Pleased
The bad thing about the weekend, is that I get used to my ab/normal sleeping patterns once more and so on Sunday, I found myself unable to go to sleep and ended up getting less than 4 and a half hours.

However, I percivered and got up, even though I was feeling dead and went to college.

I went to wait for the bus, but it didn't come. Typical, of course. So, I had to get a cab to the station again. Have you any idea how much money I end up spending in a week just getting to and from college? It's bad.

To make things a little worse, apparantly they don't even accept my travel card before 10am, the one that gets me 33% off, which means I had to pay full price. Not good when you have to do this every day for four days.

Once in town, I have the option of going to the bus stops to get a bus to college, or, I can walk. I decided to walk on the basis that, even though it absolutely kills the back of my legs and leaves me sweating by the time i'm at the top of the hill, I believe it's worth it because maybe in a month or two, I won't get so exhausted doing it because I'll be used to it and it'll be good excersize, yes?

Ed told us all to put our pictures up on the wall. What a relief it was to know that mine wasn't actually that bad compared to some of them. Well, most of them actually. There were two really good ones, then I'd say mine was second, then the rest who actually bothered to do it, which some didn't. Woohoo, i'm not that crap!

Ed went along the line of drawings and commented on each one. He hmmed when he got to mine, wondering whether I'd got various parts correct, such as the fact that the water doesn't actually go to the edge of the glass, but is concealed slightly by the glass itself. He said that it was 'kind of right'. That'll do for me.

For the morning, we used layout paper to trace over the image in various croppings, creating four or five different small drawings on A3 paper.

By around 10:30am, it was getting pretty warm outside and the room was starting to get very stuffy. It didn't bother me at first, but after a while it was starting to get really bad. Plus, there is only one window in the classroom and no air conditioning. Not very good conditions to concentrate in.

At break, I had to go down and enroll, but they couldn't do it so I had to come back to the glass. Now it's not that big a journey, but going up and down all of those steps and through the corridoors makes me sweat terribly. It's horrible! Sweat is not my friend. Of course, it doesn't get any better either when you return to a hot classroom.

Ed looked at my work which I did on the Art & Design course two years ago. It was very hard to gauge his reaction to it, though he said he liked the crosshatching effect I'd done with the pen and water.

"It's De Chirico", I said
"Sorry?"
"De Chirico"
"What is?"
"The artist. It's De Chirico", as I pointed to the piece I'd drawn, based on a De Chirico piece.
"Oh right"

He didn't have a clue what I was going on about. I just thought if he's teaching all this drawing he might know stuff about artists, but I guess not.

I guess I should describe Ed for you actually. Ed is about 50-55 years old. He's about 6'2" and quite thin. To me, he looks like a friendly goat. He has the beginnings of a bead, and white hair that sticks out slightly and when he likes something his eyes widen quite a bit and he looks like he's been startled. It's amusing to watch. I don't think he realises he does it. So yes, Ed is a friendly goat, because he is really friendly. Likes to keep things at a steady pace, a few laughs here and there. Doesn't know what he's doing half the time. Every one seems to like him though.

Ah, and then there's Pam, who introduced herself today.

Don't like Pam. No.

Pam is about 45 and over average in build. About 5'8", frizzy shoulder length brown hair. She's that teacher that you loved to hate in school. The kind that would make a point of telling you off if you were a late back after your break, or if a phone rang, she'd tell you that it's really bad to have your phone on in class. She's also the person who enjoys telling everyone their work is wrong, and then fixing it for them.

Our task with her was to draw our shoe and I had already started, when she came over. She watched me for a minute, and I carried on, knowing she was watching, but didn't stop to talk to her.

"Hmm, you're not going to get all of that on", she said to me.
"Yeah I will, it's ok"
"No, look, you've put all that detail in at the front but you haven't drawn the back yet"
"I know, i'm gonna do that once I've drawn in the front"
"Well you should really draw the back in first so you know if you can fit it all on, here let me show you"

So she proceeds to take my pencil and lightly sketch over the lines I'd drawn. After a minute or two, she sat back.

"There, that's better isn't it?"
"I think I could of got it all in", I replied
"See, but I know you couldn't of"

I didn't say nothing after that. Who needs confrontation when you can just get rid of her altogether if you keep your mouth shut.

