A definition of pettiness
It's not hard to tell that Laura still hates me.

Eight minutes ago, I had put the kettle on to make tea. She happened to be getting ready to go to work so I asked her if she wanted one too. She said no. However, eight minutes later, while I'm in my bedroom, what do I hear, but the sound of her making herself tea.

Now call me paranoid, but is that not the epitomy of...well, I can't even think of the word I'm looking for right now. Pettiness maybe? She won't even accept a simple offer of a drink from me. It's disgusting and I'm sick of it.

Just to make sure I'm not imagining this and that she did actually make herself a drink rather than accepting the offer from me, I made sure there was enough water in the kettle for me to make a drink at the time, but that if she wanted one, she'd have to refill it. I did this, so that when she leaves the house in about 45 minutes time, I'm going to check whether there is any water left in the kettle. If there is, I'll know she's used it.

And yes, I realise how absurd this sounds, but it's just another reason why I hate living with her. She really does hate me.

Edit: Just as I thought. I've just checked and yes, there is more water in the kettle. She did make herself a drink after refusing my offer. Pettiness.

comment