Pleased
Today involved lots of writing in Film Studies for three hours. Three hours of writing. Urgh.

Basically he wrote out an entire essay of 1500 words on genre and narrative of U-Turn while everyone copied.

But I was clever!

I wasn't about to write down 1500 words of something I can't hand in at the end as my work so, I just took notes and probably wrote about half of what everyone else did. I feel clever. I even showed Alan just to make sure it was ok and he said it was fine.

At lunchtime I went the library for...wait, why did I go the library? I can't remember. Anyway, went on the computer for some reason or another, and then after that got the Advanced Psychology book. I saw Lauren sitting at a desk so I went over to sit by her. I said hello and she mumbled a hello back. She was writing something, referring to numerous notes and stuff. I just starting reading the psychology book.

We didn't speak to each other. She looked busy.

In the book I was reading it was saying about how people create invisible walls to protect themselves. They actually gave an example of someone sitting in a library on their own. Their example was if someone came and sat by that person, the person would erect their wall, in their case a stack of books. How ironic it was then, that Lauren had spaced all of her pieces of paper out on the desk in a circularish pattern in front of her, BUT she wasn't relating to them. Interesting no? Seems to reinforce my thoughts about her being like I was a year ago.

After lunch it was two hours with Gary. He does sound. He gave us our assignment up until Christmas.

The assigment is to produce a 3-5 minute radio interview with someone. It doesn't have to be real, but it has to have elements of sound effects in along with music overlayed as well.

We then set about coming up with ideas for the interview and the first thing that came into my head was Carol's project.

Carol's project: To design a advert poster for a charity or awareness. It must be informative and of a serious nature.

I chose depression. What better subject could I possibly do it on? Suddenly all of these ideas came rushing into my head about how my poster could be layed out. I was placing it all together in my head. I had the picture exactly how I wanted it, all I had to do was get it created.

Carol asked me what I was gonna do my poster on and I told her. She said she had no real knowledge of depression. I told her that 1 in 5 men under 20 are depressed and she didn't know this. "So that means someone in this room could be depressed", the guy behind me said with a hint of disbelief in his voice. Oh how true he was.

So my project was sorted. It was either going to be for CALM (Campaign Against Living Miserably) or the Samaritans and since CALM is only for men, I decided to go with Samaritans and researched loads of stats on the net. Here's a few:

(UK only)

There is 1 suicide every 82 minutes.
75% of these are male.
There are 20,000 self harmers in the UK 15-24.
There were near 5000 suicides in 2000.
Suicide has increased by 79% since 1989.

I done two pages of these stats.

When I got home last night, I got straight to work on the poster. I knew exactly what I was doing so it was easy. From around 6pm till 2am I was working on it, but it was nowhere near finished. I went to bed around 3am.

Ok, back to today and Gary's lesson about the interview.

I decided to make things integral and do an interview on/for the Samaritans, since I already had all the stats, it was easy to make questions up. Gary said I didn't have to go get someone who was actually from the Samaritans, but rather just make up questions/answers from the info I had, but I wanted to do this. I began feeling determination. I wrote down about 8 questions for now that I could ask someone and then it was time to go home.

Soon as I got in, I began work on the poster again at 4pm and I've been working on it up until 12am tonight, but, I've finally finished it and i'm DAMN PROUD of it.

16 hours, 50+ layers, lots of editing and lots of concentration.

I present to you:

The Poster

It's quite big, weighing in at 288kb so it'll take a while to download if you're on 56k or something. It's also quite big in dimensions.

I'm very pleased with this and I'd REALLY appreciate some comments. PLEASE.

I think I'll be revelling in my joy for the next few days.

I'm currently talking to Jax and the girl who I fancy lots which is, of course, my dear friend Ashley. God I want to go see her now, like, now.

I thought I had an appointment with James tomorrow, but I don't. Damn. No lie in.

1:59am

comment