Pleased
Sunday was a good day.

From 4:30pm till around 11pm, I decided to work on a new digital drawing. It's from a poster that I bought a few weeks ago and it had a load of 'homie' characters on it. The only reason I bought it is because they wouldn't give me a refund on another poster. On this poster, there's someone called Jaka Wild and he really stands out. I had the urge to draw him in Photoshop. This is what I spent 8 hours doing.

I give you... Jaka Wild

I enjoyed creating him a lot. I loved doing all of the shading, even though it took so long to do. I'm particularly proud of his left hand.

I scanned the original in first and then imported it into Illustrator and began drawing all of the outlines I'd need to colour him in. This took me about 30-45 minutes. Once I'd done that, I save it as a PSD and imported it into Photoshop, where I began work on colouring him, and then shading him, before finally adding a background and presenting him to people on my MSN list.

He's currently on my desktop.

I really can't believe that it's me who's designed that. I've never attempted something like it before and i'm so pleased with how it turned out. Comments as always are very appreciated.

In other news, yesterday also made me smile.

On Sunday, I stayed up till around 2:30am so when the morning came, I was pretty tired. I decided not to go to college, but to set my alarm again for 11am so I could go in in the afternoon, which is what I did.

It was really nice yesterday. Very warm. Very sunny. And stupid me decided to wear a long sleeved tshirt along with my jacket. Yeah, that's really clever. Needless to say, by the time I had walked to college, the sweat was pouring off me.

I had to wait a while for anyone to actually turn up at the classroom, since I got there about 12:40pm and the classroom was locked. At around 1:05pm, Ed turned up and let me in. He wanted to talk to me about my work and when it all had to be in. He also told me about how my work will be marked.

There are three grades I could possibly get. These are a pass, a merit or a distinction. For each grade, there are four checkboxes. I have to get a tick in all four checkboxes for me to get that grade. So for example, for a pass, I'd need four out of four ticks. Three our of four would not get me the pass. If I did get the four ticks, he then moves on to the merit grade and goes through those four checkboxes. If he were to tick all four of them too, that would mean I'd get a merit instead of a pass and the same goes for distinction.

Ed was guiding me through all this. He asked me what I had for my primary resource material and that's the one thing that I've really struggled with. I've not been able to go take pictures of stuff to do with graphic design. I've got no idea what i'm supposed to do with it. I've asked and asked him and I've asked Pam as well and they can't come up with any ideas either. The one thing that annoys me about Ed though is the fact that instead of giving me ideas of what I can currently do, he goes off on a tangent and tells me what I could of done if I was doing something completely different. How the hell does that help me? It doesn't.

So i'm a bit stuck for primary resource. However, I still have till this Thursday to come up with something. I may take pictures of pencils, which he said can be considered as primary resource, if I incorporate them into my rough work, even if I then decide to drop them once I've done enough work on them.

"So on the basis of what you seen on Thursday, how do you think I'll do?", I asked him. I was referring to last Thursday, when we all had our presentations.
"Your work is easily a merit. Actually, you could probably get a distinction if you've got all the neccessary work."

Wow. A distinction!

I thought the most I'd be getting would be a pass and even then I'd be scraping the barrel. But then he goes and says that it's easily a merit and possibly a distinction! Amazing. I'm now both excited and scared when the marking takes place. I'm not sure when I'll get my results back but all i'm going to be hoping for is a pass. Anything more than that is an absolute bonus.

For Ed to say that it's easily a merit (and those were his exact words) is amazing because Ed is notoriously difficult when it comes to giving any positive opinions about anyone's work. He still hasn't actually give me any praise on the work or anyone else. So when he says stuff about my work getting a merit and maybe a distinction, it's fucking surprising to hear him say it!

We had Pam for the rest of the afternoon. As a group we got on to the topic of Ed not being supportive. She said that we have a 'focus group' next Thursday where we can voice our concerns about anything we wanted. She didn't say we could complain about Ed in specific of course, but she made it known that this was our oppurtunity to do so and I think many people in the group will take the chance to do so. It's going to be with the head of the graphics department and only her. Ed won't be there. I'm sure many people, including me possibly will take the chance to bitch about him.

I spent most of the afternoon writing an evaluation. I didn't get it finished though so I took it home to finish.

I spent time last night putting the finishing touches on Jaka Wild, since there were many things that were annoying me and he's now finished, as you will have seen.

I felt really down last night. Really lonely. I think it's because I was feeling very tired and because of this, I went to bed pretty early (in my books) at 12:30am.

I didn't have college today so I had a very nice 10 hour sleep. Well, technically I do have college, but as I keep mentioning, I've decided that going to Tony's lesson isn't worth paying out to get there. Besides, he's in Egypt currently so I can't show him my work anyway.

I was supposed to of been meeting Sarah today, but she didn't know what time she was getting out of college so that turned out to be a no. Would of been nice to see her. I need a hug and a kiss.

comment