Welcome to Chester University
(Orginally written 25th September @ 11:01pm)

I probably should have written an entry before I left my house for University, but I forgot so this entry is bound to be huge once I finish writing it.

I'll start at the beginning.

To get to Chester, my Mum and Paul, her friend, were taking me in a van. This is the same van my Mum and Gary own for delivering all of the furniture that they sell so it's always available to use. However, at around 3pm, my Mum called me and said that Paul had mistakenly put petrol in the van when the van runs on diesel. Apparantly after he did so, it wouldn't start and they couldn't get it out of the garage. She said that Colin, one of the guys who works for her, was on his way to see if he could sort it out. About an hour later, my Mum text me to say the van was on the move again and she'd be coming to mine to see what needed loading up in preparation for the next morning. When she got here, she was no too pleased with Paul, perhaps understandably so.

She was extremely angry at him for doing what he had done. I said that it was kind of an easy mistake to make once or twice in your lifetime, but she said that she had shouted to him when he was filling the tank up to fill it up with diesel, yet he put petrol in. Not so good.

Paul came in shortly after her and he asked if I was looking forward to going to University. I said yes, but my Mum butted in with "He's not even going to get there now because of you!". Very true, too.

My Mum was more annoyed about it than I was, though. I mostly just sat there in silence as I didn't really have much to add to the argument between her and Paul or rather, her shouting at Paul. Paul didn't help either by being, well, a bit gormless so he ended up going back out to check on the van and when he came back, he told my Mum it wasn't working again. This meant I had no way of getting to Chester the next day. In the end, my Mum had had enough and decided to call a cab and go home. Paul went with her. She told me she'd call me and tell me what was happening and that I would get there somehow.

She called me a few hours later and told me that she had managed to find a van and that now, instead of Paul driving it, Gary would be. Of course, since it was Gary's van that Paul had essentially broken, Gary was even more pissed off with him than my Mum. He also had to go to London in it so it meant his plans were screwed too.

My Mum told me that we'd be leaving at 8am and to be ready for then the next morning. However, the van only seats two people so she said that I would have to sit in the back! Sit in the back of a van...great. Still, it's not like I had much choice and I didn't understand why it had to be so early, but I said ok and was at least thankful that I was still going to be going.

I didn't end up going to bed until around 1:30am that night as I was still packing things. I had left it until the very last minute, including my PC, which had to be carted down and into the hall ready to be put in the van the next morning.

I awoke the next morning at 6:45am and warily got ready, putting the rest of my stuff down in the hall ready for 8am. However, when 8am came, there was no sign of my Mum. I called her and asked where she was and she said that it'd be 9am instead because she hadn't long got up. I was a bit annoyed, when I know she'd moan at me for not being up in time and I could have had more time in bed. Still, it gave me a chance to eat.

At 9am, there was still no sign of my Mum and she called me again, saying that it was now not going to be until about 10:30am and that it wouldn't be Gary driving me, but Colin. Frustrated, I said ok and decided to go back to bed for a little while.

Finally, I recieved a call from her at 10:15am saying they were on the way so I got dressed again and once they arrived, packed up all of my stuff into the van and said goodbye to the only home I've known for the last 22 years. It's very weird taking all of your belongings out of somewhere you've lived for so long.

I had to sit in the back, which was quite strange. It also had no light except for the small cut out window that someone had made where I could see into the front of the van and talk to my Mum and Colin. It didn't bother me too much though, I guess.

It took about 50 minutes to get there I think and on the way, it really started to rain extremely heavily, along with some thunder and lightning. Plus, because I was in the back of the van, it sounded even harder when the rain hit the top of it.

Once at the University, I saw plenty of cars arriving. Parents moving their children into their new homes for the next three years. It was weird to think that I too would be living in Chester for another three years.

I found the place to get my room keys and the guy gave me directions to it. My accommodation is not actually on campus, but a supposed 15 minutes walk away. We got back in the van and headed along the directions the guy had given us.

Finding the place was immensely difficult. It's even more difficult if you're in a large van! It took a good 15 minutes driving up wrong alleyways to just find the correct street, then came the task of finding the room itself. That proved *extremely* difficult.

I knew that I'd be living right in the middle of the shopping centre. The problem with that, however is that all the shops are on two levels above each other and the guy had told me that the accommodation was on the second level. The first thing that came to mind was how the fuck were me and Colin going to carry all of my stuff?

