Me and Wii
I suppose I should really make an entry shouldn't I?

There hasn't been too much happening really, since I last updated other than I've been enjoying my time away from Uni. It's been nice not having to do anything. Having said that, I've been really enjoying working for Emma and Matthew at Spira. And of course, I've been enjoying the �720 a month that I get from it!

I've been enjoying it so much that I seem to have spent more than I've earned which isn't good. I've just had so much to buy out of neccessity that I've been draining my cash. It sucks, but it does mean that I've got what I need. Namely, it's just stuff for my computer. In total, over the last three months, I've spent roughly �1350, just short of what I've actually earned from working at Spira.

One purchase that wasn't a neccessity was a Wii. I am now the proud owner of one.

I was at Dave's new place about three weeks ago. He has a Wii and I had a go of Wii bowling and Wii boxing. I absolutely loved the boxing. I played it for about half an hour and fucking hell, the sweat was pouring off me. It was pretty damn hard and required a lot of effort! I hadn't had such a workout in a long long time.

The next day, you would not believe that aches and pains I had all over my body due to not having worked out so much in ages. It was agony, but it felt quite good to have worked a few muscles, so much so that it made me want to get a Wii of my own.

To buy a Wii new, they cost �180. However, I wanted to see if I could buy one for less so I checked eBay. I managed to win one for �180 plus �15 p&p and Zelda included, which meant that I saved roughly �15 if I had bought it new. There was a bit of trouble in actually recieving the Wii because I thought the guy who was sending me it was a scammer but it turned out he wasn't. It arrived yesterday morning at 8:20am, just before I had to go to work.

Work was fun and yet not very productive. I didn't even touch a mouse or keyboard once the whole time I was there. It was purely discussion on how to go forward with Eventfrog, the project that I'm working on. I showed them what I had done over the weekened and they were pleased with it all. I've only got to do a bit more and then it's over to Matthew to actually code it all. I have no idea how much coding it's actually going to take, but I'm guessing we're looking at at least four to six months.

I left early around 3pm and found that I had a message from Jamie saying that everyone was going into town later on. I text back saying that I'd join them around 8pm for the celebrations of Liverpool's 800th birthday. There was to be lots of fireworks and stuff in town.

After returning home at 5:30pm, I was so very very tired and decided to go to bed for a bit before I went out but I ended up staying in bed until 3am. I just couldn't bring myself to get out of bed in the end.

At 3am, I got up and decided to set my Wii up in the living room. It's the first time I've actually owned a console since buying an N64! I played on it until around 6:30am at which point I went to bed until 10am.

When I got up, my Mum asked what was connected to the TV and I explained what it was and said I'd show her it. I knew she'd find Wii boxing hilarious. And she did.

I also showed her bowling and tennis. I gave her the remote so she could have a go of bowling, but because she's disabled, she can't hold the remote control properly and couldn't really play it. However, since tennis doesn't require you to press any buttons, she found that much easier.

She spent FOUR HOURS playing tennis! Four hours! This is a woman who has never played any real life sports in her life due to being disabled. How cool is it that a video game can actually give someone who is disabled that bit of extra freedom?

Over the course of four hours, she improved a lot and almost won a best out of 5 match twice. I swear she loves it more than me.

As I said, I also bought Zelda, which I haven't played on yet. Zelda's more of a game for the night.

I went shopping for food around 2pm and also attempted to open up a new bank account at another bank. They told me I couldn't though because I didn't have any of the right forms of ID. They asked me for a passport or driving license. I have neither of those. They asked me for a utility bill, but I don't pay any bills. On paper, I don't bloody exist!

They told me that if I have an account already at Barclays then I should be able to open one there without the need for ID. I went there instead and they told me I'd need an appointment to open one next Tuesday at 12pm.

In other news, last week, I bought a ticket to go and see Video Games Live in London on October 22nd. It looks awesome. It's video game music played by a live orchestra, synched up to video, lasers and on stage performances. It's going to be awesome. I also booked a hotel that's about 20 minutes from the place. My hotel actually costs double than what my ticket did and so will my train fare. In total, I'll end up spending about �150 and that's without money for food and stuff. I'm very excited about it. It'll be the first concert I've been to since Rammstein (also in London) roughly seven years ago!

I can't think of anything else that I need to write about now, but I shall try and update more often.

comment