Annoyed
Grr. Stupid Blueyonder ISP. They seem to do this to me every 6 months or so.

"What do they do, dear Neil, what do they do?", I hear you ask, well...

Every 6 months or so, my internet connection shuts off. This wouldn't be so bad, but I know exactly what's wrong with it every time it does so and it's BY's fault. Also, every time this problem occurs, my ip changes as a result, meaning I have to switch the address of every single image that I host for both myself and other people. VERY annoying.

Of course, since I speak to a different operator every time, they tell me to do the standard things, which never work. And then finally, after about 15 minutes on the phone, they realise it is actually their fault, restore access and I have my internet back. But, it's the ip change that really annoys me.

Though i'm not supposed to host images (sssh!), I do, and no one's the wiser, but, as I say, this problem causes me to have to fix everything and this time, I've got a slightly longer ip address and if nothing else, it's just habit typing in a different one to this new one.

So, for anyone who I host anything for, namely anyone who I've designed a diary for, you will need to modify ALL of the image addresses in the html of your diary.

If you look in the html, you'll find numerous instances of:

http://62.30.2.33/

after which, will be your directory and your image filename. You need to change those set of numbers on EACH instance to:

http://62.30.96.207/

Until you do this, none of your images will show up on your diary. I have to do the same with mine too and I have a lot more to do than you! :(

comment