Frustrated
So it's Halloween. I'm so excited. Wow. Oh it's so exciting. Don't you just love Halloween?

Erm, no.

Call me some sort of Halloween scrooge, but I don't really like opening the door to see a bunch of 15 year old kids dressed up in generic witches costumes saying 'trick or treat', giving them sweets for the pleasure of it. Plus, around here if you were to say 'trick', they'd be like "Trick? Uhh. Just give us the sweets!". Besides, it's not like there's any sweets even in this house. Hell, if there was, *I* would be eating them, not complete strangers who on any other day wouldn't think twice about knocking on my door or anyone's other door.

I'm sorry, but Halloween is just a really, really big commercial overdrive into insanity.

I don't know if that even makes sense.

I think there'd be a part of me liking it just that little bit more if I was actually at a Halloween party or something. Even then, I'd probably say I wasn't going to it because of some pathetic excuse. No, that's not true. Kind of. I think it'd depend on the circumstances. Basically, any party which I went to with friends from college would be about getting as pissed as possible and feeling crap in the morning. That's not 'fun' to me. Whereas, I feel as if my friends who I happen to talk to online, such as Hana and Lisa (the only two people I know of who are doing something) would go to a party to have fun. College friends all about drink. Online friends all about fun. Well that's a black and white version of it anyway.

I guess it'd be nice to go to a party with someone like those two or someone else who I have on my contact list, since I think my online friends will always be more close to me than my friends at college. But of course, I've yet to even meet the majority of people on my list, indeed including Lisa and Hana. Infact, I've just realised that only 8 people on my list of 18 actually live in the UK, and three of them are my college friends!

So yeah, I hate Halloween till someone shows me a reason not to.

I managed to speak to Chris last night about seeing his friend about a camera. He said he'll email him and see. I need it by Wednesday so it's not much time. I doubt he can get me one by then. If not, I'll have to buy a crappy disposable camera and use focus on getting the framing right. More money. This is why I want to buy a proper camera, so I don't have to keep spending money on disposables. I still have to buy film though and paper. Like I've said in the past, this course is fucking expensive.

�110 for a buspass lasting from September till the end of December
Around �35 on graphic design supplies, including �10 portfolio
�7 for half a box of paper and one film
At least �2-3 per day on food
�3 on travel back from the station to house in a cab (won't be doing that no more!)
And GOD knows how much for this camera.

So that's around �150 + Another �150 on food and travel = �300!..in just under two months.

Adds up doesn't it?

And of course, in January, I have to renew my rail and bus pass which will cost another �110. I think by next July, I'll have spent at least �1500 in total on this course. Probably a lot more. Monetary issues aside, I am determined to finish this course.

Of course, finishing it means finishing the work and I have a ton of it to do by Monday. It's quite daunting really for me, since I like to focus on one thing, not have lots to do. I think what I'll do for tonight is work on the 2 and a half text collages I have to do. Tomorrow, I'll work on the egg drawing and manmade drawing and Sunday will be for the two perspective drawings. That should work right?

2 and a half hours for the text collages.
2 hours for the egg drawing.
1 hour for manmade drawing.
Hour and a half for each perspective drawing.

I've been procrastinating about this all week and I know that if I'd of done a little bit of the work earlier in the week I wouldn't have been so pressed to do it all within the next three days. It's not absolutely imperative that it's done by Monday though. I won't recieve any grades. It's just as assessment, but of course, it'd be nice to keep up to date with the work I have to do so when I do start to get graded, I don't have a backlog of work to finish...like now!

comment