Disappointed
The eve of this new year was not such a happy one.

Since I had come to terms with the fact that I wouldn't be doing anything to celebrate, like the majority of people, including my mum and Laura, I had decided that I would take solace in the fact that I still had people to talk to online that would keep me company as 2003 turned into 2004. But no, it all went wrong.

Lately, I've been getting up later and later. By late, I mean 6, 7, 8pm and 31st was no different, as I woke up at 8:30pm. By that point, my mum, Laura and Paul had already left for the party they were going to. I regretted not going, only for the fact that it would of been better than being here on my own. But, I also know that I wouldn't of enjoyed it there. Getting pissed is not my idea of fun.

At around 9:30pm, after getting something to eat, I tried to come online and see if anyone was on, but I couldn't seem to connect to the net. I did all the usual things to make sure it wasn't a fault on my end, but no, my connection to the outside world was down. And so was my mood. I rang the support line to see if they had any advice, but it was engaged, then the number wouldn't connect. I rang the status line, to check the status of the area for cable internet, which gave me bad news for the night. Apparantly one of their main servers/computers/whatever had gone down and it was affecting services nationwide. Joy. The one night I could really use some company and I find out that it was not to be.

I resigned myself to sitting downstairs on my own, watching crap tv, as I heard the fireworks being set off at 12. There weren't that many though, as the winds were extremely strong and it was raining. To be honest, it was like any other night. It didn't feel as if there was something to celebrate.

At 2am, Laura and Chris stumbled through the door, looking pissed. Nice. They went upstairs after a while in the kitchen and I continued to watch 'The 100 greatest TV treats of 2003'. It was on from about 12am till 3am. I went upstairs after that. I was kind of forced to, by Laura. She was sleeping on the couch, because Chris snores, and he had her bed. I would of stayed downstairs longer if I hadn't been moved.

I checked the net again. No luck. I decided to do some Illustrator artwork instead. I'll show you it another time though, as it's currently only viewable to the people who it's intended for. See, I made some images for people and some haven't seen them yet so I don't want to spoil the surprise for them.

I heard my mum and Paul come in at around 3:30am, also drunk. Lovely.

Around 5:30am, I decided to watch Pirates of the Carribean, albeit a very bad copy of it. Good film. Johnny Depp is cool.

Once I'd watched that, I tried the net once more. Ah, success. Working. Went to bed at around 10am. I then proceeded to sleep till 10:30pm. I don't know how I managed to do this. I didn't even want to. I had every intention of getting up around 6pm, but my eyes just kept shutting again and drifting off to sleep. I was extremely surprised once I'd woken up at 10:30pm. Once I'd finally got out of bed at long last I realised that there was no one in again. Laura came in at around 1am.

And so that's all of my exciting news. Life is crap. I'm hoping, no, that 2004 is better than 2003 was.

comment