Excited
Yesterday, after waking up at around 5pm, I heard Laura getting ready to go out to go and see my mum and I'd realised that I'd woken up extremely late, probably missing Paul's phonecalls in the process. I got up and got ready quickly to go with her, but she said she was going to be going on the bus and I really can't stomach the bus for any longer than a few minutes. It makes me feel *extremely* sick. I mean to the point of throwing up. So that was definitely a no. I asked her to go on the train and then get a cab from the train station, but she was insistent on getting the bus.

Instead, I decided to ring my nana and ask her when she was going to be going to see my mum again and she said tomorrow (today) and I said I'd go with her.

When Laura got back, I asked her how my mum was and she said she looked really bad. She said that she was ok, but she looks ill. I knew that I had to go and see her and I guess I did want to after hearing how unwell she was.

Another hint of bad news was the fact that Sarah has decided she doesn't want to see me again. Apparantly she's getting back with her boyfriend. I was kind of looking forward to seeing her today. I can't say i'm devastated, but yeah, i'm disappointed, as I did like spending time with her. I can't really blame her for ending things. I'm used to it anyway. Every girl I've gone out with has ended things with me. Nothing unusual. I take that back actually, i'm not used to it. It hurts every time. Maybe not so much this time, but very much so in the past.

Anyway...

Also of note last night was the fact that things got moving on this birthday of mine. I decided to start calling everyone to see if they wanted to come.

I rang Stan to begin with. At this point, the plan was still to ask Jamie for a party at his and I told Stan this. He gladly offered to call Jamie himself and ask him on my behalf to which I accepted. He called me back a few minutes later, saying Jamie had said no to a party. Fair enough. I mean, I can completely understand him saying no. I'd probably say no too if someone wanted to hold a party here.

So now that plan B was out of the window it was on to plan C. Plan C was dicussed at length with Dave over MSN and it was decided that there were to be three parts to it. A meal, the cinema and then the pub and that sounded pretty good to me. So then I rang Stan back and I gave him the details. I said I'd ring him on Tuesday to make sure he was still coming.

Next up was Jamie. He said he was just talking about me to Stan and I said that I completely understood about not wanting a party at his place. I gave him the details and also invited his girlfriend, Danielle. He said he wasn't 100% sure if he was coming, since he didn't know if he could get the money to do so but he said he'd try.

Next up was Claire. I've never even talked to Claire on the phone before and I've only really known her properly for a day or two. Stan gave me her number and I was very determined to invite her. So, I went ahead and called her. She has such a lovely voice! She asked me how I was and I asked her how she was. She told me that her and her friends had seen Sarah and that her friends and Sarah's friends knew each other. She asked me if I was going to be bringing her on Wednesday and I told her that she'd ended things and she sounded really sympathetic and told me she'd give me lots of hugs and kisses on Wednesday. Yay!

Then it was Fisher. As I looked for his number in my little list of numbers, I thought to myself that I only knew his first name; Fisher, but then I remembered that that IS is surname. His first name is Andrew. No one ever calls him Andrew though. He was completely cool about it all when I told him he just agreed to it and in about 60 seconds I was off the phone to him.

So, at this point I had Stan, Jamie, Fisher, Claire and Dave coming, along with Jamie's girlfriend Danielle and possibly Angela, who is a girl that Dave is completely obsessed with. He's also apparantly bringing two of his mates. Glenn and 'Wozza'. That's ten people including me! Excellent.

I was on a high for the next few hours after organising all of it. I was and still am incredibly excited.

That was the highlight of my night. Sorted out my birthday plans. I've never actually had birthday plans before, as you can see from this entry last year. This could quite possibly turn out to be THE best birthday I have EVER had.

I ended up going to bed around 6:30am, knowing full well I had to get up at around 12pm to get ready to go see my mum with my nana.

Morning came and I felt like staying in bed. If it wasn't for the two phones that my nana made to actually get me out of bed, I doubt I would of. I fell back asleep when my alarm went off. I got up, got ready and went round to my nana's, which is only round the corner and we got a cab to the hospital to see my mum.

I wasn't feeling well in the cab. I've not been feeling well for the past month or so. I've been feeling very dizzy every day. I think it's because i'm not eating right. Only one meal a day usually. I just don't have the appetite to eat anything more. I feel like I need to eat, but I feel like I don't want to. Like there's some sort of fight between my stomach and my brain.

When we got to the ward, as we walked through the corridoor I noticed some black and white photos on the walls in frames. I took great pleasure in seeing these, as they were pretty damn good. I wish I could remember the damn name of the photographer. It was underneath each of the photos. When we got to my mum's bed, she wasn't there. The woman next to her bed said she'd gone the toilet so we waited. After a few minutes, I saw her walking back to the ward. VERY slowly. My god, she looked bad. She had one hand on her stomach as she walked, taking very small steps towards us and sat down with great effort.

I didn't really say much. I didn't know what to say. I just sat there really, letting her and my nana talk about stuff like how the weather was like and talking in great detail about how much the cab fare was and what my nana had for tea last night and various other things of that nature.

My nana told my mum that Paul had given her his mobile number, but that it was wrong. My mum had the correct number so my nan gave me a piece of paper to write it on, which was actually a makeshift business card that belonged to Paul. He works for himself and his nephew, doing breakdown assistance. I found myself immediatly looking at the 'design' of the card and I knew I could easily do better. I wanted to design him some nice business cards instead of what he had. It'd be very good experience for me, and it'd also give me some credit my college work I think if I done it by the book. For the next 15 minutes or so, I was content staring at this business card, working out how I'd design it, while my mum and my nana talked.

One thing that was good news was that although my mum is still really bad, they said that she could come home tomorrow. They first wanted to see whether she could pass water ok before they allowed her to go home and for a while she couldn't but she said she had today so they'll probably let her come home tomorrow.

Another thing I heard her say to nana was the fact that she began to bleed in surgery and that for a while, the surgeons were worried. They couldn't stop the bleeding for a while apparantly. Something to do with her hormones.

After about 90 minutes we left. Since we're pretty low on food, I decided to do some shopping in town before going home. My nana got the bus with me into town, before getting another bus home. She said she'd come shopping with me but that she can't walk round much. She gave me a hug and a kiss and said goodbye and then I went to Tesco to get food.

I actually like shopping for food. It means I can get exactly what I want. I was in there for about twenty minutes or so, before coming home.

On the train home, I was thinking about my birthday and then it dawned on me that I hadn't actually booked a table at the restaurant! Duh.

When I got home, I told Laura how my mum was and that she may be coming out tomorrow and then decided to ring the restaurant to book a table. I thought I might have to pay some sort of deposit, but he just asked for my name, how many people and what time and that was it. Nice and easy.

So if everyone turns up, that'd be 10 people.

I then thought about inviting all of Laura's friends too and I thought why the hell not! So, I asked Laura if she wanted to come, but she said she wasn't sure, since she's in work. She said maybe. I asked her to call her friends anyway and see if they wanted to come.

First up was Sarah. She said that she'd come if Laura did. Secondly was Tony, who I called and he said sure. I also rang Kelly and she was completely up for it too. Laura's going to ring Tracy later.

So, if both my friends, my friend's friends, and Laura's friends come we're looking at about 15 people!

Now THAT'S a birthday.

comment