Pleased
Look who's back at long last.

After a very, very long three weeks (which I think I'll officially call the Dark Ages), I finally have my PC working again, thanks to the help of one of Laura's friends.

It's been an extremely boring three weeks. When my PC dies, I pretty much die too. There really isn't that much to note.

It was three weeks ago that, on the morning of a Wednesday, I decided to install a virus spanner. I then restarted and it began the scan. After a while it found a few viruses and I chose 'Delete All' and it did as I asked. However, after it began finding all the viruses, I realised that I should of used 'Repair All' and I was worrying, as I knew it had already deleted an important Windows file. Once Windows was booted up, it froze on me almost immediatly and I knew I was in trouble. I restart and tried again and got the same problem.

So, it was time to call in the help. I thought about asking Chris to begin with, but my mum said he wouldn't be at mine till the week after. This left Michael, my cousin. I rang him the next day and asked him if he could help me out and he said that he was extremely busy currently, but if I were to drop it off at his he'd take a look at it when he could. I felt quite annoyed really, that he was asking me to drop it off at his, since he has a car and could easily come and pick it up from me, instead of me going down to his in a cab with it, forking out cab fare there and back. However, I did so.

Friday went by, as did Saturday, Sunday, Monday. I tried calling him but his mobile was always switched off. By the second weekend of him having it I was getting extremely bored and depressed. I managed to finally get through to him and he said that he'd still not looked at it, even though he'd now had it for two weeks. I felt really deflated at that point. Michael is the only one who I know who is actually good with computers. When it comes to the technical side of things with computers, i'm extremely crap.

Laura's friends came round that week at some point, one of which was Tony. Tony's a really nice guy who I've always got along with. He's Laura's friend, but I'd consider him mine too. I asked him if he could take a look at my computer if I got it back off Micheal and he said yes. So, two weeks after dropping it off at Michael's, I had to go get it again, since he wouldn't drop it off at mine. That was last Wednesday.

Tony came round last Thursday to look at it, but he failed to fix it and decided to take a part of it back to his. He said he'd have it back by Sunday, but didn't. Instead, after I rang him on Monday, he said he was testing it as I was speaking to him but he still didn't know what to do.

Tuesday, he rang me. I asked if he had good news and he said no and that he still hadn't been able to fix it. He said that he was going to bring the part back to mine, along with something else that may just fix it on Thursday (today).

So, tonight at 8:30pm he came round. He must of been here till at least 11:30pm messing about with it. However, finally the problem was found and was bypassed, which is why i'm now able to write this entry. He says Chris is to blame and currently, my stuff is still at risk until I get a new drive, which is already on order. Skip the next 4 paragraphs if you don't want the details of what was wrong.

I have two physical drives. A 6GB and a 40GB. At the beginning of January, I had the 6GB soley for Windows and nothing else, with the 40GB partitioned. I had one 36GB partition and one 4GB. So, altogether I had C (6GB) named as Windows, D (4GB) named Stuff, and E (36GB) named as Storage, which has all of my stuff on it.

However, at the end of January, my computer died and Chris fixed it for me. But, when I got it back, I found that for some reason, D was named Storage and E was named Stuff. I thought nothing of it though, since everything was working, just a small change of drive letter, nothing worrying.

Then, tonight it emerged that Chris had, for some reason, installed WindowsXP onto the 40GB drive, instead of formatting C and installing Windows onto that drive. Bad thing to do, because it fucked everything up majorly. Because Tony formatted C and then installed Windows to it, I then had Windows on both the 6GB and 40GB drive and the Windows on the 40GB drive was the corrupt one. When the computer started up, it was using the corrupt Windows instead of the one on the C drive, which it should of been using anyway. Formatted the Windows on the 40GB wasn't an option either, since all of my stuff is on there.

So, Tony worked his magic and made it boot up from the 6GB instead of the 40GB. I still have all of my stuff intact and like I said, i'm currently waiting for my new 120GB drive to arrive. I'll copy everything but Windows over from the 40GB to the 120GB and then format the 40GB, removing the corrupt windows. Solved.

Because I haven't had a computer, you'd think my sleeping patterns would be pretty normalised but no. Infact, they've been more erratic than ever. Because of this, I've not been to college for two weeks now.

But, I did have a small burst of productivity two weeks ago. In another week or two, we begin work on our FMP (Final Major Project), which will consist of designing a logo, letterhead, envelope and corporate manual for a fictional graphic design company. We have five weeks to complete it all. Although it was still four weeks away at the time, since I didn't have anything else to do, I started coming up with some company names and logo designs. Over the course of four days, I ended up designing 160 logos. Maybe I'll scan them all or something.

I showed them to Ed on the Monday I went to college and he was quite impressed and pleased. I then began work on typing up my proposal for how I was going to use my five weeks productivly and what I was going to produce. I also typed up four other people's proposals for them, since i'm a quick typer.

Oh, and one other piece of news is that I got the photos back from when I went to the beach in the rain with Dave and I really like some of them, although sadly, overall, I don't think it was worth the �14 I spent on developing.

On less pleasing news, I learnt tonight that Hana is seeing someone and it really made me jealous. Such a lucky guy to have her and I wish I was me.

I think that's all my news for now. It's good to finally be back.

P.S. I really appreciate all the guestbook messages you have all left me over the past three weeks. It means a lot to me that people do care enough to think about me. Thankyou.

comment