Pleased
Bah. I've just lost half a diary entry and now you're going to get the short version of the first half I've just written.

College. Tutor surprised by my completion of ID cards less than 24 hours after he set the task. Tutor tells me to do more because he's not got nothing else for me to do. I get pissed off. Help others instead.

I asked Daniel if he could give me something more challenging than these stupid ID cards. He said he didn't have nothing for me to do now, but by next week he would.

The long version was 7 paragraphs long and made more sense. Blame Windows for being stupid.

Now, I'll continue where I left off.

Just before lunch, I showed Daniel my Omega poster and Jaka Wild. Wow, that guy is almost as bad as Ed. He just kind of went "Oh, right". And left it at that. Bah.

I sat outside college with Raymond. We didn't really say much, but we did chat a little. There was this one girl standing by the doors of the college who I couldn't take my eyes off. You could tell she was waiting for someone. She looked bored. I wanted to go and talk to her, but of course, I'll be damned if I know how to do that kind of thing.

Half way through lunch, Raymond wanted to use the computers in the library so that's where we went. I said I'd be back in a minute and decided to call Stan because I had decided that I wasn't going to go out tonight. I was just so damn tired. I stood by the stairs, looking out onto the area just outside collge, admiring the girl I had been doing so before. She left after a while, seemingly pleased, after she got a call. I watched her walk by and then she was gone.

A few minutes later after me standing there, Bronek came up the stairs and we said hi. I think he could tell by my whole attitude over the time he's known me (which is only a day, really, so far) that I was finding the whole introduction to computers and digital art very, very boring.

"Don't worry, it'll get more challenging", he said, trying to perk me up.
"Heh", I replied, "I just need something more to do. Something that I find a challege. You said that you were going to give me something when I asked you on Tuesday. You said that you would on Thursday, but you never did."

He thought for a second, before saying "I tell you what, it won't be challening for you, but it'd help me out a lot. Would you write an introduction to the Mac for me? You know, just the basic stuff and lay it out right and..."
"Yeah, whatever", I said, interrupting him, as he was about to go down the line of how I should design it, when I already know.
"If you do that then I'll make a note of it and...yeah. Yeah, I'll make sure that it counts for something."

Fair enough. Easy credit.

I went to wait outside the Mac room after that. This room is a lot nicer to be in.

About five minutes before we were due back, Bronek appeared again, unlocking the Mac room door to get his coat, only to lock it again. He said he couldn't let us in incase anything went missing and that it'd be his arse on the line if something did.

After he'd locked the door again, he walked off, only to then come back a minute later.

"I tell you what", he said to me, "do it on Photoshop". "Yeah, that's more suitable for you isn't it?"
"Yeah", I replied, unenthusiastically.
"Thanks for that Neil", he said and walked off.

Once Daniel arrived and we were let into the classroom, I didn't really want to do any more work with these stupid ID cards and for most of the hour, had Photoshop open, but hardly used it. Looking at the screen was giving me a headache. I was so very bored and because of that, that made me feel worse too. After an hour of sitting there, while I got annoyed at everyone for being slow, I told Daniel that I had a headache and I was going home. He seemed quite concerned but I said I'd be fine. I said goodbye to everyone and left.

I made my way down to the station and caught the train. After three minutes on it, I suddenly realised that I'd forgotten my mouse! Damnit. The train was pulling into the next station and I thought quickly about whether or not to get off the train and catch one back into town to go and collect my mouse. I decided against this though, thinking that if I did do that, then I'd have to walk for another 20 minutes up to college, then Daniel would be suspicious about why I was still in town if I didn't feel well, and then I'd have another journey back to the station.

I called Abigail to ask her to make sure she picked my mouse up, but after two calls to her and a voicemail, I then remembered that she didn't even have her phone on her.

I called Stan, hoping he was still in college.

"Hi Stan, please tell me you're still in college"
"No mate, not now"
"Damnit. I needed to ask you a really big favour"
"What do you need?"
"I was going to ask you if you'd go and get my mouse from the Mac room and drop it off to Laura in the shop."
"Wait, you've left your mouse?"
"Yeah, I bring my own"
"No can do. I think I've broken my ankle or sprained it or something so I probably won't be in college for the next week or so. I can't walk"
"*sigh* ok then"

So, that was my first idea gone.

For the remainder of the journey home, I started thinking of ways to get my mouse back, or at least safe, as I knew that if I didn't have it, that the next chance I had to pick it up was Tuesday when I go to college again and in that time it would be likely to be stolen, since my mouse is a hell of a lot better than any in college.

Once in Kirkby and in a cab home, I called Jamie and repeated my conversation that I'd just had with Stan. Jamie said he wasn't in college either and now I was panicing because I was running out of ideas.

