Apartments and housemates
Interesting developements.

This time next month, I may be living somewhere else.

But firstly, something which I feel fucking awful about and I can't believe I done it. I forgot my mum's birthday.

She was actually away with Gary in Denmark or Amsterdam or somewhere on her actual birthday, but the way I remembered it was her birthday was because on Monday I think, Laura had left a note for Paul, the guy who has been painting my room to take my mum's birthday present from her to the apartment. "Shit", I thought.

She hasn't said anything about me forgetting, but I do plan on getting her something. Infact, I have a great idea for a gift. There's a group called The Stylistics playing at the Philharmonic in November and I'm going to see if I can get her and Gary two tickets to go and see them. A ticket for my mum for her birthday and a ticket for Gary to say thanks for the apartment, which I'll now explain.

My mum called me last night around 9pm shortly after texting me with "How are you?". She's been doing that a lot lately. She calls me and texts me to see how I am. I never know how to answer her really, because the truth is that I'm never "OK", but I don't really want to expand on why I'm not so that's all I usually say.

Anyway, she called me last night. It was about the apartment. Apparantly, Gary had been in touch with the landlord to ask if I could take Oogee. He said yes.

I was very surprised.

She asked me if I wanted the room and I said it was a hard decision to make. I told her that one of the main reasons why I was still hesitant was the fact that I don't want to move in there and not be able to move out again if I don't like it say, after a month or so.

She asked if that was sorted, would I say yes. I said yes.

So, there is a good chance that I'll be moving into the apartment around the second week of September. I'm pretty damn scared, but excited.

Of course there's always one or two catches to something like this and I can think of some already. The first is that I have no idea who I will be living with and I'll only know when I move in, as everyone will probably move in at the same time. That means that I don't have much of an oppurtunity to get a feel for the people first. Meet them, see what they're like.

Secondly, I'm PRAYING that none of them smoke. I won't be able to live there is any of them do, because I can't stand it. I can only just about put up with it when I go out for the night with my friends in a pub or bar. I would HATE to come home every day and be forced to be in a house where someone was smoking. I just can't do it. I'd hate living there if any of them smoke. There's me and there's four other people living there so there's at least a one in four chance that someone does smoke. I hope they don't though. I really hope they don't.

The minimum tenancy is three months my mum said. I think though, that if I do move in there, then I'll give it around a month to get used to it. That's long enough, right? Long enough to get accustomed to living with four people, getting to know their living habits?

I'm currently thinking of all of the things that are good about living where I am now, however. There are quite a few things.

I have a large room.
I have a good view.
I can walk into the back garden at 4am at night and take pictures without anyone either knowing or caring.
I have the house pretty much to myself all day up until around 5pm, since Laura is at work all day.
I can pretty much walk around naked of a night. That's fun to do sometimes.
I know where the town centre is and I know where to go to buy the right stuff that I need and for a very good price.
Oogee has all of the space he needs to go roaming and can easily get in and out of the house.
I don't have to be around anyone if I don't want to because there's only me and Laura here.
If I wanted to bring someone here, maybe a girlfriend, I could easily do so and the house would be empty.

As you can see, there's actually a lot of good reasons to stay where I'm living right now. But, since I'm trying to be rational about this, I'll try and list the reasons why I should move too.

I'd get to live with four people who may well become good friends and great to live with.
There's a supermarket literally two minutes walk away along with a McDonalds - BigMacs every day? :O
It's about a 15 minute journey on the bus to college.
I'm sure I saw a nice park at the end of the street.
Aside from my housemates, there's at least one or two more apartments full of people who might be nice too.
I wouldn't have to put up with Laura and/or Chris.
It would be my first venture into the world of independance (that's a good thing right?).

Can you think of any other reasons why moving there is a good thing? Please do let me know. I need convincing it's a good idea.

comment