The man who knew too little
There's an entry before this one that you've missed. No, really. Go and see.

(Originally written 16th November @ 12:03am)

My Internet is still down so here's another entry.

I found it so damn hard to get to sleep tonight and in the end, I got less than two hours. Very very reluctantly, I woke up and just lay there, eyes shut, but awake, struggling to open them. I wanted so much to just go back to sleep. I finally managed to get out of the bed around 7:45am, though I had woken up at 7:30am.

After managing to pull myself down the stairs to get a shower and back up them afterwards, I ended up collapsing on the bed once more and trying to fall back asleep for another 25 minutes or so. I was soaking wet, but I didn't really care. I just lay on my bed and closed my eyes. I didn't end up sleeping though. Finally, I tried my best to then wake up and headed off to Uni.

The lesson was quite unproductive really. Usually, Introduction to Graphic Design sees me producing lots of work throughout the lesson, but this one was more about listening to Kevin talking. He gave us a small project to do by next week; to design one month of a calendar for a architecture, interior design and landscape company. In our groups, we had to come up with a theme that would run throughout the calendar and then design an individual month.

I had a tutorial with Kevin about my portfolio of work so far. He said it was ok, but that I needed to work on some minor issues like portfolio presentation.

After this lesson, I had the second half of it which is based on computer. I tried coming up with something that looked interesting, but failed to do so. I can never be that creative in lesson for some reason. I prefer to wait until I'm at my own computer before I really start designing.

Me and Tom had a few games of pool once the lesson had finished. He's now winning by 31 games to 26.

I went home after that and ended up collapsing back into bed. I had said to myself that I'd sleep for about two and a half hours, but ended up sleeping from 4pm until 9:35pm. No doubt I'm going to be awake all night now and I have a lecture at 1pm tomorrow.

When I woke up, I went to the kitchen for something to eat. Ahmit did at the same time so we talked for a bit. He's one funny guy.

"Neil", he said, "What does 'fancy a girl's night in' mean?"
"What?"
"Girl's night in"
"It means they stay in and maybe have a little party or something"
"It means you have sex right?"
"What?"
"Sex with them, yes?"
"No", I said laughing.
"What does it mean then?"
"No, it means 'would you like to' or 'would you like to have'. It just means that they'll invite a few friends over"
"With guys right?"
"No, just girls. It's just for a girls."
"So no sex?"
"No"

Such a simple phrase to me, so misunderstood by Ahmit.

He continued with the priceless gems a little later.

"Neil, he said, "What does 'accommodate' mean?"
"It means there's room"
"I saw it in paper, "Girl can accommodate"", he continued.
"It means that she would allow you to come to her place", I said, confused about what he'd been reading.
"I saw ad in paper. �1.50 for message. "Girl can accommodate""
"Oh Ahmit!", I said, realising what he'd been reading, "It's just a sex chatline!"
"No man", he said, "You send message"
"Yeah, still the same thing, just that you do it via text instead!"
"I'm not going to call it", he said, "I just want to know what it means, "girl can accommodate"".
"Well then it just means she'd talk dirty to you via text"
"And she will come to my house?"
"No!", I said, astonished and amused that he'd think that.
"It just means she'll send you a few dirty texts"
"And then she will invite me to her house?"
"No!"
"What does it mean then?"
"It's just a way to get your attention"
"Ohhh", he said, as if the light had finally switched on in his head.

A little while later, he gave me a little more insight into why he may have thought this.

"Neil", he said, "What does 'fancy' mean? It means you want to have sex with them right?". I thought about what he was asking for a second.
"Yeah, I suppose so"
"Because when you came here with those two girls [referring to Kerry and Cat], you said you fancy them right?"
"Yeah", but then I realised why he might have been confused about "Fancy a girl's night in". He'd associated the word 'fancy' with sex! I attempted to correct his associations.
"It depends what context you use it in", I said. "I could say 'I fancy a pizza'. It doesn't mean I want to have sex with the pizza though! It just means I would like one."
"But when you say you fancy a girl it means you want to have sex with them right?"
"Yeah"
"Ohhh"

Priceless.

comment