Remeniscent
"I'm just going to get something", I said to my mum and sister as I began walking out of the station. As I exited the station, a man ran past me. I didn't see his face, only a blur of motion. He ran into the station. A second later, two police men, looking very determined ran past me. People turned to look at they too entered the building. I heard a noise that sounded very mechanical. I turned around to see what it was. The doors of the station were being automatically locked. I was puzzled.

Suddenly, before I could take in anything that was happening in the space of these few seconds, I heard a click and I saw every single window in the station blow out and smash. A huge fireball ensued out of these now empty frames and there were people running everywhere. Car alarms whirring madly, shouts and screams coming from all directions. I screamed at the top of my voice in pain and sudden loss, for I knew that my mum and sister were still inside along with a few hundred other people.

Amazingly, I remained unharmed, save for the emotions that were now running through my head. Instincts took over and I ran back into the now burning inferno to find who I could.

Inside there were a row of 10 trains all on different tracks. To the right, the wall was alive with fire and the last train was ablaze, with it's tongues of flame reaching out onto the train beside it and anything else it could touch. This was not a good place to be and my heart began racing, wondering if it was such a good idea to be here.

I ventured further into the station, taking in this hell that was not here just thirty seconds ago. Suddenly, the entrance was now nowhere to be seen. Blocked. Trapped. No escape. There was now no exit.

"Get on the trains!", I heard a policeman cry from somewhere, "they're the safest place!".

I knew I could now no longer help anyone but myself. People lay lifeless on the floor all around me. No one was moving.

To the left it looked as if everything was normal. There was no fires. There was no smoke. There was, however, more bodies. Since the right side was now a no go area, I ran for the nearest train that looked safe and got on it, only to look out of the windows to the right and see the last train start to roll towards me. It smashed into the one besides it and this created more momentum for it to smash into another, the flames growing stronger each time.

My legs began moving again, exiting the train I was now on from the left and move onto the next safest one. The doors of all the trains were now closing automatically, drivers of them trying to exit the station with whoever may be still alive in their cabins.

I managed to get onto the next one before the doors closed, only to once again peer out the windows to the right and see that the avalanche of train wreckage was still on a collision course with me. The doors of the train I was no on were still slightly open and I ran to the next, trying to speed up but failing due to the heat and the panic. The door closed just as I got there. I looked behind me and the wreckage was now almost upon me. I ran further up the side of the train, praying there was an open door somewhere, anywhere, before the inferno engulfed me and the rest of the trains.

I found one and got on and before I could get accquainted with this cabin, it began to move out of the station at high speed. As the train was pulling out, the inferno hit the back of it and tore the last cabin away from the rest, leaving me to look on into oblivion as I pulled away from it. Then it struck me, that that carriage also held the driver's compartment. This train was now travelling at high speed without any means of stopping, or indeed, slowing down.

I ran through the cabin, the next one, and the next, only to open the door to the last one and teeter on the edge of a moving railway line. I looked ahead, the wind hitting my face and creating a howling noise throughout what was left of the train. A platform was coming up on the horizon. Quickly. I knew this train was now no longer a safe place to be, though it never had been. It took me just a split second to realise what I had to do. I had to jump. I had no time to think about it. The platform was coming up and after that was nothing but a brick wall. Needless to say, the platform looked a lot more inviting that a brick wall.

I took a step back and jumped out, hitting the ground and rolling for what seemed like forever. I didn't know if I'd made it or if I'd actually hit the wall. My rolling came to a stop, but I remained still and just a second later I heard the train that had carried me to safety crash into the wall and, infact, knock the wall down and suddenly come alive with flames.

And then I woke up.

12:46am

comment