I knew that my room number was 5 and after a good 20 minutes of searching and asking various people where I was looking for, I found a guy who seemed to think that the place he was going to was the same place I needed too. He said it was student accommodation and he was going to go fix something in room 5. I showed him the envelope which I had recieved with my keys in, saying room 5 on it and he said this must be it so I followed him up some stairs (up a lot of stairs actually) and he knocked on the door. I wondered why he had knocked, considering no one was supposed to be living there if it was my room and to my surprise, a student answered. "Uh", I said, "I think I'm supposed to be living here?". I nervously entered what looked like an apartment and he went to get some papers showing that actually, I wasn't supposed to be living there and I had the completely wrong address. Oops. I'm sure he thought I was an idiot.

So, back I went on my search while my Mum and Colin sat in the van. Bear in mind that although it had been raining very heavily, it quickly cleared up and it was now quite hot. Couple that with the fact that I was walking all up and down this street on two levels and I was extremely hot and extremely sweaty.

I asked a few more random shops if they knew where I was living and no one seemed to know. However, eventually, I found one guy. "Do you know where this is?", I said to him and I pointed to the address on the envelope.

"Next door", he said.
"But next door says 45", I replied, "I'm at 47"
"They are the only student accommodation", he said, looking at me rather arrogantly.

Still, I went next door to what was just that - a door. A door that looked as if it might lead to a set of stairs maybe or to the flats themselves maybe. Instead, after finally finding that my key worked in a door that says 45, I opened it to find a long, narrow passageway with a bit of sunlight at the end of it. "What the hell?", was my first thought. I followed it.

On the other side of the passageway was two sets of flats and I noticed that one of the doors side 47 on it. I had found it. I was about to put the key in the door when a guy opened the door.

"Yes?", he said, "Can I help you?"
"Uh, I'm living here", I said and showed him the envelope.
"At the top", he said.

And when he said the top, what he meant was up four sets of steep stairs. Fuck. This was not going to be easy experience getting my stuff here all the way from the road where the van was. Not only was my room on the second level of a street, but even after you got into the flat itself, you then had to climb four sets of stairs to get into my room!

I used a second key to open my room door. I was...Hm. I guess I wasn't too surprised at its size. It's not big at all. In fact, it's on the small side. However, since all I need is a place to put my computer and a bed, I didn't really mind too much. By now, however, not only were my legs hurting, but the sweat was pouring off me and all I wanted to do was collapse on the stripped mattress in front of me. And I had yet to even bring any of my stuff up.

I reluctantly walked back down the four steep flights of stairs and outside were two other guys who were living in the same place as me. I introduced myself and I asked their names. Ahmed and I can't remember the other guy's name, but both of them were from India and had come over here to study at Chester Uni. The only problem was that I couldn't really understand a word they were saying, even though they were speaking in English. Their accent was too foreign to me and I kept having to ask them to repeat themselves so I could understand. It made me feel a bit uneasy. However, one of the showed me the kitchen and whatever and then I reluctantly went back to the van to begin moving my stuff.

Once back at the van, I explained to my Mum that it was so damn far from the road and it was not going to be easy getting all of my stuff up into my room. Still, Colin opened up the back of the van and the most effortful hour of my life that I can remember began.

I started with a large blue box full of stuff that I thought would be useful for my course and on top of that was a holdall bag. That in itself was stretching my limit. I'm a total weakling when it comes to lifting things. I'm very very unfit. Colin got hold of two holdalls and I showed him the way. Up some steep steps to get onto the second floor, along a walkway full of shops, through the number 45 door, down the passageway, into the flat, up four flights of steep stairs and finally, into my room.

Needless to say that after the first trip of carrying stuff, the sweat was pouring off me and my legs felt like they were about to collapse and I still had more stuff to bring from the van. It took another three trips to get it all in. That's six journies altogether. I was fucking exhausted.

Once everything had been brought into my room, I went back to the van where my Mum and Colin were waiting and I thanked Colin for driving me and helping me with the stuff. He also tried to give me advice on how to lift and carry things, since it was obvious how lame I was at it and how things he considered light were heavy for me. He's been lifting stuff for most of his working life but I haven't.

I went to the front of the van after me and Colin had shut the back to see my Mum. She had not come up to see my room because for her, it would be too much of a walk up the stairs and stuff. She said that she was sorry she had to go so quick, but she had to get back to Liverpool because Gary needed the van to go to London in. She gave me a hug and I waved her and Colin goodbye.

