Pleased
Yesterday was a good day at college. Anna wasn't in, but Barbara was and she took us for the day. I asked someone had we started on our still life paintings and he said that we hadn't which was good, because it meant I was up to where everyone else was.

I didn't havw anything to draw, so I shared with Kirsty and she set all of the objects up we were going to draw. I started to sketch the outlines out on a piece of greyboard (basically thick card). After a while, Barbara came over and said that we couldn't do what I had been sketching. She said that the colours would be impossible to get (they were basically neon in parts) and that the display was too small. Kirsty angrily sighed. Barbara said that if she didn't want to do it then she might as well go home.

So she left.

She got her coat on and went home. I'm all for making a point, but going home is just stupid. Kirsty has a tendency to have a very bad attitude sometimes. It's her downfall.

After that little scenario, I had to stop drawing what I had been drawing for the past 20 minutes and go and join a few others in drawing something else, which I was happy to do.

THIS is what I had to draw/paint. I know it looks like just a load of junk...but that's what it was I suppose lol.

It took most of the morning for me to finish sketching the outlines out, and I was happy with how it'd turned out so far. Barbara said it was nice too.

After lunch, I started to paint it all. It's very hard to get exact colours, which we had to do as best as we could. I managed though, and I only asked for Barbara's help once, but she couldn't make the colour either so I just substituted. It's going well. I've got about 30% left to paint and then it's finished. We'll probably finish them on Monday.

Today was boring, although I did get my ego stroked slightly.

We were supposed to have Media, but Alan had to oversee an exam, so the Communication's teacher, Carol took us instead. We all went the lecture theatre where we had to analise the front cover of Woman's Weekly and Cosmopolitan, and say how they appeal to differnt stereotypes of woman.

Carol asked the class what the word 'Stereotype' meant. I found that a confirmation of the fact that I know and she knows that the group as a whole aren't very intelligent. No one answered her, so I did. I know what a stereotype is, but it's hard to explain to someone else, so I just said "It's a perception of what the majority of people are". She looked over at me and said "Yes, that's right". A woman (about 30, who's doing the course as well) turned around in front of me and looked at me as if I'd just said something amazing. That's how rare it is for anyone to say something intelligent in that class, or at least sound intelligent. I know I could come up with a better explanation of the word 'stereotype' but, if they buy it, then I'll stick with it.

The activity was to work in pairs and discuss. I had Catherine sitting next to me. No help there. I worked on my own.

She asked me if I was working with her and Jenny and I said no. It's not like they can help me anyway so I just got to work by myself while they talked instead of worked as usual.

Carol came over a little later and started talking to them both. She asked me if I was ok with it all and I said yes and went back to writing.

Break came, but I wanted to finish what I was writing, so I worked through it. After break, I was already on the back of the piece of paper. What I had written had turned into a small essay. I ended up writing the front of back of one page which I was happy with, considering everyone else was only gonna write a paragraph at most.

I got up and took it over to Carol. She looked at it and looked at the back. She said thanks, and had a bit of an amazed look on her face, as did the people who she was talking to at the time, since they hadn't even written a sentence yet.

I went back to my seat and watched her talk to them, and then she picked up my essay and started to read. She walked round the front of the class with it, reading as she went. I could see her lips were moving to what I had written. At one point, she nodded and smiled and I felt like I had accomplished what I'd set out to achieve. She carried on reading till the end and then called my name. "Very well done", she said "I feel like reading this out!", she joked. That woman looked around at me again and asked me was that essay mine. I answered yes and she looked surprised. My ego was boosted, and it felt nice to be appreciated.

I went back up to the front to give her the two handouts she'd given out. On my way back up, she called me and said "That is excellent, Neil. Really good. Do you mind if I keep hold of it and show Alan (Alan being my Media teacher)?". I said no, and was happy that I'd been able to impress.

At that point, it was time to go home. I saw Ken on the way out and said hi to him. He asked me how everything was going and I said fine. I asked him about getting a new bus pass and I walked back with him to the Student Services office, leaving Jenny and Catherine behind. I wasn't really bothered about walking with him so I just left them.

After I'd talked to Ken about getting a new bus pass, I started walking up to the village to get my bus. I saw Catherine and Jenny up ahead, so I decided to slow down slightly, because I didn't want to be hugged by Catherine when she said bye to me. I don't mind Jenny hugging me, but Catherine, well, I hate her.

I got my bus home and now here I am writing this.

Oh and one more thing and quite possibly the best news I've heard, is that apparantly, Catherine is moving to Oxford! YAY! No more Catherine! How cool is that? Of course, Catherine has a tendency to talk a load of crap, so she could just be making this up and nothing will come of it.

I live in hope.

6:14pm

comment