Frustrated
I had a very, very long sleep today. I went to bed around 3:30am, and didn't get out of bed until 6pm. That's a hell of a sleep, even for me.

Last night saw round 2 of phone sex with me and the girl from Dublin. Fun fun.

I don't really have that much to write about today. I'd like to annouce the arrival of a new feature on my diary though. Keywords.

Because there are always new people finding my diary, if I mention someone's name or a place, they'd have no idea who or what I was talking about and I hate explaining every time. So, to combat this, I've added keywords. Now when I mention someone's name who is important to my diary or an important place, you'll be able to put your mouse over the word and a small description of that person or place will appear. For example, if I write mum, laura, msn or Liverpool. I'll be constantly adding to my little database of things which will have tooltips (the explanations) so when you read my diary, you won't be left in the dark about what i'm on about. Hope you enjoy the feature.

It's weird not having college no more, albeit only for the next few weeks. Because it's only Tuesday, it feels like i'm supposed to be in.

I've been thinking about a job a lot recently. I really want to get one so much. But, there are problems.

If I begin to work, that means that I have to come off the income support that i'm currently on. I'm all for this and would have no problem doing that, but when September comes around and I have to quit the job because I wouldn't be able to handle a job and college, I won't be allowed to get back on income support. This isn't good.

The money I get from income support currently is ALL spent on college. As I have said, at the end of a week in college, i'm left with pennies most of the time. To not have the income support throughout college would pretty much mean that I couldn't afford to go to college.

It really frustrates me. I want to work, I really do, right now. But, if I do, it puts my future in college in September in jeopardy. I hate being dependant on income support. Not only does it only just about cover the costs of getting to college, but it means that i'm never able to buy myself anything like some new clothes or stuff like that.

I wouldn't be able to cope with a job and college at the same time. I just wouldn't be able to handle the pressure of both. The next two years in college are going to require my full attention and to that end, i'm going to try and be in so much more than I have this year because I realise that if I were to be absent a lot from the course, Brian would have no qualms about asking me to leave. And rightly so of course.

It'd be great to start working now, over the summer. But I really don't know what I'd do for the next two years for money while i'm at college. I hate this.

I looked on the Job Centre Plus website to see what jobs were on there, after someone I talk to on MSN had said that he had got himself a summer job, packing stuff into boxes. I decided to have a look to see if there were any jobs doing packing in Liverpool, since it sounds like an easy enough job and sure enough, there were a few jobs going. It has the wages listed besides the job and although most ranged from �4-�4.35, there was one that was �5.45. �5.45 for a packing job!

Of course, I clicked on this to find out more.

"No experience required as full training will be required. The main duty involves packing tea bags and coffee on a production line. A temporary position with a view to permenant after a 10-week period."

Sounds easy, doesn't it? And then I looked at the hours.

"MONDAY TO THURSDAY. 8:45pm to 6am."

Now of course, to most people, those hours would be absolutely out of the question. But for me, they're perfect! As you know i'm up all night anyway so working from 9pm till 6am would be easy for me. I think that's why the wage is so high, due to the weird hours.

I don't know exactly where it is. All I know is that it's in Liverpool. I guess it'd be pretty hard to actually get there as well, since i'm sure it'd be on some sort of industrial estate and since I don't have a car, getting there and back would rely on buses and I don't think many buses would be running at 6am.

That would be a perfect job for me though, regarding the times. And the money is pretty damn good considering it's a very mundane, boring job. But, that wouldn't bother me at all. I'd happily pack all night.

I'm tempted to call the number and ask where the place is and would I be eligable for the job, but I return to the point about income support. That's what's currently stopping me from doing it. Maybe i'm too dependant on income support. Maybe it's a bad thing. But, it's definitely be an extremely big help over the course of my course. Without it, I really wouldn't of been able to continue going to college.

I hate the fact that money always seems to be the main thing preventing me from striving forward. Whoever said money can't make you happy was wrong. Money pays for my train ride to college. Money pays for my lunch. Money pays for my materials at college. And sadly, money is something that I have none of.

comment