I made another journey back to my room and collapsed on what little of the bed was currently unoccupied by bags and a suitcase. Finally, it was over.

I took a few minutes to catch my breath and stop sweating before beginning the task of unpacking everything. It was much easier than carrying it all!

One of the guys, Ahmed said hello to me as I was unpacking and then invited me into his room and we talked for a bit. Well, for a while actually. Well, more like him talking and me listening and wanting to leave him because as I say, it's really hard to understand him. Also, he was very questionative about both me and pretty much everything Chester had to offer like I was some sort of expert on it. He was also very forthcoming about asking me why I have scars on my arms which didn't really bother me, as much surprised me that he asked so quickly about it. But what did bother me was that he kept asking why. Why I had done it. "I was depressed", I said. "Why?", he said. And so forth. I tried my best to explain to him why and with a smile, trying to be friendly. He also asked me about which laptops to buy and which phone and phonenetwork he should use I tried my best to give him some advice and as I was speaking to him, he just kept rocking back and forth in the chair. I don't think he even realised he was doing it, but it was very visible. Maybe he was just nervous or something. After a good 30-45 minutes of speaking to him, I finally excused myself by saying I needed to unpack the rest of my stuff.

Once it was all unpacked, I then went to make my bed, only to realise that I had brought a duvet cover and no duvet. Not to worry though, I thought. Being in the middle of town comes with its advantages and after about 30 minutes, I headed out again and bought one.

I then decided to take a shower before heading to University. There are two shower rooms. One on the second floor and one on the first. I'm on the third floor so I had to go down one. I switched the light on and found that it didn't work. I wasn't about to have a shower in the dark. So, I went to the one on the ground floor instead where I found that this one had no hot water. I didn't care at that point. I got in and got a cold shower. I was absolutely boiling hot anyway. After the shower, I got ready and then went downstairs again where one of the Indian guys were sitting and I asked if they had used the shower yet. He didn't understand me again and I had to repeat it. I told him that there was no hot water and he pointed me to a sign that explained what to do if there's any problems with things such as replacing lightbulbs, damaged items, etc. However, there was only a six digit number to call and six digits isn't enough for a phone number. Confused, I tried to call anyway and the number was invalid. I decided that I'd just have to tell them in the office in person. After that, I had to head out again to University and since I didn't know how else to get there, I got a little lost to begin with and then once I finally got there, looked at my watch to see that it had taken a good 30 minutes. Again, the sweat was pouring off me. Sitting in front of the computer for the last six years has not prepared me for this kind of life.

I text Kerri. Kerri is a girl I've been talking to online for the last week or so who I found via Chester's Student Union Myspace profile who was also going to Chester. We had arranged to meet up so we'd at least know one other person to talk to. Luckily for her, however, her best friend, Cat was also going to Chester Uni so that's her sorted. I asked her where were we all supposed to go for the welcome meeting. I knew that it was somewhere at 6pm. It was only about 5:30pm by the time I arrived at the Uni so I was quite early. I managed to find one of the guys who is living with me and I asked where we were supposed to go. He said he didn't know. I also asked how he had gotten here and if he had walked. He just smiled at me as if I'd not said anything. I knew he hadn't understood what I'd said so I said it again and then he did. It's not just a one way language barrier.

Luckily, as I began to walk with him, I found the student union bar and since I had some time left, I decided to get myself a drink. The queue was rather big and it took me literally 15 minutes to get to the front of it by which time, the sweat was again, pouring off me. And I mention all of this sweat because I don't usually do it so much! But man, I just can't stop doing it. It's horrible. Anyway, I got my drink and went outside. Of course, the Indian guy had totally gone and it wasn't like I particularly wanted to hang around with him anyway so I sat on my own on a wall. Not the best way to start University, but it wasn't bothering me too much just yet.

At 6pm, I headed to where I thought the welcome meeting would be taking place and I was right. I met a few other people there and we introduced ourselves to everyone else. There were four of them altogether. Alex is the only name I can remember. Once inside, we ended up sitting next to each other and I planned on getting to know them better and if nothing else, forcing them to be my friend damnit!

Just as the welcome talk was about to begin, I got a text off Kerri, asking me where I was sitting and to put my hand up. I stood up for a moment and saw a girl on the opposite side standing up too and she waved at me and I waved back. It felt good knowing that I knew one person at least, even if it was only for a week and on MSN. I text her saying I'd talk to her after the talk.

