Frustrated
So yeah. Went to college today and was foolish enough to wear a long sleeve tshirt when it's so very hot these days. I didn't have anything else to wear. By the time I got to college the sweat was absolutely pouring off me.

Outside the multmedia room, waiting for Brian to arrive was Stan. I said hi to him. Shortly after, Leanne and Fisher appeared.

The main reason I had gone to college was so that I could hand in my work for the FMP. the only thing that I needed to do was staple my corporate manual together. I don't own a stapler so it had to wait until today to do it. I went to the multmedia office to find a stapler. In there was Brian. I said hi to me and asked if he had a stapler, interrupting myself when I saw one laying on the desk. However, it was too small to reach the middle of the booklet. Brian then searched for a bigger stapler, which was still too small and being the kind of guy who will never be beaten, tried desperately to stapler this booklet together for me. He failed, however and my search for a stapler went on.

My next port of call for one was the library. Again, it wasn't big enough. I then went to the Student Services offices. They had two. Neither of them big enough. Infact, throughout the college, they all seemed to be using exactly the same staplers, which I suppose is normal, but my god, how hard is it to get something stapled!

I went back to the multimedia room, defeated and began converting all of my work I've been doing over the past year into jpg and putting it into a folder for Brian to assess. After a short stint of doing that, I then got my FMP work and mounted work, along with the corporate manual and headed to give it to Ed. Brian was going out the room too and I managed to catch up to him to show him my mounted work. "Excellent mate", he said. That's like his little catchphrase. He always says that.

"If you don't get a distinction mate on my course next year...", he said.
"What, you're gonna kill me?", I joked.
"No mate, it's your choice but you're easily capable of it"

He got stopped by another student and I carried on up to Ed.

Strangely, Brian was in there. I wondered just how the hell he had managed to get there before me. I've just remembered though that there's doors to the 2nd floor at the back of the college which he must of used and I used the front doors which is the long way, at least to where Ed was.

I opened up the piece of A2 to show Ed my work.

Not even a 'yeah, that's nice'.

Instead, the first thing out of his mouth was "Folded...", in a slightly disgusted tone. As a matter of fact, it was not folded, but just rolled as little as possible so it could actually fit into my portfolio.

"Why didn't you get yourself some card?", he asked me.
"Because I'd already spent �22 on ink to print everything out and I wasn't going to spend more money on card."
"Could of used any old card"

For fuck's sake Ed! I do not fucking have 'any old card' laying about the house. ESPECIALLY at A2 size. My god that man is incapable of actually being supportive of the fact that I've DONE THE FUCKING WORK and to a standard that's higher than what is required. And he's like this with every single person. It's awful. He doesn't say 'well done' or 'good work' or any fucking supportive thing to anyone!

Christ almighty he annoys the fuck out of me.

I asked him if he had a large stapler for my corporate manual, which he didn't.

"Just leave it with the rest of your work. Put a note with it saying it needs to be stapled", he said.
"So are you gonna staple it for me and stick it on (to the A2 sheet)?"
"No, you can do that when you come back after half term"

You see?! He won't even fucking staple something together because it might actually mean he's being HELPFUL AND SUPPORTIVE for once.

I went back to class and on the way, met Claire. She gave me a hug. I asked how she was and stuff and then she said she had to go to class so we said goodbye. That girl is so cute. Her voice alone is so sweet.

Back in class, I carried on coverting everything to jpg, talking to people as I was doing it. It was a very quiet day really. Everyone was concentrating on converting all of their stuff. I then remembered such a simple way to convert everything so much quicker in Photoshop and Illustrator - Actions!

