Surprised
I decided against going to college today. I just didn't see the point of going, if for no more reason than financial. I can't afford to pay out travel expenses if there's not much need for me to do so.

Instead, I went back to bed till 9am and then got up and went online for a while, but of course, it being so early and everyone in school/college/bed, no one was online.

Around 10:30am I decided to cook some burgers. As i'm sure you know, burgers tend to spit a hell of a lot and it's not unusual for the kitchen to become a little smokey.

However, things got a little out of control this morning. I guess it was my own fault really. There's a door on the front of the grill and when i'm cooking, I close it. You're not supposed to do this of course, but it speeds up the cooking time. I don't keep it closed for long, though, every now and then letting the heat escape as to not let it become too hot. On this occasion though, since it was burgers, it kept spitting a lot, whether the door was closed or not. Like I said, it's usually nothing to worry about so I went into the living room for a few minutes, keeping the grill door shut.

When I came back after not more than three minutes and opened the door, I was presented with a furnace. The flames where spewing out, as the fat from the burgers hit the grill. It got pretty damn smokey very quick. However, not one to panic, I didn't. Somehow I managed to pull the grill tray out from inside the grill and then I filled a glass with water and poured it over the flames. And yes, I know this is completely the wrong thing to do with fires of this nature, but whatever. It took a minute or two to put it out and by the time I'd managed to do so, the flames had burned the rubber seal that lays around the edge of the door slightly.

I still ate my burgers though. Flame grilled indeed.

I hid the evidence of my accident by sticking everything in the dishwasher, once I'd first washed the baked on fat off the tray.

No big deal really, though. Quite nice having a little excitement in my life. Not often you nearly set your kitchen on fire.

comment