Disappointed
So yesterday I went to Manchester for an exhibition of Peter Saville's artwork. Apparantly he's a really famous artist who set up Factory Records, along with a club called the Hacienda. He's done work with New Order and various bands. But yeah, that's who I went to see.

Got to the station at 9:50am and thankfully saw everyone else there too. It felt strange being with my friends in a setting other than college. I've never done it before with them. It felt strangely nice. At 10:20am, we caught the train and for the majority of the ride, I found myself talking to Brian and his colleague about how I disliked Peter Saville's work. I'm glad that the conversation did ensue, since it's an hour to get there and there's not much else you can do but talk. It seemed to go over a lot quicker because we were talking.

The exhibition was your standard pictures on wall/things in boxes. Some of it was interesting, but after thirty seconds of looking at it I was ready to move on. We got given a worksheet with two questions on it which required us to use some of Saville's work in a new way. I done some doodles, but that's about it. After two hours, it was finally time to go, but before we did, I managed to get to go on the second floor. It was so much more interesting up there! A lot more hands on. It didn't have anything to do with the Saville exhibition, but it was way better. It was basically about modern day life and how it's getting very crap. For example, there was this room where there were tons of CCTV monitors, that were viewing the whole building and you could see everyone, including yourself. You also had the chance to make a small ID card and print it off on this cool wall of ID cards. I printed it off, but I kept mine to scan in.

So at 12, we had basically finished the exhibition and now had nothing to do. Brian said we could just go off into town till 3:30pm. God knows why we couldn't just go home. I complained a few times that we should just go, but instead they just went off into town aimlessly and stupidly I followed. We ended up walking around town doing nothing for the good part of two hours, before I finally got pissed off at it all and went home around 2:45. I couldn't be arsed waiting no more.

Later on last night I got a really bad migraine. The kind with all the trimmings too. Nausea, blindness and and numbness. I went to bed around 11pm, only to wake up around 11am with a really bad head. Thankfully, after getting back to sleep for another few hours, it had calmed down slightly, but I've had it for the most part of today.

No other news.

comment