We cannot connect you
I think my mum has cut the phone lines off.

Someone called a few minutes ago but I was in bed. When I got up I went to the phone to do 1471 (Tells you the number that called), but all I got was "We are unable to connect you to a Telewest advisor. There is not a fault".

I tried again and got the same message. I tried called an actual phone number, but got the same message. I tried using the other phone, which is on a different line and got the same message. It seems that we no longer have a phoneline.

My Nan had said that my mum was considering doing this. I didn't think she would actually do it. I mean, cable TV, I can understand, but the phone?

It's not like I even use the phone that much at all, but a phone is something that's just an important thing to have. What if there's an emergency? Not a lifethreatening type, but something where I need to make a call. Yes, I have my mobile, but mobile to landline is expensive and I can just about afford to keep my phone topped up with credit as it is.

My mum says that she can't afford to pay for the phone/cable anymore and I can understand if that's true. However, I know that if she was still living here, she'd never dream of getting rid of the phone. But, because she isn't living here anymore, she's happy to get rid of it because it doesn't affect her. She didn't even bother to tell me that it had been cut off.

I wish I could afford to actually contribute to some of the bills, but I'm just about getting by as it is, what with having to buy my food and spending far too much as it is on college. Something which I can't do much about.

It feels like she's had a chance to leave all of her worries behind and fair enough, she's taken it. But me and Laura still live here. It feels like she's forgotten that fact. This house is falling apart.

Just another reason why living here is horrible.

comment