Disappointed
After going to bed at a ridiculous 6:30am or so, I found myself waking up at 10:45am because of my alarm, ready to go to college. However, since I hadn't had that much sleep, I ended up turning my alarm off and getting back in bed. Not good. I ended up sleeping till 12:20pm. My lesson started at 1pm. It takes 40 minutes to get there and I wasn't even out of bed yet.

I lay there thinking whether I should or not go, now that I was late. After ten minutes of thinking time, I decided that I had no option but to do so, so I could show Brian my work. Also, since I don't currently have Illustrator (graphics program), this was another reason why I had to go in.

A small sidenote is the fact that the ticket inspector who pulled me up yesterday was on the barrier again today. Today, however, I did buy a ticket, just for this situation. I went to a different ticket inspector, but I think I'll always remember his face now, every time I see him.

I managed to get there around 1:30pm or something like that. Usually, when someone is late for Brian's lesson, he tells them that they're not allowed to come in and come back after break. I walked in to the classroom, knowing this

"Hiya Brian, I know i'm late, so I'll come back at break", I said to him, since I knew this was what he was going to say.
"Oh no mate! Sit down, you're alright", he replied, to my surprise.
"You sure?", I asked.
"Yeah, of course!"

Nice.

I said hi to everyone and they were busy working on their webjournals. While I talked to them for a while, Brian was going around everyone, making sure they were ok and then he got to me.

"Right, what I'd like you to do is your webjournal", he said to me.
"I've done it"
"You've done it? Excellent. You got it with you?"
"Yeah, it's online"

So I showed him it and it was very pleased with it, even though it did have some errors due to the Mac/PC browser differences and whatnot. Since it did have errors, he wanted me to fix them, but I couldn't, since I didn't have the original files with me. Instead, most of my time in the lesson was spent either talking to my mates or helping them out with their webjournal. When one of them asked Brian for help and he was busy, Brian would ask me to go help them and I was happy to.

Ed also came to visit us after a while, in specific, me, to see if I wanted to still do the Key Skills after this project. I said yes. He said that it meant more work, but it's just Key Skills. Shouldn't be a problem. It's only going to be one essay or something for English, some evidence of application of number and IT skills. Nothing hard. What he did say, however was that I should only sign the agreement form if I absolutely planned on doing it, because if the marker picks my name and then he doesn't see any of the work that I was supposed to of done, apparantly, the whole class fails as a result of it.

No pressure then!

I also learnt that the deadling for this project is next Thursday, not Monday, which gives me a few more (much needed) working days to get it all done. It's coming along, but I have to do six weeks work in 7 days. It's cutting it very fine. Another thing which Ed mentioned is that I don't have any 'art history' side to my project which is apparantly very important. In other words, my project must be influenced by an art movement. Mine isn't. So, I have to work backwards and find an art movement which at least looks vaguely like I could of been influenced by it. No one will know!

One thing Ed is so very NOT good at is encouragement and praise. To anyone. I was really pleased with my business cards that I had created, along with the Ignite card logos. I had shown them to my mates and they all agreed they looked great and yet when I showed them to Ed, his response was so...lacking. You show Brian something and he'll say 'Yeah, looks good that'. You show Ed something and he'll say 'Ehh...'. It's really not a nice enviroment to work in when you lack the encouragement which everyone needs now and again. Everyone agrees that Ed is a terrible tutor when it comes to this. Even other tutors.

I had wanted to show Brian a few other things besides my webjournal, but the time seemed to go by incredibly quickly and before I knew it it was 4pm and time to go back home. I asked him if there was any way I could stay longer, since I really needed to stay on the machine, working in Illustrator. Sadly, he said no, as he had to go. I think he was just tired. He looked it. I gave him a quick look of the CD cover but he wasn't too interested really. I don't blame him if he's tired.

So, off I went home again.

Once back, I came on here for a while. I talked to Mairead at 5pm, but it was only for a very short time, since she said that she was going out, but I assumed she'd be back later as she usually is.

Around 11pm, I was wondering why she hadn't come on, when we had arranged to meet tomorrow. We had yet to confirm the times and place so she needed to be on. I text her, asking if we were meeting. No reply.

Around 12am, I got a call from her.

"Hello?"

"HIYAAAAAAA. I am totally wasted!"

Yup, she'd been the pub and was now very drunk. I listened to her walking back to her house with her friends. I didn't really say much to her. I was a bit surprised that she had called, as I've not actually had a conversation on the phone with her yet.

In the middle of our first 'coversation', the phone suddenly went dead on her end. I assumed that she would phone back but she didn't. I text her again, 30 minutes later asking her to come online, but again, no answer. So, once again, meeting Mairead is off.

The rest of the night has been spent doing more work on my project. I've been enjoying doing it too.

It's now 5:47am and I've just realised I haven't eaten since 7:20pm last night so I think I'll go and do that now.

I think i'm getting a cold.

Oh, click here for the webjournal.

comment