Pleased
College was pretty damn nice today.

I woke up at 7am, after going to bed at 3am. Quite late, of course, but me and Hana were talking for ages and that's not something I can easily tear myself away from!

However, by 7:45am, I was questioning myself; "Am I in at 9am or 1pm?" and in the end, I decided I was in at 1pm and went back to bed.

Got up again at 11:30am, and this time set out for college, only when I got there and found Leanne and Mary Jane, they asked me why I wasn't in this morning and I told them I thought we were in at 1pm. Obviously not. Oh well, mini free sleep in for me.

Today was all about photography. I can't remember the tutors name, but he's 24 and only started teaching two days ago. He is a professional freelance photographer and looks a bit like the lead singer from Coldplay.

Soon after, Stan and Jamie showed up and I said hi to them. It's so cool having people say hello to me. Something as simple as that makes me feel good inside. People actually say hello to me!

I asked what we were doing in the lesson and Leanne said we were taking pictures outside somewhere. We all followed the tutor out of the college. He had given me a camera to look after, along with four others. It was one of those professional cameras. You know, the ones where you have to turn the lens to get it in focus?

We walked for about three minutes to this beautiful park. It's only small, but it's so quiet and such a good place just to chill out. It's seperated into four sections of grass, with a seating area in the middle and four paths intersecting the grass sections. It has trees and bushes all around it, so you can't see out onto the streets. It blocks out all of those things you want to get away from perfectly.

So our task was to each take 5 pictures of anything in the park. At first, I didn't really know what to take pictures of and just stood there with Stan and Jamie, who looked equally bemused. However, after a quick look round, I decided to get going and took a picture of the top of the seating area and then I was into it, walking around the park looking for some nice pictures. I won't describe each picture, but I'm quite pleased with them all, although it only took me about 45 minutes to actually take them all, which meant that I had another 2 hours or so in the park doing nothing.

I saw Leanne walking about so I decided to join her and help her with her pictures. I don't know an awful lot about photography, but I tried to be as helpful as possible, along with being friendly and trying to get to know her better. Once she'd taken all of her pictures we sat in the middle of the park and talked a bit. It was great the way it all came so fluidly, with no uneasy silences.

After a while, the tutor (who is a really nice guy by the way) called us over to the rest of the group to sit down in the shade while he talked to us. He asked us all if we'd taken the photos and then explained to us a bit about the cameras. After that he said there were 4 or 5 pictures left to take and gave 5 people a camera, including me to go and take one last picture. Once that was done, he gave us all a break, but I just lay on the grass, looking up at the sky.

"Aren't you coming?", he asked me.
"Nah"
"You sure? I don't want to leave you out or anything"
"Yeah, i'm fine here"
"Ok then, see you in a bit"

Stan asked me if I was coming too and I declined. I was quite content to lay there in the park. It was a really nice day and I was in a really nice park. Now that's my idea of college.

Once they were back he talked more about the cameras and I asked more questions. While he was talking, I was stick these strange leaves in the ground, which had fairly pointed ends at one end and rounded at the other. Since there were trees all around the park, they were all over the grass. We sat there and talked for a pretty long time, and all the while I was sticking these leaves in the ground so they pointed up. After an hour of doing this, while we were all sitting there, and finally getting ready to leave, I had made a very long trail of leaves sticking up out of the ground, all close together. It was about a meter long. I was pretty damn proud of it actually. It looked cool. Stan saw it and looked at me puzzled. He was just about to step on it, but put his foot past it instead. I'm quite hoping that someone else will find it and wonder what it is, choosing to be puzzled over it, rather than destroy it. I might go back one day and see if it's still there.

Back to college at 3:40pm, where he said we could all go home. Woo, short day.

Stan was asking me about going clubbing again on the way home, as was Leanne. I said I wouldn't be able to get in and they were saying that if I was with them I would. I wouldn't though. I need ID.

Tomorrow is multimedia - computers! Woo. Of course, we probably won't do anything exciting. Probably just getting to know how to use Photoshop. Gah. I get to be talked to like a baby all day, no doubt. I'll show him!

comment