I'm more popular than I thought
Last night, we got cable TV installed in the livingroom. It was in both Laura's and my room, since we are the ones who watch it most. However, my mum can't afford to pay for two boxes so it was decided that it could go in the living room and get rid of it in both rooms instead. It's actually better watching it downstairs anyway because my TV is a bit fucked and doesn't display the edges of the picture properly so I've always had to watch my favourite shows in a lesser quality than they should be. Downstairs though, there's a nice widescreen TV to watch stuff on. Much better.

It was while watching Battlestar Galactica (Which is now easily my favourite sci-fi show) that I heard my phone ringing upstairs. Since I was watching BG though, I ignored it, since I didn't want to miss any of it. It rang and rang though for at least three or four minutes and then stopped, only to continue again a few minutes later.

When some ads came on, I went upstairs to check who it was, but I didn't recognise the number. I did, however, notice that Jamie had left me a message on MSN.

[19:52:47] wot ur compelety covered in cling film you win the prize!: neil if ur there pick up plz!!!!!
[19:53:22] wot ur compelety covered in cling film you win the prize!: when u get this messege ring my mobile rite away!!!!

I didn't have a clue why he was so seeminly panicky so I went back downstairs and called him.

"Hi Jamie, you wanted me to call you? I've just got your message online", I said to him. There was a bit of a long pause.
"...yeah..."
"What's up?"
"I... ....kind of did something I shouldn't of done..."
"Uh oh", I said, in a lighthearted manner. I had an idea what he was about to say and I was right.
"See...I was looking at those pictures right? The ones of the party and like, I couldn't get them up so I opened up Safari and like, all these pictures came up..."
"Ok...?"
"And I...kind of..."
"What?"
"Went onto your page?"
"Ah"
"And like, as soon as I read that bit about you not wanting Dave and that reading it and clicked it off dude...I'm...sorry dude."

I was more relieved than annoyed or worried. Relieved, because he had respected my wishes and clicked off.

"Ah it's fine!", I said to him, trying to console him, as he sounded very ashamed.
"As soon as I saw what you wrote about how you didn't want anyone reading it I was like '...shit, I'm in trouble' and...I just thought I should let you know."
"Nah, it's fine", I said, "I appreciate you telling me, but it's ok. I appreciate you not reading more than you did."
"Yeah man...", he sigh heavily.
"Don't worry about it."

I then explained to him why my diary is online, and how although it technically isn't private, I'd prefer it if people who know me offline, personally, didn't read it, while people who don't me personally are free to do so.

We talked for about 15 minutes altogether. He asked how things were and I said the atmosphere in this house was horrible. "Yeah, I can imag...well no, I can't imagine", was his reply.

We said goodbye and I returned to watching BG.

I was determined to go to college today and amazingly, I did, even though I went to bed at 2:30am and woke up at 6am. For some reason, everything just seemed...fluid today. Everything sort of slotted into place. Nothing seemed hard. An example would be the walk up to college, which usually leaves my legs in agony, but I hardly noticed it. I did sweat by the time I got up there, but a bit of sweat is nothing compared to the pain I usually get and that made me very pleased.

Rob, Abigail and Alex were waiting by the classroom to be let in as I arrived to wait with them. I said hello to them and Rob was the first to say "Where've you been?". I didn't really give him much of an answer because there isn't that much of a good one to give. Abigail also asked and she got the same awkward reply.

Bronek was running late, so some other guy let us into the classroom and we got on with stuff. I had lots of video work to do, but needed a willing victim and it was still too dark out to do it so I sat there just biding my time. I had copied my entire font collection comprising of over 300 of them onto CD and I installed them onto my machine in class. I was very happy about that because it's pretty damn annoying trying to design something which is supposed to have nice text on it when all you have to choose from are things like Times New Roman, Arial and Verdana. In total, the amount of fonts on all of the machines is less than 40 and most of them are very similar. 300 more bumped that up nicely and now I can use some nice typography in any future work.

Of course, technically I'm not allowed to install anything myself, but if I don't do it, no one else will. I've been waiting three months for InDesign to be fixed on my machine and no one has done it yet. Brian was kind/silly enough to disclose the administrator password to me by accident, as he typed it in as the username, rather than the password. Not that I'm about to cause havoc of course, but now that I have the password, it means that I can set everything up just that little bit better and do things like install those fonts, which you can only do with admin privileges. However, thinking about it now, it's almost not worth it, as there's a note on the door about how the machines will be wiped in February. I'll have to reinstall them then.

Bronek arrived around 9:20am and he began going round everyone to see how they were getting on. He came to me after a while and he asked where was I last Thursday/Friday. Again, I could offer no reason excuse. He reinformed me about how I have to give a presentation next week and I said I knew and not to worry, I'd have it all done by then. I'm good with deadlines. While I've technically still got 7 projects to do and I've had three months to do it and now I have to do them all in 10 days, I still think I can.

I explained to him that I needed to do my film and we pondered about who I could get to be my actor. I chose Dylan and it was decided that we'd film after lunch. I was going to do the same filming sequence as I had done with Sean, except Dylan looks much more the part. Sean just didn't look cool enough and with the Kill Bill theme playing over this film, you need to look cool.

Lunch, and I met up with Jamie at 12:30pm, along with Mike and Fisher. Jamie talked a bit more about my diary. I didn't mind too much, since I knew he was just a bit curious about why I'd keep one in the first place. He sees it as childish/pointless. I explained to him how I've had it for four years now and how it's the most important thing I own.

Luckily, he had got my text which I had sent him last night, asking him if he'd any sunglasses that he could bring into college that I could use in my film and he gave me them.

Back in Tony's lesson at 1pm and I went to get the camera from the technician's office. I showed Dylan the sunglasses and he put them on. Absolutely perfect for the role.

Dylan is always fun to work with. Always joking, always willing. We had the filming done in less than an hour and although I needed to do a lot more, it was raining and like hell was I about to film in the rain. I edited the footage I had in Premiere and added the soundtrack to it. It was looking fairly ok, but I actually prefer the animation, which is similar. There are shots which I can't pull off with a camera that I can and have done so in Flash.

Jamie came to see me around 3pm. He said he'd been the bank to get the money out he owes me and he gave me the �40. God I hate taking it.

The day went over really, really quickly. As I said, everything just seemed really easy. No hassle. One of the simplest days I've had in college.

On the way home on the train, I was falling asleep. So very, very tired. Once home, I climbed into bed for two hours sleep, woke up, watched TV and came online.

I talked to Mandy for a while. We ended up agreeing to meet tomorrow. We're going to come back to mine again and have some fun.

And finally, while they asked me not to mention their name, I asked someone who reads my diary if they happened to know a Scarlet. I wasn't actually being serious, but they said yes! Apparantly Scarlet is a friend of a friend. I find it really weird how a lot of people seem interconnected with me. Only today, when Jamie was talking to me outside my class and Alex walked past, Jamie called to him.

"I know you!", he exclaimed. Alex turned around, confused. "Yeah, I know", Jamie continued, "you were at the AJ's with us! You were so wasted".
"Oh yeah!", Alex replied, "Wow, how did you rememeber me!"

Weird. I was confused.

And of course, Dave and Stan met Scarlet and Ed's daughter and both of them read my diary. Very very weird. But cool.

Hi if you're reading Scarlet or Ed's daughter (I don't know your name!) or anyone else who happens to know me somehow. It's nice being known, even if I don't know you. You should introduce yourselves if you happen to know me somehow. Eva, for example! Another person who I know reads this diary. You should start up your "Shout Neil and then run away" thing again.

Time for bed.

comment