Ah the joys of having a diary she will never know about! :D

For lunch, me, Stan, and a newly accquainted Jamie went out. We don't know each other, other than the fact that we happened to choose the same table to sit at, but I began talking to Stan the first day, and I guess Stan must of started talking to Jamie and so we've formed a small friendship between the three of us.

I guess I better tell you about a few of the people on my course. Firstly, introducing Stan.

Stan is 18, but he looks older than I do. He looks about 21 I'd say. He wears size 14 trainers! Mine are only 8. Stan is the kind of guy who likes to like everyone and is a good friend if you want him to be. Stan is about 6ft and has short, black hair. He's quite big, but I wouldn't say it's all fat, just that he's big. He also wears glasses and has a tendency to be heavy handed with his drawings.

Next up is Jamie. He's 17. Jamie is more reserved than Stan, but he enjoys a lot of drinking and clubbing and looking at nice girls, though he has a girlfriend. When you look at him, he looks like the kind of person who you'd expect to see on a course like this. He's quite lean, with a thin looking face. He has dark brown hair which is short and is about the same height as I am. I'd say he and I look about the same age.

Stan and Jamie, I shall call my primary friends on the course so far, since I've talked to them more than anyone.

Surprisingly, I've actually initiated conversation with other people in the class, namely, a girl called Leanne and a girl called Mary Jane, simply because they're on the next table to me and they happened to be the only ones in there at break while I was too.

Leanne is about 5'6" and has shoulder length braided black hair. She has olive skin and big eyes. Like Jamie, she is also the type of person you'd expect to see on this course and she is a very good drawer. She's one of the top drawers in the class, if not the best. She doesn't talk very much, but she's not shy either. If spoken to, she'll gladly talk. To me, she looks like the kind of person who enjoys life.

Mary Jane is slightly shorter than Leanne, has blonde hair and wears glasses. Leanne is the kind of person who isn't loud or wild, but she's leaning towards that side, rather than introverted. I've not seen her drawings yet.

I'll call these two my secondary friends, since I've only talked to them a little bit and don't know much about them.

The rest of the class I've not had a chance to talk to. Me, Stan and Jamie all agree with do not like scallies, which was rather satisfying to hear. There's about four or five of them on the course and you can tell simply by their drawings that they're not actually arsed about the course.

Then there's a guy who sits on the table next to us on the other side than Leanne and Mary Jane. I don't know what his name is, but we (as in me, Stan and Jamie) have talked to him a little. He strikes me as the type of person who will work when he has to work, but as soon as he can get going he will. I also think he thinks he's being cool, or trying to be liked more by getting the point across that he loves smoking weed. He says it in such a way that it doesn't sound like he actually does it as often as he may say he does and perhaps not at all.

If possible, maybe I'll take a picture of the classroom at some point and/or the people, although it's a bit hard coming up with an excuse why I'd want to take pictures of them of course.

So today was pretty good. I'm getting the feeling that this course is gonna be great and that i'm going to stick with it.

I have a day off tomorrow!

Apparantly we were going to do multimedia, but the computers aren't installed so we don't have to come in. But, we have a little bit of homework set which is to take four photographs from magazines, crop them to interesting points then frame them. Sounds easy enough. Also, we have to draw a shoe which has to be in for next week. I'll let you see how it goes once I've done it.

I'm meeting Alice again on Saturday. Yay. Something to look forward to. Someone, rather.

Although the comments in my guestbook haven't been very positive about it, I've had some supportive comments on MSN which i'm please about. Still, sex still seems to be on everyone's minds, which is pretty ironic considering it's not on mine regarding her. So yeah, Saturday I get to meet Alice again. Woohoo!

One more thing before I go. I promised I'd give someone a mention in this entry because she asked me to, so hello Danna. Danna is from down south in the UK. I can't quite remember where exactly though. Apparantly she reads my diary frequently now and takes great pleasure in watching me all the time on my cam and persistently asking me to smile, since i'm sure you know, I don't smile as much as I should. So, here is your mention Danna. Oh and by the way, you have to be special to get mentioned in my diary, so you must be special, Danna!

Bloody hell this is one long entry isn't it? I started writing this at 2:48am. Guess what time it is now?

3:45am!

Ok, i'm going to bed. As always, comments on anything are appreciated.

OH, one last last last thing; I made this for someone because I was feeling nice and felt like doing something selfless.

Alright, now i'm going.

comment