My sketch book is now a sketch book
Last night I ended up doing one of the strangest things I've done in a while.

I signed up to a personals site a few months ago. It's a really small one, but it's free and free is good. About a week ago, someone messages me on it named Jen and then we began talking on MSN. Turns out she lives literally two roads away from me. We've flirted a bit over the days we've been talking or rather, of a night, since she works at a call centre all night and I talk to her on her break around 2am.

This is the conversation last night.

[23:34:43] jen | (8)look for the girl with a broken smile.. ask her if she wants to stay a while?.. and she will be loved... (8): not much lol, mite go for drve or sumthin
[23:35:00] Neil: Can I come? ;)
[23:35:12] jen | (8)look for the girl with a broken smile.. ask her if she wants to stay a while?.. and she will be loved... (8): yea if ya want lol
[00:09:52] Neil: See you in five minutes.
[00:09:57] jen | (8)look for the girl with a broken smile.. ask her if she wants to stay a while?.. and she will be loved... (8): ok

As you can see by the timestamp, it was just after 12 midnight and yes, I went to meet her, in her car five minutes later. Most definitely something I've not done before. There was a definite excitement factor in doing it. I don't usually get excited or nervous about meeting a girl, but this was both because of how we were doing it.

I only had to wait where I said I'd be waiting for her for about two minutes before she pulled up and I got in. We went for a drive. Nowhere special, just driving and talking. In retrospect, it's not really such a good idea, since usually if you're driving, you're driving to somewhere and driving just for the sake of driving somehow makes the conversation stunted. Still, we talked for a bit and then after about 30 minutes, she dropped me off by my house. Nothing happened, although I was tempted to kiss her as I was getting out. I didn't, though.

[00:53:25] Neil: Was kind of tempted to kiss you...
[00:53:34] jen | (8)look for the girl with a broken smile.. ask her if she wants to stay a while?.. and she will be loved... (8): ha ha
[00:53:55] Neil: But didn't think you wanted me to? Did you?
[00:54:22] jen | (8)look for the girl with a broken smile.. ask her if she wants to stay a while?.. and she will be loved... (8): hmm.. yup!

Least I know now for next time.

So yeah, it was a new experience.

Today, I've been a good little student and done lots of work in my sketchbook and sorted out all of my work, which I've put into a folder. I've also cleared out a chest of crap that I have nearby the computer. Now 50% less crap. My sketchbook actually looks like a sketchbook should now. It has sketches in and bits and bobs which I've glued in.

In addition, I've also been trying to make a poster for Tony's brief. It's my fourth attempt now to make one. I'm still not happy with it. It looks so amateur. I'm blaming it on the fact that I'm trying very hard to keep it completely vectored, but working in Illustrator is so difficult compared to Photoshop, as I've explained before. I can make things in half the time in Photoshop, but I want vectored artwork.

I'm guessing that even though I'll go to college on Tuesday, my presentation won't be till Thursday, which means that I've still got a few days to work on stuff. I'm happy about this.

The prequel to season four of 24 was on at 9pm. Cable is only in the living room now so I went downstairs to watch it, but Chris was sitting there and I felt too uncomfortable being in the same room as him so I went back upstairs. Great huh?

comment