Pleased
Fairly good day today at college. Learnt something I didn't know. Amazing!

Well, it was only something pretty simple, but still, like I said in my last entry, i'm patient, and I know we'll get to other things later on.

Brian was teaching us the basics of Illustrator. For those that don't know what Illustrator is, it's a vector-based program that deals with things like logos and symbols, rather than an image manipulation program. I've not used Illustrator much, but I had a fairly good grasp of it anyway, because most of the tools are the same as Photoshop's.

We basically learnt how to use the pen tool, which is probably the hardest tool in Illustrator/Photoshop to master. He then gave us a picture to outline using the pen tool and then took us through to the end of the lesson.

I showed him my logos I'd designed and he said he loved the Edge one. However, he said that I need to do more sketchbook work and I do agree with him. If I were to go to a client and simply show them the end logo and they didn't like it, I'd have nothing else to show them, whereas if I do lots of sketch work and variations, then they have the choice of many. So I need to do more drawing. An hour a day he suggested.

Tony then came into the room. My arch nemesis! Well, kind of. I was telling Brian about my Samaritan's poster, before I pulled it out of my pocket to show him and indeed Tony too. "That's excellent mate", Brian said. "He's got a good eye for Photoshop hasn't he?", he exclaimed to Tony. I talked to them for a few minutes about the importance of sketchbook work, before heading home.

On the way back, I stopped off at the opticians and made an appointment for next Tuesday. I could of gone to my local one, but since I pass that one every day to and from college, it's much easier to go to that one.

So that's my college week over and done with once more. I don't have anything to look forward to this weekend, sadly. I don't have no Alice to hug and kiss which saddens me. I think this weekend will be like my normal weekends; boring. I think i'm actually just waiting for college again now on Monday, although of course, i'm grateful for the three day weekend I get too. It's a chance to catch up on my sleep, since I don't get enough during the week. Ho hum.

comment