battlestar Galactica. I woke up about 10:10pm and decided that I was far too tired to watch anything else and went straight to bed.

I ended up waking up at about 5:30am on Wednesday morning. I stayed awake for college. I haven't had such a long sleep in a very long time. Usually it's about 5 hours at most. So, I was pretty awake during the journey to college. It felt good.

College itself was pretty straight forward. I spent the morning in the library though because the room I have to use on Wednesday mornings is unacceptable. It's far to hot in there because there are no windows. I refused to use it and went the library instead where I drew.

I saw Patrick come in at about 11:40am and I went over to talk to him for a bit. At 12:20pm, a hot girl was waving to Patrick from outside the library. It was Kiri, a hot gothy-ish girl who I've met twice before. I like her a lot. She gave Patrick this really really long cuddle and I got so jealous. It was like he and her were boyfriend and girlfriend but Patrick is gay. She was just really cuddly with him and I wanted her to give me one too!

"I feel left out!", I said jokingly, but she came over and gave me a hug. I felt happy. She went back to cuddling Patrick after that. Immensely.

Jamie appeared soon after that and he too was pretty jealous of all of the attention that Patrick was getting off Kiri.

She poked my belly. "Wow, you've got such a belly", she said, "so cute". I know she was just joking and being friendly but I guess it made me embarassed. I'm trying hard to lose it. It makes me feel a lot less confident.

The four of us ended up going to a local pub. Me and Jamie just looked at each other with approving grins. No words had to be said, but we were both thinking "Damn...Kiri's hot". She even did stuff like licking the back of his ear and brushing her hand through his hair. God I was jealous. You could tell Patrick was enjoying it, even if he is gay.

Even though I was supposed to be back in college at 1pm, I decided to stay in there until 1:30pm because I was enjoying myself. A few of Kiri's friends turned up and although I didn't talk to any of them, it was just nice to be in a small group. I haven't been out to a pub or anywhere like that for months so even though it was only for an hour on my lunch break, it was nice.

The afternoon was nice too. It was mostly me and Danny talking about graphic design.

On Wednesday night, my Mum called me and we had an interesting chat. It was primarily about the fact that we need a new VCR, but also, she was saying how something needs to be done about the fact that I hardly ever have any cash to spend on anything but food and getting to college. She said that she would help me.

I explained that even though I might need help, I hate accepting money off people because I don't want to live on handouts. I want to earn my money. I can't though, not yet. I can't have a part time job and go to college and afford to eat.

Then she started saying how she's proud of me and it got me a little choked. She was saying how she thinks it's amazing how far I've come from a few years ago to where I am now and that Gary "Can't say a bad word about you". It was one of the nicest things she's said to me for a while.

Today, I woke up at 7:30am after another night of going to bed incredibly early. I had plans for today. I wanted to go get my hair cut, go to town and do lots of college work. Instead, I hardly did anything but did manage to get my key skills work done.

Alison and some other woman came here at 9am and started cleaning the whole house. It made me feel pretty embarassed and guilty actually that two complete strangers have to come in and clean up after what is essentially dirt and mess that isn't theirs. I'm in the wrong, but so is Laura.

They were here for hours. I think they finally finished around 3pm. Gary came to inspect around then too. He gave me �30.

"What's that for?", I asked.
"It's for you", he replied, "Just to keep you going"
"Nah, I can't take that"
"No, keep it"

I hate hate hate taking money. I hate being reliant on my Mum and Gary's wealth. I hate the fact that even though I'm doing the right thing by getting an education and hopefully going to University, it's like in the meantime, I'm struggling to get by while Laura has a 10 hour a day full time job and earns about �800 a month.

I guess it's like the tortoise and the hare in a way and I just hope that I win the race.

When Alison had finished cleaning, my God...it was clean. The bathroom has never looked so sparkly. I laughed out of amazement when I seen it. When Laura came home tonight, I made sure to tell her that the whole house has been cleaned and not to leave the shower a mess as she usually does. Seems to have worked too, as there wasn't any hair left in the drain when I checked. I'm going to try my best to keep it clean.

I'm off to bed.

comment