Shocked
I don't usually comment on world events in my diary but my God, that tsunami...

My homepage is set to Yahoo and every day the top headline has been a bodycount, ever increasing in number. I've read the stories and I've been thinking about it every day since. Then, tonight, I watched the news in full about it and I swear, I was almost crying at the end of it. There was a report on after the main story. A British man, laying in a hospital bed with his wife sitting next to him, holding his hand. He told his story about how they were being washed away, but a boat came to rescue them. He managed to get his wife and his daughter on the boat, but being a big guy, he couldn't manage and he told them to just leave him. He broke down crying, as he talked, saying he didn't know how, but they managed to drag him onto the boat.

And right there, I felt like crying. I would of if it wasn't for the fact that I was in the living room where my mum and Laura were as well.

The story after that was about how there'd been an amazing response from the British public, raising �25 million in the past two days. My mum and Laura joked about how they didn't have enough to cope for themselves, let alone help others but after seeing this story, I knew I wanted to donate so I came online and a few minutes ago, I donated �15 to the crisis. I know it's not much, but maybe it will do some good. Maybe someone will get the blanket or the medicine they need because of it.

comment