Big changes ahead
So, a new saga begins. A new 'big change' that seems to happen every six months or so.

My Mum called me at 1pm saying she would be coming here. She said she needed to talk to me. That's usually a bad thing.

She was with Gary when she arrived. I was in my room. Laura was downstairs with them. I heard my Mum talking to Laura so I listened in because I knew it was that time again when my Mum has a go at me and Laura and not without reason either, really. She is/was quite right to.

I don't think my Mum realises that sometimes when she talks, she shouts so it's pretty easy to listen in. She was saying to Laura how this house is always a mess and that she owes my Mum money for rent and that Chris never shuts the gate on the drive after he's left. I could hear Laura arguing back and getting annoyed. God knows why she tried to dispute the fact that he leaves the gate open, of all things, when he does, every time, without fail.

I also heard my Mum say how she was going to talk to me next. I knew that would happen. About five minutes later, I heard Laura go into her room and then Gary - who seems to be turning into some sort of unwanted Father figure - called me down to talk to him and my Mum. I said hi to them both. Since I knew what was coming, I felt that I could prepare myself a little better and therefore not feel as bad when it was over.

It was pretty much as I expected. She is fed up of how the house is currently because it's always a mess and dirty and she has lots of bills to pay. I tried to explain to her how most of it is Laura's and that I clean up after myself but she doesn't. She said how Laura works all day, but I tried to explain to her that it's not hard to wash a dish after she's used it. Instead, she leaves them for a day, sometimes two days and even three days before she washes them. Working all day is no excuse for that.

I did accept, however, that I am/have been lazy and I don't do enough around the house to keep it in the shape it should be. I again mentioned that most of it isn't my doing though. She said that when she lived here, she did everything, even if it wasn't her mess and she is right, she did. But I'm not sure if it's fair that I clear up after Laura if I can clear up after myself?

Gary for the most part was standing by the kitchen door having a smoke, staying out of the way. But, then the 'big change' was announced. Something that my Nan had warned me about a few months ago and something that I thought may happen eventually. My Mum said that very soon, she and Gary would be moving in here.

It wasn't that much of a surprise to me. Infact, I actually welcome it. It could mean the end to how Laura is treating this place and that can only be a good thing.

As a suggestion and perhaps an answer to how the house is always a mess and neither I nor Laura want to take responsibility for each others mess (though I still maintain most of it IS NOT MINE - Just come here and look for yourself), he said that he'd draw up a rota of tasks that would need doing every week or something. In theory this is a good idea though he did kind of say that "and if they're not done, well..." and then looked at my Mum and I know what that meant. Basically she/he wouldn't really think that much of kicking either one of us out and replacing us with someone who would happily pay �400 in rent.

Apparantly Laura owes my Mum �1200 in rent. Gary prompted my Mum to get it off her today. "I'll get it off her", my Mum said.
"No, today, now!", he said.
"Alright, narky", she replied.

You could tell he was getting a little irritated and it wasn't a nice side of him. He needs to watch that.

My Mum said that Laura had gone up to her room crying. I don't know why, it's her own fault.

My Mum also said that she wants to put a stop to all of the sleepovers Laura has here and that she is stopping Laura from having her mates sleeping in my Mum's bed. About time. I did however, try to defend Laura a little by saying that it wasn't that often that Laura did have sleepovers and it's not really. But, Laura does have a friend over a fair bit who sleeps in my Mum's bed and I thought my Mum would be ok with that but apparantly not anymore.

So, to summarise:

My Mum and Gary are supposedly moving in.
There is supposedly going to be a rota of chores.
No more sleepovers for Laura's mates.
No more Chris leaving the gate open.

Seems like a win-win situation for me really!

I think the only problem that I may have is the fact that if they're living here, then of course they'll be in the living room a lot which means that I won't be able to watch my shows when I want. Hardly the end of the world though, I'll just watch them another time or record them.

The other problem is that of course, Gary smokes like there is no tomorrow. I really really don't want him smoking in the house because not only will it make the living room stink, but the smell will rise and fill my room with it as well. I can't STAND the smell of smoke. It makes me feel ill. I'm going to ask that if they are moving in, that if he wants to smoke, he goes outside.

So, even though my Mum had a go at me, because I was prepared for it, it wasn't that bad and lots of good things came out of it. Plus, from listening to how my Mum was talking to Laura and then talking to me, it wasn't hard to hear the definite change in tone of voice and it was more harsh towards Laura.

My Mum went up to talk to Laura some more and me and Gary were left downstairs. I tried my best to keep the conversation going but he seemed bored really and tired. But that's always how he seems.

I needed go shopping and my Mum said that they'd give me a lift but in the end, Gary took me on his own. While getting ready to go, I heard my Mum ask Laura for the rent money again.

"Argh, ALRIGHT", Laura said, irritated.
"Hey! Don't talk to me like that", my Mum replied.
"Well you've already told me"
"You've changed so much. Just remember who I am."

And my Mum is right, Laura has changed a lot and I think some of it is to do with the fact that Chris is an arrogant little bastard and that arrogance is rubbing off on Laura. No one likes him but her.

So anyway, yes. That's the news. Whether all of this will happen or not remains to be seen, but it's the surest sign that something might.

comment