My friend is gone
Oogee is dead.

I waited all night and all today for him to come home. I called him often in the back garden but no answer. I made flyers and posted them in everyone's houses, bar next door's because I was going to ask if they could check their shed once they got home from work.

They checked. He was in there. And he had died.

He just lay there as I moved ladders and garden equipment to get to him and nothing. I called him. Nothing. I picked him up and he was cold and stiff. My best friend is dead.

I came back to mine, carrying the one true friend I have had for the last six years in my arms. I didn't know what to do. I just cried. How the fuck could I let it happen. It feels like its all my fault. I'm so sorry my friend.

I called my Mum but got no answer. I called my Nan to call her because I needed to call the RSPCA. My Mum called me a few minutes later, offering no compassion. I pleaded with her. I told her I needed her to come here. That I needed to speak to someone. She would not. Through my tears, I said ok and put the phone down on her.

I called the RSCPA and had to wait an hour on hold to get through to someone and through my tears, had to ask what do I do. They said I could bury him. I couldn't. I asked if they would come and get him for me, but they said no. He gave me the number of two vets who would and I called the emergency number. The woman said I could bring him.

I got ready and, after taking one last look at my friend and kissing his furry forehead, wrapped him in a towel and placed him in his basket, crying. So much crying. Why did this have to happen.

I went to the vet. She said they would cremate him. I asked if they could find out how he died. She said they would do a post mortem on him and them cremate him. I paid �150 to get them to do it.

And then I left my friend for the last time and came home. And now I have no friend. This hurts so much. Tears are streaming down my face as I write this. I cannot express how I feel. My heart aches. I can't stop crying. Hurting. My friend died just metres away from me and I didn't even know.

I called my Nan and asked if I could come and talk to her for half an hour. She said yes, so I did and talking about it with her just makes the tears roll down my face even more.

And now I'm back here. This house is emptier than it has ever been. I have no friend. The friend I have loved more than anything is gone.

I'm so sorry Oogee. I'm so sorry.

My friend.

2000-2006

I miss you Oogee

comment