It takes a lot to make me annoyed
Tuesday was a good day in college. Well, as good as a college day can be, which isn't that good really.

The morning was mostly about showing Bronek the work that I'd done for my documentary. He thought is was very good.

The afternoon was spent trying desperately to get some floppy disk packaging created. It didn't go so well really and Tony did try to help me a lot, but at the end of it, it felt as if my project was becoming his, more than mine. He said that the design was still mine, but after he'd changed the colours and a little bit of the shapes, I felt as if it was all his doing, not mine.

It was Dave's birthday on Tuesday. He had decided that he wanted to go to a bar called the Baa Baa, but I wasn't really keen on going.

From 4pm to 5pm, we had a tutorial with Bronek. This was spent doing some animations for a class upstairs. They had done some stop-motion animation and Bronek wanted us to speed them up just slightly in Premiere. There were about 20 or so. While I didn't have to, I stayed past 5pm. I wanted to finish doing them. I stayed past 6pm and all the way up to 7pm with Bronek. Just before I was about to go, I asked Bronek if he needed anything else doing and he said that if I wanted to, I could do the rest of the animations that he had been working on, but then I decided against it. I was hungry and tired and wanted to go home.

As I was getting ready leave, we got talking and he was saying how he was really impressed with the exhibition website I had made. Danny was also pleased with it. Bronek also got talking about how he was imrpessed with my work in general and that he thinks I have a lot of potential. He said lots of other nice things too and it gave me a real self confidence boost.

Once finally out of college, I decided to call Dave and wish him a happy birthday. I asked where he was and he said he was at the bar. I was tempted to go, but decided against it. I felt guilty, not going, but I was tired and hungry so I went to Burger King instead. Just as I was finishing my burger, I saw Patrick walk past the window. I ran out after him and then decided that what the hell, I'd go to this bar, but only stay for an hour.

Once I arrived, I saw Dave, Jamie, Mike and Carl all look very surprised that I had turned up as only 10 minutes ago, I had said that I wasn't. I also noticed a guy and a girl that I didn't recognise. The girl was most definitely very pretty.

Jamie seemed especially pleased to see me and it didn't take long to realise that he was a bit tipsy already.

I bought Dave a drink and sat down. Stan and Lee arrived after a while and then so did another strange guy and his girlfriend. The guy looked cool. He just looked like a nice guy. He looked quite intelligent and just...I don't know. Sometimes I get a feeling.

It was quite difficult at one point. Most of my friends had gone to stand at the bar and talk for a while, which left me and Carl sitting with four people we didn't know. It got too uncomfortable so I moved to go and talk to my friends. Jamie kept hugging me lots and everyone else. He's quite, er, friendly when drunk.

Our little group moved upstairs after a while and it looked as if I'd decided to stay much longer than an hour.

Since it was a Tuesday, the place was quite empty and I liked it that way. There was also an open air bit to the bar which is where we all ended up. More people arrived at one point or another and one of them was Jade, this really sexy Japanese girl. It has to be said that Dave knows a serious amount of hot girls. It's amazing. I tried my best to talk to her, but failed miserably.

The time seemed to fly by. When I first entered the bar, I wasn't really in the mood, but by 10pm, I was enjoying myself. Andrea and her friend arrived and I got a hug off her, yay.

I was surprised to see that it was 11pm when I looked at my watch. I was also perhaps the most disappointed I've ever been at having to go home before everyone else was. I was actually having a really fun time! The reason I had to go was because I had to catch the last train home. So did Jamie, Danielle and Mike. So, I said my goodbyes to everyone, but, just before I had to go, I took what is perhaps the best group shot pics I've taken so far. I then hugged every single person I could find who was part of our group. Ha, that was fun. A good excuse to get hugs. Liam was particularly disappointed I was leaving which I was really surprised by. When I said I was leaving he said "Aww no! You're cool you! All the cool people are leaving!". That made me feel good. Someone thought I was cool!