The meeting was just to welcome everyone to the Uni with a few words from the student union and also the vicar too! Chester has 32 churches including one on campus.

After the meeting, since I had now found Kerri, I decided to forget about making friends with the people I'd already met and go and make friends with Kerri and her best friend Cat instead. Much better idea. I also need to point out that I fancy Cat a lot. She's lovely. She doesn't know this of course.

From the meeting, we then ended up going back to Kerri's room which was just outside the University itself. The house is seperated into two flats and in Kerri's one is another girl named Lucy who for some reason has a huge bedroom with two beds even though she applied for a single. We went into Kerri's room after that and it's a little bigger than mine. Not by much, but there's room to move about. There isn't in mine.

They said they were going to go out to a place called Brannigan's in town and they invited me out so I said yes. I was both hot and sweaty and probably stunk a little but I said yes haha. I didn't know I'd be going out so I was just wearing casual stuff, but I can just about get away with it.

Kerri got ready and I talked to Cat for a little bit and then from there, we went to Cat's room which is on campus. Her room is about the same size as Kerri's but she also has her own toilet. Outside her room, someone was giving out flyers for a lapdancing club. Surprisingly, Cat said she wanted to go! "I'm not a lesbian though", she said, laughing, "I've just always wanted to go to one". She asked if I wanted to as well and I said I'd hate to because what's the fun in looking and not touching!

Inside her room, she got ready too and I talked to Kerri in the meantime. Once the both of them were ready, we headed out of the Uni and into town. My feet were absolutely fucking hurting like hell but I kept on walking. All I wanted to do was go to bed and sleep but I didn't want to say no to going out because of course it's the first night and it's my best chance to make friends.

The bar was fairly empty when we got there around 9pm. After paying the �3 to get in, someone else that Kerri knew was there. His name was Mike I think. He looked way out of his depth in there. He didn't look particularly comfortable in a bar. He reminded me of me about three years ago and to some extent now.

I offered to buy the three of them a drink and they said I didn't have to but I said I'd be happy to and I was happy to.

For a while, we sat at a table before moving into the dancefloor area and standing around in there. It started getting pretty full around 10pm. Kerri and Cat were enjoyed dancing. Cat especially. It was pretty damn hot watching her dance in front of me actually.

The both of them tried to get me to dance too, but I feel way too embarassed to well, have a good time I suppose! I know it sounds stupid, but that's what it comes down to I think. I'm too afraid to let myself go.

Around 10:30pm, I decided it was time I should go because I was so tired and my feet were hurting too much to stand up anymore from all the walking I had been doing all day. I gave Kerri a hug and was going to give Cat one too but they ended up going the toilets too quickly for me to say goodbye to her so I left. Since I didn't particularly have a clue where I was and how to get back to my room, I looked about for a cab number to call and thankfully, one past right by me. It's strange. Here, they don't use the first part of the phone number in any advertising. For example, the number for the cab firm is 01244 34 34 34. However, on the back of the cab, it just has 34 34 34 so I then realised that that's probably what was missing from the six digit number for reporting things to University too.

I didn't wait long for a cab and I told him where I was going. "I shouldn't really tell you this, but your street is five minutes walk from here. But I'm not gonna tell you that until you pay and get out, ok?". I laughed and thought he was joking, since it'd taken me 25 minutes or so to walk from mine to the Uni. It couldn't possibly be five minutes walk from outside the club when we hadn't walked that far from the Uni to it. Regardless, he took me to where I wanted and he was a really nice guy, saying that if I ever need a cab, all I have to do is go into the office which coincidentally was right underneath my front door. I said thanks, paid him and made my way to my new home and into bed. Man it felt nice to lay down.

I text Kerri saying that I was really glad I had met her and Cat because it was nice to know I had some friends now. She text back saying I was lovely too. Yay.

Just as I was falling asleep, Claire also text me saying that she hoped I had settled in ok and that she had just moved into her room too in Leicester. Of course, now that she has found a guy there, she isn't really interested in seeing me which I guess should not have surprised me.

Hannah then text me too and she said she was missing me and that she hoped I was ok and making friends. I text her back saying that I miss her too and that I would love her in my bed with me. She said she'd love to be in it. But that just means some time in the future. God knows when that will be.

After that, I finally went to sleep to start my week long induction into Chester University.

I'll tell you about Monday's adventures in the next entry.

comment