It's a good job I can type fast
My lack of diary entries has simply been because there hasn't been anything that eventful going on.

Tuesday was a fairly straight forward day, at least for the morning. All I was doing was writing up an evaluation for Tony's poster project. I also had/have to do one for Bronek, Daniel and Brian.

Lunch, I stayed in the class and carried on typing. After lunch, Tony wanted to see the poster I had been working on so far. He said it looked fine and that it "met the brief", but his enthusiasm about it was definitely muted and I could tell that really, he probably didn't like it. Neither did I really. Something was missing from it.

I never ask any of my tutors for much help namely because I never need it. I'm happy to get on with my work on my own but this poster was proving more difficult than first though, as this was now my fourth incarnation of it and it still didn't look right. Thankfully, Tony happily sat with me for a while, discussing what looked right and what didn't look right, suggesting things to try, which I did. He came back after a while and sat with me again and I appreciated it. By 4pm, my poster looked very different than three hours before. It looked better.

Bronek has a tutorial lesson with us on Tuesdays at 4pm. It usually lasts for about 45 minutes. But the last time we had a tutorial, it lasted 90 and we were all bored to death and just wanted to go home. It was because of this that when 4pm came, everyone decided to just go home and not wait for Bronek to turn up. Tony paniced for a moment, telling them that if Bronek has asked them to stay then they should, but no one would so he asked them to sign a piece of paper saying they'd left. I didn't leave, but only because Tony was still helping me. It was now 4:15pm and Tony could of easily said he was going home, but he was more excited about helping me with my poster than I was about it, which I appreciated.

While Bronek was supposed to begin the tutorial with us at 4pm, he didn't arrive in the class till 4:30. He looked surprised, as all he saw was me, Tony, Dylan and Ray. Everyone else had left.

"...Where is everyone?", he asked.
"They all went home", I said, "They didn't want to stay"
He sigh.
"You just go on a bit", I said to him and Tony gave a nervous laugh towards Bronek's direction, as if I had said something I shouldn't of. I wasn't trying to be insulting, it's just the truth. "Everyone gets bored", I continued.
"Well that's one thing I was going to talk to you about", he said. "I was going to get you to do some work"
"Were you going to talk to us about anything important?", I asked him. He didn't really answer. He seemed more depressed than perhaps annoyed or angry.
"When did they all go?", he asked.
"At 4"
"Didn't anyone come and try to find me?"
"Nope, no one wanted to stay"
"Well, I'm sorry", he said, "I'm sorry for being late, I'm sorry for being an underpaid tutor, I'm sorry for - what else can I be sorry for Tony?", he said in a half hearted joking voice.
"I'll go get you some razors", I said. He didn't really find it that funny. Anything less than polictically correct and Bronek's ready for a nervous breakdown.

Wednesday was pretty uneventful, if I can actually remember it rightly. Thursday was also pretty uninteresting, because I didn't go to college. I woke up at 2pm. I did however, do work once I was up. That work meant that I had now technically completed all parts of the project. I say technically, because there's plenty more I could of done if I had used the time properly.

Today wasn't exactly boring, but it wasn't very stimulating either. The morning was spent in 1/13, the room which I hate so much. For the first 30 minutes or so, I spent my time adding new work to my powerpoint presentation which I was to be giving later that afternoon. I was actually looking quite forward to the presentation now, as I had all required pieces of work to show. Infact, I had more than the required amount.

Around 9:40am, Bronek came in and talked to both me and Sean outside the class. He wanted us to do some stupid numeracy and literacy tests. It was a kind of blessing in disguise in a way, since 1/13 was getting really hot and I was more than willing to leave the room to do these tests if it meant that I could cool down a bit.

I used to really like maths, now I hate it. I suppose really, I can't actually do it. I mean, I can, but most stuff I would prefer to write my working out down or use a damn calculator. I hate division and percentages. I'd already taken a numeracy test too. Infact, I'd taken exactly the same numeracy test a few months ago, but after Bronek had given out the tests to both me and Sean, I began the numeracy one once again, but not before asking Bronek what time the presentations would be beginning this afternoon. Unfortunately, he said that they were now being held next Friday instead, as Brian couldn't attend. I was quite disappointed really. I've been wanting to get the presentation out of the way. I also want to show off my work to both the people in the class and my tutors as like I said, I never ask them for help so they've hardly seen my work at all. They've only seen glimpses of it.

About half way through the numeracy test and after I was beginning to get frustrated with the fact that admittedly, I couldn't answer some of the questions with ease, Bronek thankfully came in and said he had realised that I'd already done a numeracy test and didn't have to do it again. I got to work on the literacy one instead, which was very very easy. It was stuff like "Some shops are open on _____" with the four options being: mornings, afternoons, weeks, weekends.

I had that done in no time and went back to class to carry on with what I was doing. Daniel came over after a while. He wanted to see my animation. I didn't really want to show him, but did so without question. After watching, his only real response was "Ok. Yeah, good" which fucking annoys me because he says that to everyone. I don't want an "OK". I want either a "That's really good" in a surprised tone or a "I think you need to work on it more". Either would do, just not "OK"!

I also showed him a Flash animation which I have been creating over the past two days. It's a DEC advert for the tsunami disaster. I spent quite some time on it and I'm proud of how it looks. It's only 1:33 long, but real effort went into making it look how I wanted it to look. Daniel's reply after watching it? "OK, good"...

........meh.

He left me to do whatever after that and I continued by beginning to write Daniel's evaluation now feeling quite disappointed, as I didn't feel I got a good response from him about something that I was actually really proud of producing.

I got the evaluation written before the end of lesson and then it was lunch, which for the first twenty minutes, I spent sitting outside on my own just getting some fresh air. I then went to find Dylan in the library and talked to him for a bit, then we went back to class. This time, the evaluation I had to write was for Brian and this was the longest one, as it covered four different products. This took me pretty much all lesson to write up totalling over 3000 words when really, I think he only wanted 1000 at the most. I'm hoping he'll appreciate my attention to detail if nothing else.

According to both Bronek and Daniel, all work on this project has now finished and new stuff will be starting next week. I'm glad about that as this Biennial work was starting to get a little stale. However, I do have to write up Bronek's evaluation still and one for Tony, since it will have to be modified.

The next project will deal will typography and historical and contextual references. I love typography, I love learning about it so I'm hoping this project will be fun. Apparantly we'll be creating our own typeface, which I think will prove challenging. In addition, while a year ago I may of thought that reading up on different artists was boring, I find it both interesting and understand the importance of it now. This is why I've already started such research.

Jamie called me around 6:30pm tonight. He was asking if I was going the pub. He does it every Friday night. I appreciate him doing it actually, even though I say no every time and even though I say the same things to him every time as well. I just don't see the appeal of sitting there like they all do. I don't find pleasure in getting pissed and it's no fun sitting there sober when everyone around you is out of their minds because it makes you look even more dull than you are. If that's possible.

comment