Tired
Didn't go to college on Tuesday.

Wednesday was fairly average.

Thursday went to college as normal.

Today, I done the same. We were in 1/13 for the morning session doing logo development. It was basically getting some ideas down on paper for a logo which could represent me as a graphic designer. I found it quite hard, because in a working enviroment, you'd be given a company name and what that company does or sells. It's a lot harder to design for yourself.

By the end of the morning, I had completed a page of designs and over lunch, I expanded them further in the library. I don't eat lunch, or have anyone to go anywhere with, since I don't really hang around with anyone in my class.

I was in 1/24 at 1pm. I wasn't really in much of a mood for working, since I was feeling really tired. My eyes were hurting. Also, Macs have a higher gamma setting than PC's, which means that their screens are brighter and it really hurts my eyes compared with my own PC. A Mac is set to 1.8 in terms of gamma, whereas a PC is anything from 2-2.2. It makes a lot of difference.

I showed Daniel my work and he was happy enough for me to proceed with making some of the logos in Illustrator. I don't like Illustrator. I find it a little un-user-friendly. Things aren't where they should logically be. Still, I used it and created four logos over the course of the lesson.

At about 3pm, Bronek came to talk to us about our first brief, which we will be recieving after half term. I don't know why he felt the need to come and talk to us really, if he's not going to give it us yet. No one is actually bothered about what he has to say unless he's telling us to do something which he didn't.

I was sitting right by Bronek, while he was standing, talking to the class. I was falling asleep really, not particularly listening to what he was saying. I wanted to go home.

"Neil, have they told you what they voted on on Tuesday?", I suddenly heard him say, as he placed his hand on my shoulder. Slight panic set in as I quickly went through all of the possibilities. The tone of his voice was ominous. It was definitely something to do with me.
"...no?", I replied, looking around the room as everyone seemed to have a knowing smile.
"Ah thanks a lot you guys", Bronek said to them all in a joking manner. "Neil", he continued "Your fellow classmates had a vote on Tuesday and they decided that in their eternal wisdom that their good friend Neil should have the honour of being the class' student rep."

As he was talking, I was already going through the scenarios and had come up with that as the most likely one so I wasn't surprised when he said it. Infact, I was pretty damn happy about it.

"Ok", I said to him.
"So you're ok with it?", he asked me.
"Yeah, sure", I replied.
"Nice one, I knew you would be."
"So what do I do?"
"Well there's an introduction for the reps on November 5th. They'll tell you more about it."

And with that, he was off. I perked up slightly after hearing myself being elected for something. I felt quite good.

At break, I asked William what had happened on Tuesday. He said that Bronek had asked the class to vote on who they wanted to be the student rep and gave them 15 minutes to think about it. When he came back, according to William, everyone said "Neil" at the same time. Ha, what an ego boost. Felt good!

I realise it's not exactly being given a seat in Downing Street, but hey, I don't care. I've never had people show support for me like that before. It's nice to know that people believe in you and trust you.

Of course, the flipside of the coin is perhaps no one could be arsed doing it and they all decided "Meh, Neil's not here, let's put this on him". I like to think it was more like "We trust Neil and he's great", though.

It's half term next week. I'm glad. It means that I can catch up on some much needed sleep.

Also, Hana goes home from university for the week, which means I'll get to talk to her on MSN. I'm really glad about that. We've texted each other pretty much every day since she gave me her mobile number and it's been great that we've been able to keep in touch even though she doesn't have the Internet at university. I text her every morning on the train on the way to college and on the way home. It's fun. I don't know how I survived without a mobile now.

Strangely, while writing this paragraph Hana texted me. Yay.

comment