Disappointed
So, what to say? Not a lot happening at the moment. Jo came though to tell me about this job at the local council.

It's a scheme called 'Knowsley Steps' and as it says in the info pack "THIS TRAINING POSITION IS ONLY OPEN TO PEOPLE WHO ARE DEAF OR DISABLED".

To be honest, I don't think I fit into either.

The position is for a trainee economic development officer.

This is taken from the info pack:

DESCRIPTION OF THE TRAINING PROGRAMME:

'ON THE JOB'

The trainee will train to:

To work shadow officers in each of the divisions and partner organisations
Dealing with business related enquiries
Assist in marketing
Dealing with property enquiries
Assisting in financial monitoring
Developing central filing systems

GENERAL CONDITIONS

This training position is only open to people who are Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) disabled. You must be aged 18+, unemployed for at least 6 months and be a resident of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council.
All trainees are on a fixed term contract of up to two years and are paid a monthly training allowance.
There can be no guarantee of permanent employment on completion of the training programme.

I'd get paid �160 per week also.

Sounds like a good thing yeah? But as much as it sounds good, I'd like to do college and that would get in the way of it so I think although that �160 sounds very nice, I'd rather go to college and make friends. Friends or money? Friends wins every time.

And I don't like the thought of them only giving me the job because I am supposedly disabled. I'd rather earn the job than be given it on a plate. I don't like to do things that way. I'll be saying no to the offer.

Speaking of college, I'm still not sure what I'd like to do. Something with some sort of guarantee of mature, intelligent people would be nice, but I don't think anyone can promise me that. Still, something business orientated might be good.

Actually, I have a want to be a doctor for some reason, although I think that's from watching Patch Adams tonight and seeing Robin Williams 'make a difference' in people's lives.

That's what I'd like to do. Make a difference. I don't want to be a cog in a machine. I want to change the rules. Make things better. Not follow through on things just because 'that's how it's done'. Well it's now how it should be done.

Any ideas would really be appreciated any time soon, since I should really be signing up around this time if I want to get a place on a course.

Yeah, that's it.

2:31am

comment