Bored
SUCH A BORING DAY IN COLLEGE.

Very, very boring.

When I got to town, I stopped off as usual at Sayers for my breakfast. Abigail came in a few minutes later, since I'd told her that I come in there every morning

"I'm sorry about the mouse thing", she said, sitting down.
"You'll only do it again", I told her. I was still quite annoyed with her for doing it. Or not doing it, rather.

After breakfast we walked up to college. The morning's lesson consisted of basically looking on the internet for some information, along with a few pictures. That was an entire lesson, just doing that. How pathetic.

However, I didn't do this. Instead, because three new people joined the course since I last wrote down the list of names, Bronek asked me if I'd mind helping one of them out and showing him how a Mac works and how to use Photoshop. I didn't mind. I enjoy helping people.

After five minutes of that, Bronek came over to see how things were progressing. I told him that I'd completed the introduction to Photoshop he'd asked for and showed it to him. He seemed impressed, but it's hard to tell whether it's a "I must look impressed because i'm obligated to show encouragement" or "This is actually really good". I sided with the latter, as he said that "if you keep producing work like that, this is gonna be a breeze for you".

Since I was helping this new guy out, I decided that since I'd spent time writing out that manual I might as well let someone use it. The new guy's name is Kaiesh or some other spelling. It's pronounced as Kayesh, though. Just like EVERY OTHER PERSON ON MY COURSE, he doesn't have any knowledge of how to use Photoshop or any other multimedia programs and just about knows how to use a computer.

I made me feel proud that I'd spent the weekend writing out the booklet and now someone was using it to learn Photoshop, along with my own advice while sitting next to him. You could see it in his eyes, the way they lit up when he done something he thought was cool.

I spent most of the morning doing that, before talking to Bronek for ten minutes at the end of the lesson. We were talking about my lack of things to do, since i'm so in front of everyone. Bronek is understanding, but he doesn't really do anything to address the problem. I know it's great that it's all about equal oppurtunities and stuff, but sometimes that works against you. It's working against me.

He asked me how long it'd taken me to create the manual. I said a few hours in total.

He said that "no one else in here could do that".
"Oh come", I said, "Yeah they could. That's just basic stuff."
"No, Neil, they couldn't. Maybe in six months, but not right now."

You see what kind of class i'm in? I'm so eager to get going on a brief, but it's not happening.

Lunch was spent talking to Kaiesh outside for a bit, before talking with Abigail, Alex and Will, then seeing Jamie, Mike and the other Mike and talking to them for a while.

After lunch, I had my lesson with Tony which proved to be even more boring than the morning lesson.

All the class were doing was using the selection tools in Photoshop to create a face made up of fruit all on one picture. Simply selecting the fruit and manipulating it to make this stupid face. I'd done exactly the same thing this time last year with Tony and he knew that I was capable of a hell of a lot more than it so he didn't bother downloading the picture to my computer, which I appreciated. However, I then said that I suppose I'd have to do it just so Bronek won't moan about me not doing it.

Within five minutes, I'd done it.

It took the class the next 90 minutes. And i'm not exaggerating at all, sadly. Oh how I wish I was.

So, while everyone was sitting there with puzzling expressions and whatnot, I was sitting there purposefully looking bored as hell.

I ended up creating a wallpaper in Photoshop with "Introducing BOREDOM" on it. Heh, Tony seen it after a while and he thought it was amusing, but said "now what if I didn't have a lot of confidence and seen that?". He made me feel bad, so I changed it to "Introducing NO MORE BOREDOM". Same message I wanted to get across about how I was currently feeling, though. I kept it set as the wallpaper for all to see.

At 3pm, the rest of the class finally finished this pathetic task and we moved onto the next one which was quick masking. For those that don't know, it's basically a very accurate way to select things. Again, I had completed it within five minutes. It took them an hour.

I sat there, looking away from the screen around the room, wanting to claw my eyes out from boredom. Tony could see that I was struggling with it and apologised about it.

FINALLY 4pm came and I was out of that room as quick as possible.

I really don't know why i'm coming to college just now. I mean, i'm not learning anything. I'm just paying out money which I can't afford to do so three times a week to sit in college from 9-4pm being bored. It's not like I even have my friends to talk to no more to keep me entertained. Everyone on my course now is just childish and immature. Either that, or just not Neil-type people like my friends are. Abigail, Alex and Will seem the most immature and it's depressing really, that I don't have anyone on the course who I can really get along with. Maybe I'll get closer to people as the weeks go on, though. I mean, there are some who seem like nice people, Sean for one. Tom would be another.

Came home, went to bed, got up an hour later, watched TV, came on here.

Exciting? I think not.

comment