Bored
I've not had much to write about which is why there have been a lack of updates. That, and the fact that sometimes I just can't be bothered.

Friday was fairly good though, nice and easy day, while proving productive at the same time. The class went to see a film called Revenger's Tragedy. It was quite good for the first hour, but went downhill the second. As usual, I took notes throughout the film and after lunch, I had to write up another review like I had done last Tuesday for Land and Freedom. It could only be 200 words though, at most and while I'm happy with that, Bronek seems to make a point of telling us to include all kinds of information. Again, I'm happy to include whatever he wants, but you physically can't do it if you've only got so many words to work with.

I decided to do my review the way I had done so with Land and Freedom and wrote a 700 word one first, then I edited it and made it into a 400. I then edited it a final time and made it into the 200 one as requested.

While writing them, Daniel came over and wanted to talk to me about my lack of attendance. I said I was sorry and that my sleeping patterns have been really messed up lately. He began saying how if I'm working all night then maybe I should stop, but as I told him, that wasn't the case. He didn't seem to understand that my work and my sleeping patterns were not connected at all and really, it annoyed me that he wasn't really understanding my explanation. He asked me if I'd been the doctors to get anything to sleep. I said yes, though I haven't. I couldn't be bothered explaining my life away to him in the course of five minutes in a classroom full of people who I didn't want to hear.

He said that I had missed out on learning the basics of Flash so far, but I said that I already knew them, which I do. He left me alone after a while.

I called him over after I'd written my reviews and he wondered why I had created three different versions and I explained. While he read them, I carried on making some corrections and whatnot and after a while, he returned, saying that it was fine, save for a spelling mistake.

Bronek was outside the class and for some reason, Daniel went out to see him after reading my review. He took it with him. Maybe it's just wishful thinking, but I have a feeling Daniel was going to go show Bronek the review which I was glad of. At least it meant it wasn't crap.

Once Daniel returned, he asked me had I written the review for Land and Freedom. I said yes and I said I could show it to him so I did. After reading it, again, he said it was fine, then asked me some questions about my review and I explained to the best of my ability why I had said what I had in it. He then dribbled on about the whole Spanish Civil War (Which Land and Freedom was about) and I found him to be really boring. It's his tone of voice, it's just well, really monotonous.

It was 3:55pm and Daniel started to tell everyone to save their stuff on computer. I asked if I could go and left in a hurry, as I had decided that I was going to go watch Hero. After visiting the FACT centre twice in one week, I had accquired a taste for watching movies there, as it's not just a cinema, but simply an architerural wonder, which I love walking inside and around. I had been browsing on their website and noticed that Hero was showing at 4pm. The centre is only 10 minutes walk from college so by the time I got there, paid for my ticket and walked up the three flights of stairs, the film was only just beginning. Because it was pitch black in there to begin with, I fell twice on the stairs, since even though the film had started, it was just some white credits, not enough to illuminate the room enough for me to see the stairs. Bah.

Found a seat, sat down, and watched the film.

What a beautifully made film Hero is. Everything about that film is pretty amazing. It's like watching moving art. The colours are just so rich, while the effects compliment the acting perfectly. I didn't know that the film would be in subtitles, but this didn't bother me. Infact, it made it a better experience. The talks between the king and Unnamed were very interesting to watch and the fight scenes were great. The story itself was a little confusing, however, since there seemed to be many variations on what actually happened. One version for Unnamed, another for the king, etc. Still, like I said, beautifully made. Well worth my money to go and see it.

The weekend was pretty boring.

Sunday night I watched Battlestar Galactica - The Miniseries, which I had downloaded about a week ago in preparation for watching the series. It was supposed to be shown over the course of two nights, but I watched all three hours of it at once as if it were a movie. It was great. Really, really good. It most definitely exceeded my expectations and the series, which started on Monday, carried on where the miniseries left off. If it keeps up, it may well be in contention to be up there with the likes of SG-1.

Monday, I woke up with a really bad head. A migraine. It was a particularly bad one, too. All day I just stayed in my room, trying to fight it off as best as I could, but was failing miserably. Jamie called me around 9pm and, some of his first words were "Man, you sound down". "Yeah", I replied.

By 9:30pm, I went to bed, hoping that I'd feel well enough for college today, but it didn't happen. I must of woke up about five times throughout the night, unable to sleep due to the migraine. I eventually got up around 4am for an hour, before going back to sleep at 5am. I still couldn't get back asleep though and I knew that I wouldn't be going to college, even though I wanted to.

I slept all the way through till 6pm today because of my migraine. My mum asked me if I was OK once I had surfaced from my room. I said I was feeling better, but my head was still swirling slightly. Thankfully as of right now, I think it's gone.

I've completed four of the five football cards that Brian wanted me to design. I decided against doing all five, as one didn't look that good even as a drawing. Of the four that I've created, I like two. Hopefully he will too.

Oh, that's something I forgot to say. It seems Stan has had the Internet for years and he's never told me! Not only that, but he has MSN too! We talked online a few days ago. Jamie too now has MSN so it's cool being able to talk to my friends online. It's much easier for me than the phone. Dave also has the net, but he's hardly ever on.

Dave invited me out on Friday but I said no. I don't have the money, nor do I really feel like doing so anyway. I'm in a really crap mood lately that I can't get out of.

comment