Actions are prerecorded sets of instructions that are designed to help you speed up batch processing things. For example, I needed to save a PSD document as a JPG and save it to a specific file and I had a lot of files to do. Doing them all seperately takes so much time, so instead, I made an action and within a few minutes, I'd done them all so much quicker. I asked anyone if they wanted me to show them how to do it, but they either weren't bothered, or had already done what they needed to do. I did however, show Jamie, who had at least 20 things to save. Just say each one takes 15-20 seconds to save to where you want it as a JPG, that's 10 minutes of doing nothing but saving things, whereas with the use of the action, they're all done in less than 30 seconds. He was amazed and thankful.

Alan came to see me half way through the lesson and he gave me a project to do over the half term in order to satisfy the key skills. Basically just take 10 shots of the same thing on two different settings and then when I get back to college, do some developing and write a report about it. Sounds easy enough.

Brian said that he had to go to a meeting at 3pm and he basically let us all go straight after we'd finished doing the converting. I took the time to wait for him to be available at the end when everyone was going to show him the Ignite Design website.

I shouted over to him to come have a look.

"What do you think of this?", I asked him, and he walked over. "I decided to make Ignite Design an entire site"
"He knelt besides where I was sitting and took a look through it. You could see his eyes light up as he was clicking."
"This is excellent mate...Oh, I like that. Yeah, this is great. I'm gonna have some work for you next year mate."

I just assumed he meant challenging coursework. But then he said "Yeah, I'll have work for you", in a very affirmative voice. For some reason it made me think that perhaps he was referring to actual clients who may be interested in what I was doing. It'd be nice if he did mean that.

I said goodbye to him and me, Dave, Claire, Fisher and Jamie headed into town.

We all went into a shop together and me, Jamie and Dave were walking behind Fisher and Claire. I have to say, it was a nice view. Claire is a big fan of wearing her pants so low that her thong shows. And it looks even better from behind. Seriously, her pants are way past her hips! I'm amazed they actually stay up on her. I'm sure she has every intent to get people to actually look. And I am definitely one of the people who looks, along with the rest of my friends. She knows it.

Me and Dave headed to the train station and said goodbye to those three.

"Now", Dave said, "If we're lucky, you'll get to meet one of my fine friends, Terry. I think you'll agree that she's very nice."
"Oh, it's a she? I just heard you say Terry"
"How many guy friends do you think I call fine?", he said joking.

However, my train arrived within a few minutes so I didn't get to meet this fine lady he was on about. But, as my train began to speed out of the station, I caught Dave talking to a girl who, although it was only a quick glimpse did indeed look very attractive.

Back home and for the next week, I have no college, for it is half term. I'm gonna call Dave and the rest perhaps to see if they want to do something some time. They're apparantly doing the same thing they done last week and going the AJ's and then Le Bateux's which is (according to Jamie), an excellent club. He was talking about it in multmedia, or rather, talking about the fact that I don't go clubbing.

"Hey Neil, my mate right, he'd never gone out before and he was really quiet and stuff like you and then he went out and now he goes every week!", he said to me.

I feel so tempted to go out with them when they offer. But I just get scared and end up not doing so. There's not even that much time left on the the course either and this will be the only time when we're actually altogether on one course, as next year, i'm the only one who's taking multmedia. The rest are doing graphics or something completely different. We'll all still be in the same college, but not the same classes, which will mean we'll talk less.

I DO want to go out with them to a club. I really do. I'm just so scared to do so.

To end on a bright note, I talked to Katie before. She said that she may be coming to Liverpool next month if she has the money to do so. That's such good news because it means that I'll get to see her! I've not see her since February of last year. Such a long time.

In case anyone's curious, no one did actually email me requesting that I send them a Furnian. I didn't really think anyone would. Still, the offer is open. Well actually, one person did and I may send one to him, but he's in the Netherlands and god knows how much postages will be. However, I may do so anyway since i'm kind like that!

And one final thing, why did so many people attempt to look at this pic in such a small space of time? Take a look at this. 16 requests for the image in the space of under an hour. Why? I'm just curious. I know one of you must have the answer. I know at least 9 or 10 of you are responsible for actually viewing the pic, so do tell!

comment