Of course, i'm sure you're all saying "It's just a mouse, no big deal", but without my mouse, I can't use my computer properly and if I can't do that, then i'm kind of stuck for things to do at home. Not only that, but as I said, my mouse is a damn good one. Plus it cost me �35 which is a lot of money to me.

Once home, I found the number for college. I thought that if I could get a hold of Daniel and tell him to tell Abigail to drop it off to Laura then that would be great. However, when I called the college, it was engaged. No big deal, I tried again. Still engaged. I tried again, five, ten, fifteen minutes later. Still engaged. Every number for college was engaged. So, I called a completely different college to see if they could put me through.

"Hello, can I help you?", someone said, with a really friendly voice.
"Hiya, i'm trying to get through to the Arts Centre but.."
"Ah yes. All of their lines are down currently i'm afraid. They're working on it now but don't know when they'll be back up. If it's urgent then your best bet is to go there yourself."
"Ahh ok then, thanks a lot"

While sitting in front of my computer with the phone in my hand, I realised that Abigail was showing as online on MSN. Using the keyboard only, I opened up a message window to her and asked if she was there and she was. I told her that I'd left my mouse there. She laughed, saying it was my own fault for leaving early. I asked her would she be so kind as to get it and drop it off at Furniture Gone Mad to Laura.

To my surprise, she said no.

After asking why, she said that she wasn't going to be going anywhere near the shop for quite a while after college, as she was meeting some friends. I told her it would only take 15 minutes to go there, drop it off and go back. She said no and said I should ask Alex, who was also online. I asked her to ask him for me, since he was fucking sitting two computers from her. Regardless, I asked him myself.

[15:18:38] We Cannot have This Behaviour In This Establishment! Just Leave It! Dont Touch Me! Dont.. Look .. Im Alright Dont Touch Me!: skive
[15:19:00] We Cannot have This Behaviour In This Establishment! Just Leave It! Dont Touch Me! Dont.. Look .. Im Alright Dont Touch Me!: no
[15:19:24] Neil: Why?
[15:19:34] We Cannot have This Behaviour In This Establishment! Just Leave It! Dont Touch Me! Dont.. Look .. Im Alright Dont Touch Me!: dont want to
[15:19:58] Neil: If you're going down Bold Street anyway, then what is stopping you from dropping it off for me?
[15:20:41] * We Cannot have This Behaviour In This Establishment! Just Leave It! Dont Touch Me! Dont.. Look .. Im Alright Dont Touch Me! is now Offline

Now is it just me, or is that just downright unfriendly? Both him and Abigail refused to do me a simple favour when that's all it was. Simple. It's not like it required a great deal of effort on their part and if they asked me to do it, I would of done it without question, BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT FRIENDS DO. I'm pretty fucking annoyed at both of them for not doing it, especially Abigail, as I've known her longer. One simple favour and she refuses. Plus Alex as well. Great huh?

So, that idea was gone too. This meant that I had no communication left with anyone in college and no way to make sure my mouse would be safe.

About 15 minutes later, Jamie called me.

"Hey dude, i'm heading into town so I can pick your mouse up if you want"
"Ah! You're a good man!", I said, extremely appreciative and in his debt.
"Yeah, no probs"
"Thanks a lot. Just drop it off at the shop for me"
"Yeah will do. Talk to you later man"

You see? Now THAT is a friend. Even though he was going into town regardless, he didn't have to call me and tell me that and he didn't have to offer to go pick it up, but he did because he's a good friend, like my other friends from my previous course are. Good friends. All of them. I feel lucky to have them.

Because I wasn't sure if Abigail would at least pick it up and take it home for safe keeping for me, this meant that when Jamie got to college, it may well not be there and therefore, I'd still have no mouse. So, I called Laura to let her know that Jamie may be coming in the shop, but if he didn't, I told her to go and buy a cheap mouse for me and then when I go back to college on Tuesday, I could get my money back on it.

An hour later or so, I called Jamie again.

"Hiya"
"Hey man, I got your mouse and gave it to your sister"
"Ahh nice one!"
"So now you owe me one!"
"Yeah, I definitely do, thanks for doing it"

Jamie officially rocks.

With the knowledge that my mouse would be on its way home within the hour, and the fact that I was very tired, I went to bed and sure enough, when I woke up at 7:30pm, was waiting on my stairs. Yay.

When I next talk to Abigail online or otherwise, i'm going to be very pissed off with her for not doing it for me. And I hope that if she ever asks me for a favour, she'll think of this occasion when I say no to her. But then, I won't say no, because i'm not like that and i'm WILLING TO HELP people when they're in need of it.

comment