The King and I
Sniff cough sniff cough. Yes, I have a bit of a cold. I'll live. I think I got it from someone in my class who had one too. I'm glad it's the weekend so I can try and recover from it a little.

Wednesday was...short lived. On Wednesday, I went round to Cat's house where Kerry was celebrating her birthday. She's 19. Everyone was there. I had brought alcohol as instructed. In fact, I'd brought some Smirnoff Vodka. Personally, I'd be quite happy with some lemonade but of course to be cool you have to have alcohol. And man, I had alcohol.

I gave Kerry her brithday card that I had created. She looked a bit confused at first so I explained to her what it actually was and that all of the lyrics on it were Green Day lyrics - her favourite band. She gradually realised and thought it was awesome. I was happy that she liked it considering I'd spent a few hours working on it.

We played ring of fire. Even before the game started though, I was drinking like everyone else except I can't really handle my drink very well and I'm not even that used to vodka so putting one quarter to one third of vodka in a pint glass with the rest as lemonade seemed reasonable to me. Of course I would regret this later on.

So, the game began and as usual, you get some good cards and you get some bad cards. I was quite happy when I get a card that meant I had to drink though. We must have been playing for about 30 minutes and although not drunk, I was a little tipsy after having about three of these glasses of half vodka/half lemonade. It was my turn to pick up a card. "King!", I said, showing it to Kerry who had the rules by her. I'd only played ring of fire twice before so I didn't even know what half of the cards meant.

When I said what card it was, everyone erupted with a kind of comedic tension. "Oh no!", they said and laughed. Kerry pointed towards...the King's cup. I realised what I'd just picked up.

King: when someone gets this everyone has to pour some of their drink into the pint glass in the middle, no matter what drink you have, the person to get the last king has to down the glass...

Yes. I had picked up the last king.

I realised what I had done and put my head in my hands. There was all kinds of alcohol in this King's cup. Vodka, shnapps, budweiser and god knows what else. And then I was informed that I also had to put a bit of my drink in it too. I looked at it worrying for a second and then without any real hesitation, drank the lot of it. It didn't taste that bad, thankfully. When I was finished, Chris said "I salute you" and everyone clapped and said well done. It wasn't such a hard thing to do. I'd regret that in about 30 minutes time.

The game dispersed after a while but after all of this drinking and after only an hour of being there, I was so drunk. Really drunk. I could hardly see straight. I tried my best to regain some composure but like hell was it happening. My head was spinning and I started to feel ill. Really ill. I headed for the toilet but someone was in there. "I'm gonna throw up", I said to Cat and she handed me a jug, but luckily the toilet became free and five seconds later I was throwing up. Nice.

After coming out of the toilet, I decided that my night was over before it had even began and just headed straight to the front door to go home. I didn't even say goodbye to anyone because I was too damn drunk to know what I was doing at that point. It was almost like something had kicked in in the back of my mind and it was now in control. A kind of inbuilt safety feature that lets you know you've been a total idiot and now it's taking you home. And whatever 'it' is did a good job of getting me home, even though the walk from Cat's house to mine is about 20 minutes and I was stumbling all over the place.

Once home, I collapsed into bed and slept from 9:30pm (yes, it was still that early!) until 4am.

When I regained conciousness, my head was still spinning so much, but I couldn't sleep anymore. I went online for a bit instead and talked to Kerry.

[04:48:18] OMG AM GOIN TO LEEDS FESTIVAL 07: r u still aliver??!"?!?!?
[04:48:28] 24: I don't think so
[04:48:55] 24: Jesus christ man. Kings cup = bad idea!
[04:49:30] OMG AM GOIN TO LEEDS FESTIVAL 07: ur such a lightweight
[04:49:33] 24: Effing pissed as a...pissed thing.
[04:49:46] 24: Fuck off. I had like HALF OF MY DRINK = VODKA
[04:49:59] 24: So needed to pass out so I went home.

I had Uni in the morning too.

By 7am, I decided that it was time to sleep again but I found it hard to do so and when it came to actually go to University, it didn't happen. I just slept as best as I could to get rid of being drunk/hungover. The rest of the day and night were spent recovering.

My sleeping pattern remained pretty bad through into Friday too. I went to bed at 1:30am last night, but woke up at 4:30am and couldn't get back to sleep at all. When it came to get up at 7am, I was reluctant to do so, but I had to. I had already missed two classes. If I missed a third, it means my work won't get marked. So, tired, coughing and sniffing, I headed to Uni for four hours of boredom.

After Uni, I headed to the print department to print out Cat's birthday present. Her birthday is exactly a week after Kerry's. Cat's present has taken me ages to complete and I've been working on it on and off since about November. Yeah, November! 20 minutes here, an hour there. But since it's her birthday in just a few days, I decided to actually spend a few hours on it and get it finished. I'll show you it when I upload it to deviantART.

After getting it printed, I headed back home and then to bed. I woke up at 8:30pm and I've been awake since. Exciting day, I think not.

This weekend, I have to really catch up on some work. I don't want another situation like last semester where I was doing all nighters to get everything completed. I want this to be a smooth completion. I want to sail into the last week with everything ready to be submitted, not working frantically on it. I'm so glad I have these three weeks in Easter to catch up on everything.

And on a final note: Pool. 94/74 the score is between me and Tom. I've got no chance of catching up now. He's definitely going to get to 100 before me. I think I'm just playing for honour and regain some of my self respect! If I can at least get to 80 or 85 before he gets to 100, I'll be happy.

comment