Footlong German sausages
Friday was a productive day. The morning was spent with Rob and Dylan, asking random people if they'd let me interview them about reality TV. It didn't go so well though, as most people said no. Also, when we did finally find people, the answers they gave were crap, one worded answers.

After my lesson with Carl, I then went to the library to do some research, since Brian said he wouldn't be in for the afternoon. He had set us the task of researching different books that we think would help us come up with ideas for our final major project. The task itself is pretty easy but a lot of people seem to have a problem with research, me included sometimes.

From 12pm until 1pm, I mostly focused on one book, making a note of the page numbers that had interesting stuff on and then from 1pm until 3pm, scanned in stuff. It was productive. Joel and Will spend a lot of time there too, while everyone else didn't really bother with the task which was annoying, since us three were doing so.

After college, I went into town to finally buy a Trio pass, which my Mum had said she'd buy me. However, on my way there, I passed what looked like an international food market. It's the first time I've ever seen it, but it looked like a great place to have a look around and so after I got my pass, did so. I bought a German sausage hotdog, which was huge. Literally a foot long. Expensive, but nice.

People were also selling things like vegtables, fruit, cheeses and different kinds of meat, including boar and kangaroo burgers! I was tempted to buy a kangaroo burger, but decided not to. I did however, buy a waffle, covered with chocolate syrup and icing. It was very messy!

I think I spent a good 45 minutes there, just walking around the different stalls in the rain. It was really interesting to see some of the different things on sale. My favourite stall was one that was simply selling sweets. The way they had laid them out looked very coloured. There were about 5 rows of 25 trays, full of different types of sweets. I really wanted to take a picture, but felt awkward doing so.

After that, I went home and I was incredibly tired. I had only had a small amount of sleep. I did plan on going to bed as soon as I got in, but Tony had left me a message on MSN saying he was finally going to come to mine and install my new motherboard.

True to his word, he came round and was here until midnight. He left before the installation was completed and as luck would have it, it failed and I didn't have a computer for the night. It didn't bother me too much though because after he had left, I finally collapsed into bed.

This morning I attempted a few more times to get it working but to no avail. The worse news was that after texting Tony, telling him about the problem, he said he couldn't get here again until Monday. A whole weekend without my PC! I know that wouldn't affect most people too much, but I go crazy without my PC.

After feeling incredibly stressed after just a few hours of not having it, I looked in my room for another copy of Windows and found it. Thankfully it worked. I was very relieved. I've spent the day reinstalling everything. It takes far too long.

The other news is that Laura is officially moving out of this house as of Monday. I saw her tenancy agreement for her place that she's renting with Tracy. It's still in Kirkby, but the other side. Her contract says that it's for six months so at the very least, that means that Laura won't be living here from Monday for half a year and that means that I'm going to have this house all to myself right up until I go to University. Wow.

I overheard Laura talking about it. Apparantly my Mum is going to help her out, doing stuff like buying her a fridge and getting someone to decorate for her. To be honest though, I think she's going to get just as pissed off at Tracy as I do. Tracy is loud. I'd hate to live with her. I don't think Laura's going to enjoy it. But, since her contract is six months, she's not going to be able to do much about it!

I went to the town centre today to buy my Mum a Mother's day card. Perhaps I should feel guilty for thinking it, but it felt more like an obligation. I just don't see how it's that special or sentimental, buying a card that will end up in the bin just a few hours later when _insert special occasion here_ is over. And all of the cards are of course overpriced and quite tacky.

It's amazing that we buy into such weird concepts. It's as if everyone is told "You must buy them something to show that you care". This isn't true of course and yet everyone still does it, including me.

I overheard a daughter telling her Mum that she could give her money because she didn't have time to get her a present or something. Something along the lines of that. It kind of defeats the point of the gift, no? That's why I hate being given money as gifts. I'd rather have something that meant something.

I'm thinking about going into town tomorrow and going to Gary's to see my Mum so I can give her my card and maybe get her some flowers too. She says she doesn't like flowers, but flowers are nice to look at whether you like recieving them or not and I know she'd appreciate them so I might do that. I want it to be a surprise though, but if I just turn up at Gary's door, she might not even be there because she/he is always busy and out and about. Do you think I should call her first?

It's coming up to midnight and I'm incredibly tired. I've been awake since quite early this morning, which I'm proud of. It means that my sleeping patterns are a little more normal.

Off to bed I go.

comment