Disappointed
Damnit. My pipe dreams have been slashed by 1/3.

"What the hell's he on about?"

I'll tell you now.

A week ago, Liam (online friend) left me a message. He had been in touch with a friend of his who worked at a place called QOL who needed some web design doing. Liam said he'd gotten offered the job and he wanted to know whether I wanted in or not.

Of course I did.

So, for the past week and a bit, I've been designing a few designs for this client. Me and Liam were aiming for the �5000 mark. This may seem like a lot, but we inquired as to how much a project like this would cost and sure enough, we got quotes back ranging from �6000 up to �12000, so �5000 wasn't asking much. We thought.

So about an hour ago, Liam began talking to Richard, who is the client. I got word from Liam that he didn't like the sound of �5000 and we'd almost expected this. I was disheartened because I already knew what I wanted to spend my �2500 on.

"What did you want to spend it on?", I hear you ask.

7 day trip to Portland, Oregon to see her because she's great.

I also wanted to buy new computer stuff and also bank some of it.

Back to the story...

...so �5000 was now out. We had discussed this over the week though and thought that if he did say no to �5K, we'd offer �4K instead. It was offered, it was declined. Not looking good. To make things worse, Liam is not a good PR man.

Also, Liam had told the guy that I would be an out source help, which is not what I had been informed at first. This quite annoyed me because I don't like being the one in the dark, especially when I'd just spent my time designing 4 different designs.

Anyway, it went lower again. �3,500 we offered, or rather, Liam did because I wasn't in the conversation, since I was just the guy who designed the site :s.

He said he'd get back to Liam tomorrow morning.

�3,500. That's �1,750 each. That's still more than I've ever had in my hand, I know. But, that's not the issue. I have a problem with the guy accepting �3,500 because the project is worth at least �6,000 to anywhere else. The worst thing is, I know we're not gonna say no to him on what he offers because of course, we're just two 18 year olds who have never had that kind of money and he's using that to his advantage. That's business for you.

�1750. I can still go to Portland with �1750. I want to be able to say "Ah well, it's only �750 less than what I thought I was getting", but �750 is a lot of money damnit. With �750 I could buy a new computer and it'd be a lot better than the one I have now.

Whatever.

And aside from that, i'm feeling very tired, even though I've just had 12 hours sleep. I haven't been to college since last Tuesday. I've just managed to smash a bulb. My lamp doesn't work no more. I feel shite. My life is full of nothing.

For fuck's sake.

6:13pm

comment