Finally I managed to leave the place and before me, Mike, Jamie and Danielle went the station, they wanted to get chips. We met Andrea and her mate and they tagged on. They caught their train first and I had to wait another 20 minutes for mine, but I was ok with that. I had a fun night.

Today however, has not been good. Infact, it left me in a pretty shit mood.

After waking up late for college this morning and missing all of Brian's session, I got into college at 12pm. He was in the class with Danny, a technician. I popped my head in the door, just to apologise for not being in his lesson. He ushered me in however.

He explained to me about the exhibition happening on Monday. I said I knew and that I was designing the website for it. He looked confused. I explained to him what I was doing and he said no, that's not how it was going to work. I reaffirmed the fact that Daniel had said it was a good idea, as had Bronek, but again, he said that they would be doing it another way. We had a very long winded discussion about it and I got quite annoyed at the fact that I had spent a weekend coming up with this website out of my own time, only for it not to be used. Not only that, but the fact that Brian hadn't bothered to tell me that he and the technician already had a way of displaying the work. It pissed me off.

In addition to that, he also then tagged on "He's not happy is he?", to Danny, the technician in a joking manner. "No, I'm not happy", I replied, quite annoyed. I had every right to be. Brian though replied, himself now annoyed at me because I was annoyed with "Well I'm not happy that you weren't in this morning". "I know, and I apologise for that", I said. What the fuck? What does me not being in have to do with him not bothered to tell me about this? It felt as if he had just picked it to somehow get one up on me.

I didn't like any of this one bit and I made it clear. I think the fact that I showed my annoyance instead of just rolling over annoyed him. But as I said, I have every fucking right to be annoyed at something like this.

He and Danny left the room after a while and I got on with moving any work over that I wanted to display into a folder they'd created. Brian came back in after about 20 minutes and sat next to me and attempted to sound more reasonable than he had been the first time. It also sounded more like he realised that I had put time and effort into what I had created. I simply said I understood, let him blabber on a bit and then he left again.

Very pissed off.

Daniel came in at about 12:40pm and of course the first thing I said to him was the fact that apparantly we couldn't use the website no more. He looked confused and I explained what Brian had explained to me. Daniel went to talk to Brian. He came back about 15 minutes later and pretty much said what Brian had said, but said that he disagreed with him and that he had nothing to do with it and that he too was annoyed that the website would now not be being used. We had a very long discussion. In the end, it was decided that in order to salvage the site, it would remain hosted on my server and we'd leave a few links to it at the exhibition. It's an absolutely shit idea but I was fed up arguing and Daniel was on my side.

Daniel got everyone to produce a montage of their work and it'll go on the exhibition site I designed. As I said, it's a crap thing to do, but meh, I don't care no more. That's what most of the lesson consisted of. I didn't do any work really, instead mostly just talking to Daniel about the design world in general and also looking at my theworkof.co.uk site.

At 4pm, everyone had done their montage and a short sentence or two about themselves. I'll put it all up over the weekend. No one was bothered about it though really, which pissed me off. The fact that no one was actually bothered about promoting themselves and trying to get recognised annoyed me, because why the hell are they on a multimedia course or any course for that matter if they're not going to be bothered about getting a job from it?

Tomorrow, we're all going to the Tate for the day to look at the "Summer of Love" exhibition, which deals with art of the 60's. I expect it'll be quite boring, since I'm not one for galleries. Daniel says he'll have some tasks for us to do though.

On my way home on the bus, I saw Laura getting on. I deliberately put my head down and pretended I didn't see her just to see if she'd say hi to me. She didn't. She actually walked right past me and sat somewhere to the back of the bus. How awful is that? While I'm not the most noticeable of people, I'm sure any one of you could notice your own brother/sister on a bus. She did it again too on the way off the bus, as she was going to get a stupid tan, one stop before I got off. I found it unbelievable that she totally ignored me.

comment